We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in centre of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #20 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in centre of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

You will not be disappointed by this little gem in the heart of Amsterdam. Fantastic big rooms and the staff .... All young and eager to help in any way. Nothing is too much trouble.
This review would have been a 5 only there was no parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    247
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
147
524
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here only one night but if we ever get a chance to return to Amsterdam, we will definitely return. The rooms are a good size, clean, and comfortable. The shower was fantastic with great water pressure. The reception staff are super friendly and helpful. Best of all is the location! It's on a quite street but right in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed at Hotel V Nesplein a month or so after it opened (June 2013). What a great find. Location is ideal. Service staff was excellent. Rooms are comfortable. The bathroom in my room was the size of average room in Paris :-) Breakfast was more than adequate and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I travelled with my wife and had a wonderful experience (our first trip to Amsterdam). The hotel is located in the old city, just 2 minutes away from Dam Square. Close enough to everything (old city, red district, pubs and restaurants) not to find it difficult to get back to your room after the nigh-long party, but far enough to be isolated from the noise of the most vivacious streets of the old city.

The room is not very large but is enough for two people. We requested a king size bed but the room we got had two beds. We requested a room with king size bed which was unavailable, but the staff sheeted them somehow to make them look king size the second day. It has a (17") laptop-size safe which I found very useful for storing my MBP and iPad.

The breakfast is fixed menu (not an open buffet) and may be purchased in advance with your booking (which is recommended because you get it at a discount).

The staff is very friendly and prompt. Always smiling and ready to assist. I don't know if this is the dutch way or just they are like this, but I would rate them among the friendliest hotel staff I interacted with in my trips (and we travel quite a lot).

Room Tip: Book your room well in advance for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've stayed there for my Birthday and it was nice to find a bottle of Champagne in a room :-)
hotel reception was very helpful, and kind. Nice location, very clean, bed comfortable, clean bathrooms
One comment no proper wardrobe ( just open shelves)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elnasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Great rooms. Super comfy beds. Central location, we ended up not taking the tram at all but walking everywhere. Friendly staff. Fab restaurant in lobby with outdoor terrace is full of local winers and diners. Makes you feel like a welcome guest. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishmata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location near to the city centre - we could walk everywhere. The staff were very helpful and welcoming even when we arrived from a long haul flight at 6am!The "small Amsterdam" breakfast is a must. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,580 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#47 of 368 in Amsterdam
127 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 368 in Amsterdam
3,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing