We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay in a hotel when you can stay here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vanguard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vanguard
Ranked #15 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Koh Chang, Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Why stay in a hotel when you can stay here?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are so pleased that we selected this B&B at the last minute rather than a hotel. It was beautifully appointed, exceptionally spacious especially for central Amsterdam, bright and sunny, with views of two canals, well located one block from Rembrandt Square and above all, owned and run by a charming, friendly and helpful host. We will most certainly be back, and would highly recommend this boutique B&B to anybody fit enough to climb the steps. (But it’s the same anywhere in these tall canal houses.)

A little more detail. The house is located on the corner of Herengracht and Reguliersgracht, so the only B&B with a view of two canals. But don’t worry about any noise, it really is very quiet and peaceful. You arrive into a lovely entrance hall with the kitchen and breakfast room off to the left. The stairs are steep to the second floor suite we had booked, and one more level to the next room.

Our suite occupied the whole floor with a bedroom, stunning lounge area with views onto both canals, comfy leather chairs, a desk, books, magazines, fruit, flowers wide choice of teas and an espresso machine. This area was such a bonus because it wasn’t just a room, it was a home where you could relax, or work. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, one of the best. The other 2 rooms off the landing, closed off from the stairs by a curtain, was the toilet and a huge modern separate bathroom with roll top bath and rain shower. I wish we had more time to try the bath.

A full tasty delicious breakfast was served at a time of our choice up to 11am I think it was. Really nice, with chatter from Cynthia, who was most helpful and friendly. She gave us all sorts of tips from Nels, a local café with authentic Dutch meals overlooking a shaded square, to a number of Indonesian and other restaurants, lent us a map and stored our cases after arriving early.

It helped that we saw the house at its best with sun streaming through the windows, but know that it will be good at all times. We so enjoyed our stay, thank you Cynthia, and we’re so sorry that you didn’t have availability for our second night, or that we were not staying longer.

Room Tip: If you can get a room, take it! But Room 1 was very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
111
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

f you want to stay and visit Amsterdam there is no place but this to be. The room is amazing, you feel at home, the breakfast is delicious and warming, always something different. I had a very nice days. The up room where we stayed has a terrace and you can see and chill taking a view of the city and chanels, also there is plenty of windows to enjoy the city.
Cynthia is an amazing woman that takes care of the place and will pamper your taste buds and make you happy with her smile and stories.
Totally recomend it!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannagummiebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from visiting Amsterdam for the first time and cannot wait to return. This was entirely due to our hostess, Cynthia who made our stay at 'The Vanguard' a most memorable experience. Her advice as to when to visit Galleries to avoid the crowds, how to get there and suggestions on other activities that may interest one is absolutely invaluable.In particular suggestions of places to eat in the evening saved many hours of frustration and foot slogging.
The accomodation is spacious and comfortable with views of the canals adding to the atmosphere. Breakfast is a delight being well presented and delicious Dutch recipes that Cynthia prefers freshly herself
This is an experience not to be missed..

Room Tip: Reserve the lower floor to avoid and extra flight of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottobrunn, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stood 3 nights in the Vanguard.
Lovely breakfast, super location, wonderfull hospitallity, authentic host.
Very nice rooms overlooking the Gracht in two directions. Typical Amsterdam style house. All Attraktionen within walking distance.

We do warmly recommend this place for your stay in Amsterdam, might it be pleasure or business!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thomasundsilvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Cynthia is the best... Great hospitality, place and breakfast combination. It is a privilage to stay at Cynthias house. Decoration is awesome also. We stayed at the loft, view is incredible. Rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erdemciailesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I experienced the vanguard and it was really fabulous different taste warmy like being in home cyntheia was of great help and freindly the room was with magnificent view clean a perfect taste of decoration and furniture bathrooms were perfect breakfast was delicious the site of vanguard is excellent in the heart if amsterdam feasible to every place and not noisy sure i will repeat this experience again .thanks cynthia for her hostapility.

Helpful?
Thank mohaismail
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Vanguard is a lovely place to stay, centrally located, it is an ideal base for a stay in Amsterdam, within walking distance to all the main places of interest and close to loads of great restaurants. We stayed in the loft room which was lovely, quiet, full of character and charm, tastefully decorated and with a super comfortable king size bed, the little viewing balcony at the very top is quirky and good fun. I probably should mention the stairs, as the one to the loft is pretty steep, so could be a bit of an issue if you struggle with normal stairs, other than that the room is perfect.
Cynthia our landlady made us feel very welcome and like most locals spoke perfect English, she was very helpful in her suggestions regarding things to see and and gave us lots of good recommendations for eating out, none of which were silly money. The breakfasts each morning were fantastic, as well as the usual continental assortment there was a pleasant surprise each day, which made it different, and a really nice touch.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Vanguard and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the loft room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#65 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanguard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanguard

Property: The Vanguard
Address: Reguliersgracht 2, 1017 LR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanguard is hidden in the vibrant heart of the city which is part of the Unesco World Heritage. All rooms in this hous view on two canals, unique in Amsterdam.The whole interior is recently restyled by Robert Broekema with a fresh take on the design of the traditional canal house. The city's cultural highlights and hotspots are all in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Vanguard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing