We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art of the Brick”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amsterdam EXPO - CLOSED

Amsterdam EXPO
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Amsterdam EXPO is home to the world's best and most popular traveling exhibitions. This metropolitan museum aims to entertain, engage, educate and astound the Dutch public ★ NOW ON DISPLAY: Giants of the Ice Age, the largest exhibition on the ice age ever created. Only 3 months in The Netherlands, until March 1 2015 ★ PREVIOUS EXHIBITIONS: 'The Art of the Brick', 'Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition', 'Pixar: 25 Years of Animation', 'Toetanchamon, zijn graf en zijn schatten', 'Body Worlds & The Story of the Heart'.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art of the Brick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

On first look I was going to give this exhibition a miss with the entrance fee being so pricey however 17 euros is not bad for something I ended up really enjoying. The artwork, made from lego bricks, by Nathan are amazing and the extensive creations were mind blowing, making me feel quite nostalgic about the fact that all of the pieces had been created with a child's toy well known around the world. I did really enjoy the audio that was alongside most of the creations with an explanation from the creator as to how he created the piece and what was its meaning and the most challenging aspect. I will look out for more exhibitions next time I am in Amsterdam and I also hope to see more of Nathans work in other places.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank choccyeclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    14
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I came here to see the Art of the Brick exhibition, which is great in itself, but the Expo is a great venue for such an event. Easy to get to, good restaurants nearby, it's all good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
361 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Life of the brick....way too overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

On holiday in Amsterdam we seen this advertised and decided to go one afternoon. At €38 euros for two of us it took only 45-50 mins to go round. Sure there are some good pieces with Lego but this is extortionately priced. Upon leaving felt slightly ripped off. This should be at least 50% cheaper to be more accepting as a paying tourist. Not sure Id shell out if honest unless a major Lego enthusiast.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Evievi123139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmsterdamEXPO, Manager at Amsterdam EXPO, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Evievi123139,

That was a quick visit! I hope you did the audio tour to get all the background stories about the brick artist Nathan Sawaya. To get some insights how he built his beautiful LEGO artworks, how he became a brick artist and to see the timelapse videos of the building process. Usually a tour with the audio guide takes you 1,5 - 2 hours, watching the LEGO documentary in the cinema and creating your own LEGO artwork at the Play Zone not included yet.

We hope you are at least inspired by the beautiful LEGO pieces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lego Exhibition Was Mind Blowing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We went to the expo to see the 'Art of the Brick' lego exhibition. Entrance was pricey at 17 euro for student tickets but it was worth every cent. Free audio tours come with the ticket which is a nice touch. The exhibition itself is absolutely mind blowing. Really fascinating pieces, particularly the sculpture section, although it is difficult to pick a favourite part. We spent an hour and a half there. If you can at all, go and see it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Diddlydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Touch of Titanic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

You should see this exhibition! The feeling of getting into the Titanic, seeing all the real objects, it's like going back in that time. At the entrance we receiverd our boarding passes, just like the real passangers did. The audio guides are making the visit even more attractive with different sound effects. In addition, the location is easy to find from station Amsterdam Zuid (2 minutes walking). It's worth a visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amsterdam EXPO also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing