We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path but in a great way”
Review of B&B Marnix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Marnix
Ranked #97 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The neighborhood where this B&B is located is not far from the Anne Frank house. We arrived late into Amsterdam and instead of trying to navigate the public transportation we took a cab. The cab got us right to the front door and we were greeted by Richard despite being so late. Since we didn't have long in the city we immediately ran into the center of town but made it no problem. It was probably a 15 minute walk in the dark. I'm positive we did not take the most direct route. Though this is not a place right in the center of the action that's what makes it so special. The area around the B&B was very residential and really quiet. We had a room overlooking the canal and it was large and clean. I was only sad we didn't have more time to explore around the B&B itself. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the canal, it's such a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Marnix B&B for 2 nights at the start of April with my partner. We have previously stayed at another B&B in Jordaan and find the area to be an ideal base. It has plenty going on without big crowds, but is still within walking distance of the centre of the city.

The Marnix overlooks a canal and the location is very peaceful. The room was spotless with modern facilities including a lovely bathroom with rain shower and double sinks. Beds were clean and comfy and there was a TV with free view, tea, coffee, complimentary soft drinks and lots of local information to hand. The only thing missing for me was a safe in the room which is just my personal preference.

Richard was extremely polite and helpful, waiting to greet us on our arrival and keeping us updated via text and providing candles when their was an unfortunate power cut!

I would recommend the Marnix B&B and would happily stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LJG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

In July 2013 we made two separate one-night reservations at this B&B for both ends of a week long boat and bike trip planned for in May 2014. They happily took our reservations and confirmed them with an email. Three months later they wrote to tell us that they did not enter one of the dates in their system and now they no longer have any rooms to offer us. That is strange since they received both dates at the same time and then on their own realized that they had double booked. We can understand that they might want longer bookings, but they did not have to take our one night stays in the first place. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zana and Richar... v, Owner at B&B Marnix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

This email reservation crossed an online booking. We noticed that unfortunately later when we checked our calendar. We did not closed the day on time. Also we did not communicated correctly to the quest when we searched for a alternative B&B. We have learned from this for future reservations.via email. Our website hosting is currently busy for future direct booking via our website. This will prevent double bookings. Again we apologize for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My wife and I stayed with Zana and Richard at B&B Marnix in mid September before a Viking River Cruise to Budapest. We flew in from Africa then train to Central Station and taxi to 76 Marnixkade. Richard carried our luggage to the second floor room overlooking Singal Canal. The room was perfect. The outlook brilliant and Marnixkade easy to get to with tram virtually at the door giving access to all parts of the city. Plenty of cafes (bars) with great food nearby. I highly recommend B&B Marnix for any shortterm stay in Amsterdam

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a great place and super clean. It is also located in a super place with nice views! The service was great and the hosting people were well mannered! Good money, well spent, thanks for such a nice stay!

Room Tip: Just, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emmanuel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My sister and I stayed in the canal view room for two nights and it was everything we needed. Richard was welcoming and helpful. We weren't leaving till late on the Monday night and he let us keep our things in the room so we could freshen up before flying. Our toilet was across from our room but this did not cause any problems. The room was bright, clean and within a 10 min walk to cafes and places to eat. Trams and buses stopped right around the corner. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: The canal view room has the toilet across from room but this is not an issue and view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minibob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was a good room, good beds, clean and a good location what do you want more. Refrigerator in the hal so can put you own stuff in. We visit the De la mar theater and it was only a little walk for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19Trudy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,534 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#40 of 343 in Amsterdam
225 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 343 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#38 of 343 in Amsterdam
248 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Marnix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Marnix

Address: Marnixkade 762, 1015 ZE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Marnix 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB Marnix has 2 bright and spacy rooms situated at the Jordaan and 17th century canal area (Marnixkade / Singelgracht canal) of Amsterdam with everything of interest within walking distance. The rooms are equipped with everything for a comfortable stay. 2 comfortable box spring beds (80x200), flatscreen tv, mini fridge, hairdryer, coffee and tea facilities, towels, Rituals luxurious shower gel, shampoo and soap. FREE WIFI, We are easy to reach by public transport (bus 18 & 21 from the Amsterdam Central Station. Or walk by foot (20 min.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Marnix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing