We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in the heart of Amsterdam”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #20 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had a great stay here. Only gripe was the service. It was friendly but incompetent in places.

For example we only stayed 2 nights and had breakfast there once. The waitress got our order wrong, forgot to bring us our bread/croissant basket and then forgot to bring us the bill when we asked for it. The bill was incorrect too but we were in a rush and I couldn't be bothered trying to correct it with her. She seemed more interested in having a conversation with a coworker than with giving good service.

It's a shame too because the hotel was really great otherwise! You shouldn't let this review deter you from staying here (we will stay stay here next time we are in town) but hopefullu the service is a bit better then!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GamblingTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    237
    46
    3
    2
See reviews for
139
505
32
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is close to the Old town as well as the famous Red Light District and the Station. It is in a quiet street, so you can sleep without the bustle of the city in your ears.

The hotel is new and very trendy with 'building' theme fittings. Rooms are exceptionally spacious and fitted with everything a traveller needs. Wi-Fi is for free.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and professional at all times. You can rely on them for advice and information.

If we ever return to Amsterdam, our wish would be to stay in the same hotel.

Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I LOVED everything about this hotel! The decor was just beautiful. I especially enjoyed the smell of the wood burning fire place in the Lobby. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic - it was in walking distance to all the sights. My room on the first floor was spacious, clean, and quite. The bed was very comfortable and the linens luxurious. There was great water pressure from the rain shower (sounds silly but some rain showers just don't rinse out the shampoo). I appreciated having the in room coffee/tea service. The only issue I had was that the bathroom mirror was hung too high so I couldn't see myself to dry my hair. I look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and SO NICE to hear that you had a lovely stay! That is the first time that anyone has mentioned in a review the smell of the wood-burning fireplace. :) We also love that smell!
Will take note of your feedback about the mirror! Thank you!

All the best, and see you again soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice, particularly the lobby / restaurant which works well. The food is delicious and breakfasts great. I agree with most of the comments here but (sorry to be the first...) have some niggles:
We had a suite. For the price (340€ a night inc breakfast) we could have picked most of the high end places in town but liked the look of Hotel V.

Whilst the decor is cool and well judged in style terms, it lacks some things which you might not expect but you miss when they aren't there. If you're in a suite, it's nice to be indulged with some luxurious touches to make you not want to leave the room. We wanted to be out and about in town but also to lounge around in our room together and relax. That's what you do in a suite isn't it? Small things like a DVD player with a library to access, some music / iPod dock, a tv with more than the standard channels you get in any hotel, a minibar. Our TV was too slow and a long way from the bed.

If, when looking at the room photos, you are concerned they might feel a bit pared back / stark / hard, you'd be right. Some softer touches could easily solve this.

I could be wrong but it feels like the place has been designed by someone with impeccable taste but not someone who has designed lots of hotels. This is most apparent in the bathrooms which, for me don't work.

Firstly, you don't necessarily get a bath, even in a suite. We initially asked for one but preferred the room that didn't have one. In both, they've spent a fair amount on an expensive terrazzo floor, but the layout is broken into 3 cubicles, all of which are just half white tiled and white plasterboard with sparse fixtures.

Our bathroom had 3 big flapping doors in it which got in the way of each other. There's no underfloor heating so the bathroom was cold. The towel rail is in the shower so can't heat the other 2 spaces which are quite sparse and pokey. I don't know why they didn't just make one nice bathroom instead of 3 little spaces. It could still have been stark, but better put together. Also, because it's broken up into 3 spaces, only one has a window, the other 2 are dark.

The main bedroom was huge but lacking warmth. The heating isn't easily controllable. The bed was awesome.

In the right light you could argue this design is tough love in the name of aesthetics (which isn't always bad). But here, my conclusion was that the room just wasn't well thought through enough and needs more work to hang together well.

Overall, design intent is good but in its efforts to be simple, unfussy, and stylish, it could be accused of forgetting what good hotels do, which ultimately is to make you feel indulged. You feel that on the ground floor, just not in the suite (in our brief experience)

Apart from the above, we had a brilliant weekend and the staff were lovely.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein.
We are pleased that you had a lovely weekend, and we do appreciate the feedback that you have given.
Regarding the “softness” of the room and the bathrooms, we are very busy adding extra items, facilities and features. For instance the missing things you point out like a minibar and a music dock.
The hotel was only recently opened and is still improving every day.
Your suite was the only one that that had a bathroom that was designed with 3 separate rooms, which was something that we could not change when we began building (also the bathroom floors were not negotiable).
So we made do with what we had, but the other suites have one-room bathrooms, so next time try one of those!
Thank you very much again for all of your insight and feedback!
We do hope you find the time to come back again so that we can show you some of the other suites. There are 4 in total, so we hope to see you 3 more times for a comprehensive comparison. ;)

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights this week - had an amazing time! The staff were friendly and courteous and the room was lovely. I hadn't specified a double, and the first night there wasn't one available, so we had a twin, but we were changed to a double the second night, after I happened to mention it in passing to one of the bar staff, who took the time to speak to reception and get it sorted for us.

We ate in the restaurant the first night, and had a lovely meal - great food, drinks, and atmosphere. Highly recommended - well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ustation3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein, and good to hear that everyone took good care of you!
Hope to see you again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent new hotel with a strong design theme. Had a very small room which faced the opposite office block so the curtains remained drawn most of the time. Room was clean and well laid out. Fantastic location right near Dam Sq, very convenient. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joshua W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review!
See you again soon at Hotel V Nesplein!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great room, very trendy and bohemian.

Restaurant is cool, great music and atmosphere, trendy staff.

One receptionist was fantastic (don't know her name but she's part Indonesian), friendly, and helpful :-)

The other never smiled the entire time. That was the only downer from staying at a very cool place close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaltraveller187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein, and thank you especially for the feedback.

We have discussed the smiling issue and have decided to send that particular receptionist back to Smile Training Academy. She will be back once she achieves her Smile Certification.

In all seriousness, it is great to hear you had a good stay. See you again some time soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing