We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice new hotel in city center”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #21 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at Hotel V Nesplein a month or so after it opened (June 2013). What a great find. Location is ideal. Service staff was excellent. Rooms are comfortable. The bathroom in my room was the size of average room in Paris :-) Breakfast was more than adequate and delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

I travelled with my wife and had a wonderful experience (our first trip to Amsterdam). The hotel is located in the old city, just 2 minutes away from Dam Square. Close enough to everything (old city, red district, pubs and restaurants) not to find it difficult to get back to your room after the nigh-long party, but far enough to be isolated from the noise of the most vivacious streets of the old city.

The room is not very large but is enough for two people. We requested a king size bed but the room we got had two beds. We requested a room with king size bed which was unavailable, but the staff sheeted them somehow to make them look king size the second day. It has a (17") laptop-size safe which I found very useful for storing my MBP and iPad.

The breakfast is fixed menu (not an open buffet) and may be purchased in advance with your booking (which is recommended because you get it at a discount).

The staff is very friendly and prompt. Always smiling and ready to assist. I don't know if this is the dutch way or just they are like this, but I would rate them among the friendliest hotel staff I interacted with in my trips (and we travel quite a lot).

Room Tip: Book your room well in advance for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cezar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've stayed there for my Birthday and it was nice to find a bottle of Champagne in a room :-)
hotel reception was very helpful, and kind. Nice location, very clean, bed comfortable, clean bathrooms
One comment no proper wardrobe ( just open shelves)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elnasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Great rooms. Super comfy beds. Central location, we ended up not taking the tram at all but walking everywhere. Friendly staff. Fab restaurant in lobby with outdoor terrace is full of local winers and diners. Makes you feel like a welcome guest. Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location near to the city centre - we could walk everywhere. The staff were very helpful and welcoming even when we arrived from a long haul flight at 6am!The "small Amsterdam" breakfast is a must. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A great hotel for the design aficionado with its industrial styled interiors. We didn't take the package with the breakfast option but found that to be a big regret. Its french toast with cinnamon butter is to die for!!

It is situated in a quiet lane that is walking distance to the main city square and the infamous red light district. You'll find a quaint little cafe just round the corner that serves up a wide selection of pastries and desserts.

The rooms are very cozy - its bed and pillows surprisingly comfortable. The toilet was well equipped with a rain shower plus a regular faucet.

The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful, and if I may add, good-looking.

I would definitely recommend all boutique hotel lovers to give this a try!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_qy0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Recently enjoyed a night at the Hotel V Nesplein. Great location, wonderful staff and amazing breakfast. Our room was quite large and quiet. The one problem we did have was with the lighting...there were definite dark areas in the room making it difficult to use the safe or the coffee maker. We did mention this to the staff who did take note of the problem. The bathroom, though large, could have used a shelf or two for toiletries. The decor throughout was fun and edgy. Love the wall coverings in the elevator. Also had a great dinner at their restaurant. Would definitely recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmstvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#7 of 373 in Amsterdam
483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £121 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing