We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Hotel V”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #22 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Hotel V. It exceeded our expectations! First, the location was ideal for seeing all the sights in Amsterdam. Second, the staff went out of its way to help us get acclimated and to offer suggestions for touring the area. Wendy, at the front desk, and Midas, at the bar, went out of their way to help us and make us feel at home.

The hotel is new, clean, and well designed. We opted for the slightly larger room, and it was very spacious. The king size bed ( 2 twins pushed together) was very comfortable.

i would absolutely go back again. It may not have the opulence of other 5 star hotels, but everything else made it a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janja49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife last week for 3 nights, booked this hotel based on the funkiness of the rooms, it is a great looking hotel and the service is great, with staff who are very helpful. The location is great- less than 10 mins from centraal station, 2mins Dam sq, 5mins red light district,
2 mins old town.
Would definatly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Staff were very nice, friendly, cool and laid back. The hotel is in perfect location, close to the centre but far enough from all the noise and hubbub. Room was great and clean. My only note was that air-con in the room was set too low and there was no controls in the room. Food was great and best egg benedict's!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Great location near Dam Square. The room was large and comfortable located at the back of the hotel and so was quiet. I did expect a more luxurious room for a 4* hotel. There was no proper wardrobe/furniture - it was scaffolding and chip board shelves. There was no milk for the room for tea and coffee and when we asked for some there was a charge. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good however the service was average as there always seemed to be something missing and then had to wait.......

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nice boutique hotel, fantastic location, friendly staff. The only negative, which is a pet hate of mine, the room wasn't ready when we checked in at 3:10. We had to sit in the bar for a half an hour, but we did get a complimentary drink. Hence the 4 stars. We didn't eat in the hotel, there are so many good restaurants in Amsterdam.
The Bierfabrik is right beside the hotel. I would definitely recommend it, both for the food, and the beer.
I will definitely stay in the Hotel V Nesplein again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Linda_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. Its a fab hotel and if design matters to you then you will love it! It's quite man cave - industrial/leather/wood but im a girl and it had all the comforts you need like robes and a hairdryer! The room was great - super clean and at the back of the hotel which meant no noise at night! But youre in the middle of a big city so you should expect some! The location was perfect - right off dam square but couldnt have been more quiet and chilled in comparison! The free toiletries were lovely and replenished daily as was the coffee/tea/hot chocolate!

The staff were BRILLIANT! Incredibly friendly and professional and couldnt do enough to help us (print boarding passes or tickets for anne franks house). We ate at the restaurant and the food was exceptional!! Definitely book the breakfast before you go - its superb!!! The french toast is to die for!!

In summary - a great hotel!! Book it! (But if you're a light sleeper don't get a room overlooking the courtyard!) but it's a busy city so enjoy it!

Thank Cardiffevans
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Central to pretty much everything. Staff was very pleasant. Hotel is rather chic and modern. "The Lobby" restaurant looked like it always had people in it. I would have given 5 stars (or circles) but 11AM check-out rolls around awfully quick in Amsterdam and the outside facing rooms can be a bit noisy. But it's definitely a great value for Amsterdam. I'd highly recommend.

Room Tip: Demand a room that does not face Nes. They are noisy well into the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,631 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £168 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing