We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of Amstel
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
18
19
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
19
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinestudio apartmentperfect locationsteep stairsbunk bedskitchenetteaccommodationcanalcleanlinesscafessupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The pictures posted online are glamour shots not the reality. If all you care about is a private roof deck then this place may be right for you. However, if you'd like a room with a comfortable bed and pillows, a quiet place to sleep in a good temperature, or you'd like a room that is even remotely clean- I'd stay away from this place. At $250 a night I don't think it's too much to ask for the above and a TV and water kettle that functions. All I can say is yuck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the House of Amstel for several days and couldn't have enjoyed it more. It is not your typical hotel, it is more like renting an apartment...you get the experience of staying in one of the traditional, classic Amsterdam-style houses along its famous canals. The rooms, though, are like those in a modern hotel, stylishly decorated with more amenities than I have seen at hotels 4 times more expensive. There was a small kitchen area, which made stocking our own breakfast convenient. Each room has it's own iPad and it's own Nespresso coffee make, pods included. Both are incredible touches that I had never seen before. Such details are common in the hotel. The hotel only recently opened and you can tell that no corners were cut...the finishings in the bathroom are high end, the bedding is great, the decor is inspired.

House of Amstel borders the Amstel Canal and is close enough to walk everywhere you might want to go. The views of the canal, both up and down, are exactly the views you want to see when visiting. You are directly in front of the beautiful Hotel De L'Europe and have views of two bridges.

We had great experiences with the staff and the owner, a young man from Amsterdam. He was very helpful with suggestions and it really seemed as if he wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

A great hotel...highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardClark01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed on the third floor suite with a beautiful view of the canal and Amstel street. We had a difficult time finding the place, walking passed it a couple of times before seeing the paper on the door with the name. The suite was very spacious and clean. It had a nice kitchenette with a Nespresso, fridge, sink and dishes. The IPad is a great idea! Street was busy but not extremely so. Great location just around the corner fr the Rembrandt Square. It is a great value and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the upper floor. very nice room. designed and renovated. nice shower. have everything u need inside. greate window view. greate location close to the flowere market and to a tram station. its not a hotel its an apartment. steep starecase

1  Thank Yifat S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2013

we stayed in first floor for one night and left after one night cause its impossible to get sleep. it has cobblestone street outside the house, there is a corner with 5 streets and the cars are honking permanently, tourist busses, tourist walking, cars, lkw, even the neighbour was using his saw until midnight- he must have thought its loud anyway here, so i can use my circular saw all night . beds are good, design is ok and it has a nespresso machnine and an ipad ( i guess it would be better invested money in triple glass windows and thick curtains. owner seems to be bit arrogant about his design appartments. the location is very central, but its hard not to be central in amsterdam. i advice you to look for a less bizzy street if you like to sleep at night

Room Tip: have a look at smart travelling website - tey have best hotel tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank schmollk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews