We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed three nights in this brand new hotel and on the whole it was a very pleasant experience, slightly marred by the fact that we had requested rooms near, if possible adjacent, to each other and found on arrival that they were on different floors! However the reception was extremely friendly and helpful, as were all the staff, and did the best they could to change the rooms, although in the end this wasn't possible. Despite a few niggles it was an enjoyable experience. It's unfortunate that there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and although we didn't mind the rather basic shelving and hanging rails instead of bureau and wardrobe I can imagine this might not meet approval with some guests. Beds and pillows extremely comfortable, bathroom spacious with huge bath, good towels and s superb shower. We didn't eat in the restaurant, apart from breakfast ( if you just want a Continental breakfast the Amsterdam Speedy is good value), because there were so many good restaurants around, particularly one little place just down the street. Altogether a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back or the side, as despite double glazing the noise from drunken tourists in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    236
    46
    3
    2
See reviews for
139
500
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We can't say enough positive things about this hotel. It's so new we stumbled across it almost by accident - the taxi driver couldn't even find it! From the very beginning the staff went way beyond the call of duty to help us with our inquiries, phoning a number of art supply stores to track down just what we wanted. Our room faced a back alley but the wall had been painted green and lined with flower pots to give us something nice to look at. That's just one small example of how well they've looked after seemingly minor details. Dinner was delicious and again the service was impeccable. When you stay there make sure you ask Jan (one of the owners) about his grandfather Nescio, the well known Dutch writer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hahaha! Did Jan tell you about his grandfather Nescio? Then you got to know us really well indeed!
Once you're in, you're in! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Absolutely amazing, from the moment we entered until the moment we left. Location is perfect, literally minutes from Dam Sq . The decor is fab, the staff are so friendly and very helpful. The rooms were lovely , the beds were amazingly comfortable!!!!! There is absolutely nothing to fault, Hotel V is the best :) planning my next trip already

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serife G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Well with praise like that, what hotel wouldn't be proud.
Looking forward to welcoming you back! Don't make it too long!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a brand new hotel, so we were curious to see what we would find. The front desk staff was welcoming and very attentive to guest needs, they were great! Good central location in a calm street, away from the bustling tourists. Well designed and interesting lobby with elegant restaurant/bar. Breakfast was good, honest prices and great service. Our room was large with a good bed, but it was very bare and lacked basic creature comforts; like bed-side reading lamps, safe, thermostat (we had to open the window in order to sleep, but the streets are a noisy with drunk tourist, therefore highly reducing sleep quality) … a desk instead of a buffet and an actual closet for clothes would be nice. The basic room décor lacks warmth, it´s very bare. Room was not clean, if you are allergic to dust do not stay here … had to wipe down room surfaces with wet hand towel so I would not get my things/clothes dirty. Bath products and towels were not replaced once during our 3 night stay. One huge plus is that the spacious bathroom has the most amazing shower.

Room Tip: Just ask for a non-dusty room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

From the minute we approached the hotel, we were impressed.. and this continued as we entered Hotel V and remained for the duration of our stay. From the beautiful interiors, extremely clean and comfortable double room to the exemplary service from all members of the 'V team', this short trip could not have been better. We thoroughly recommend anyone to stay here. We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The food in the restaurant is amazing. The staff make you feel very welcome and will go out of their way to help you. It is a great hotel for a business trip as the location is very central (10minute walk from Amsterdam Central Station). I would happily recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

A perfect location for our three night city break. This new boutique hotel is situated on a small back street, a short walk away from Dam Square. It is an excellent base for exploring all corners of the city without being on top of the hustle and bustle of more commercial areas.
It boasts a cosy bar and restaurant where you can eat or simply relax by the log burner with a drink. We ate on the first night and were not disappointed at all. We had a fantastic meal and enjoyed the impressive interior design of the building. It definitely suits night time! We had not paid for breakfast in our room rate and although we had breakfast there on the first morning we did tend to find other places on subsequent mornings. (There is a fantastic bakery nearby - follow your nose!)
The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. They looked after our luggage both on our arrival day and after we checked out which allowed us to make the most of our time in the city.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a wetroom/bathroom. We had a rain shower. My only disappointment was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I would have enjoyed an early morning 'cuppa' and perhaps one in the afternoon without having to call room service.
Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,775 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing