We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal place in the center of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #20 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Essen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ideal place in the center of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/02/84/80/b2/hethur.jpg

The hotel seems brand-new, good style of furniture, clean, friendly, with a very good atmosphere.
We had a good sleep at night, the surrounding was quite quiet. The dutch breakfast is ok.
We will choose the hotel definitely again.

Room Tip: the normal room was very good, the shower excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your review! You are right, we are brand new (open March 2013, so only 3 months open).
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    245
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
145
520
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The hotel has opened in March, more or less by the time we booked it for our 7 day holiday in Amesterdam, this June. The first thing we noticed upon arrival was how beautiful it was, simple, but tasteful. The staff at the front desk was friendly, something that we could later confirm with the rest of the staff (restaurant, room service, etc). Everything smelled so nice in this hotel and when we entered our room we were impressed with how big it was and with very little furniture, so spacious is really the word. The beds were the most confortable and absolutely no noise from the other rooms not the corridors. Last but not least, we tried the restaurant not only for diner but also breakfast and the food in delicious, if you're into it, we really recomend the yogurt with home made granola and honey for a healthy start in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for the review, and so nice to hear that you had a lovely stay!
And the granola and yoghurt...that's also my personal favorite! ;)
See you again soon I hope!
Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I was very fortunate when I booked to have obtained the last room in this wonderful hotel for the weekend that we went. I can't comment on the others, but the "superior" level was well appointed, all that I would expect - with a huge amount of space available. The bathroom was wonderful with excellent shower and bath, and all as if it had been installed yesterday. Oh, and the bed was massive, I mean really massive !

The hotel is well located in Amsterdam, well within walking distance of all the main attractions, we walked comfortably from the Reijksmuseum to the hotel in 20 minutes or so.

Staff were very helpful, polite, friendly and attentive. The hotel restaurant and bar were very good for both breakfast and dinner and I thoroughly recommend the "flamkuchen" with draught Heineken, a combination surely made in heaven !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1_812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein. We love that you had an excellent stay, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Rowan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nice hotel in the heart of Dam Square. Easy walking distance to many touristy areas of the city. The bed and linens were absolutely lovely! Room was on the small side, but it had a comfy king bed. We did book a "Comfort" room so if you require something larger opt for the "Superior" room. The shower had a huge rain shower head, plus a hand held unit as well so it was just wonderful taking a shower. We did eat in the restaurant and enjoyed what we ordered. We also enjoyed cappuccino's in the library and a beer in their outside sitting area, adjacent to the restaurant. All very good. The staff were very accommodating and helpful in the restaurant and front desk. Since our room faced the office building and the small alley/street that runs between it and the hotel there was some people noise at night. It seems to be used as a through way by pedestrians and cyclists going to Dam Square, but it wasn't a problem for me or my husband, we slept like babies. Amsterdam is a fascinating city and this hotel fits right in with it's different look and feel. We are in our late 60's and we loved. it!

Room Tip: Choose a Superior room if you need more space. A comfort room would suit one person or two very thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hethur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein. We love that you had a nice stay, and it sounds like you really took advantage of everything in the hotel- cappucinos in the library, beer on the terrace, etc! Hope to see you back one day soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel was perfectly placed for reaching all the main tourist attractions. Having looked at the menu we decided not to eat in the restaurant but were given recommendations of other restaurants which overall were good. Service at breakfast was a little slow but breakfast was very good. I chose the 'Small Amsterdam' which although simple suited me fine and my partner had scrammbled eggs with smaked salmon on a couple of days and then Eggs Benedict...very good and largish quantities! Our room was ok and it was great to have tea/coffee making facilities (pity abou all the herbal teas when all I wanted was a good old cup of Assam!). The room looked straight into offices where the lights were kept on all night but this did not really cause a problem and there was very little noise at night. The room although not large was adequate but only had one bedside table (unfortunately on my partner's sleeping side) but I managed to resolve this by putting the small metal chair that was in the room on my side of the bed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineManchest... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein. That's a very good tip about having a table on both sides of the bed- I will pass that on to the management!
Thanks again, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I choose this hotel, like many others, thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Our hotel room was great and I would be happy to return. I'd give the design a five-star review, but some service and sound issues make it a four-star review from me. The hotel's urban chic, minimalist style is very well done, both aesthetically and functionally. The bed and linens were very comfortable, the bathtub my all-time favorite and all the other aspects of our room were pleasing. There was only one window, so the room was a bit dark, but the view out was onto a sweet wall garden and the window opened, another plus. I had asked for a quiet room and the hotel kindly sorted that out for us. our room generally was very quiet with the exception of being awakened our first night around 3 am by a nearby couple talking. This went on for a couple of hours and I wasn't able to determine if it was due to too little sound-proofing between the walls or because we had opened our window for fresh air. In any case, I really enjoyed our room, which also had plenty of space. Service at the hotel restaurant, where we had dinner one night, was great, but the food was very average unfortunately. I won't be in a hurry to eat there again. Reception staff are nice, but for a four-star hotel could improve on some service points. One suggestion is to get a phone system that allows you to place guests on hold rather than answering the phone with a "just a second", placing the phone down on the counter and then keeping the guest waiting for five minutes. And have more than one person attending to reception. All in all a good stay and I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein! It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the room, and regarding The Lobby food, I would like to point out that the menu changes almost seasonally, so if you are ever around it would be lovely to have you back and see if anything new on the menu would entice you! The kitchen staff is always welcome to hearing feedback on the dishes!
And as for reception, you are correct- there is a better way to put someone on hold! So sorry about that. We will make sure that all staff follow protocol.


Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardgour, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We didn't realise this was a brand-new hotel when we booked online - we just got a great deal, so to find that we'd also found possibly the perfect city centre hotel was one great big bonus. Fantastic public areas, quirky stylish design, and a location in a quiet street just two minutes from the main square coupled with really helpful, laid-back-but-totally-professional and friendly staff let us know as soon as we arrived that we'd landed on our feet. The rooms did not disappoint either! Cool decor, big shower with great water pressure, really comfortable beds - and decently sound-proofed big windows - win, win, win!

Congratulations on a great place and wishing the team all success in their first summer season.

Room Tip: We liked our room on a higher floor and looking onto the Nesplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aryhoulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Wow, what a sweet review! Thank you so much for leaving it.
What can we say- we are happy that you are happy!
Hope to see you back again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,113 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing