We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & central hotel - great deco”
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Ranked #19 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
zurich
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice & central hotel - great deco”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stylish hotel in Amsterdam centre, really good location to lots of places. The rooms & bathrooms are spacious and stylish. Wifi is free and works really well all over the hotel. The staff were very helpful and nice. Had a 2nd floor room and despite central location it was not too loud. Did not eat at restaurant but my partner did, said food was good and portion sizes fair. My only wish would be that they offered better breakfast packages for hotel guests, and that the beds were a bit harder (a personal preference) but otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    247
    46
    4
    2
See reviews for
148
526
32
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Pines, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights at the tail end of a two-week Baltic vacation. The room was excellent: spacious, huge double shower, nice amenities, very comfortable bed, coffee machine, plenty of shelf and storage space, and reasonably quiet considering the location in the Centrum. The hotel restaurant is highly rated. We had breakfast there but not dinner. We only have two small complaints: the free wifi was very slow, and for the price of the room I think a continental breakfast should have been included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you have a layover of 22+ hours in Amsterdam, leave the airport and head to Hotel V. It is a hidden gem with many welcoming features: the decor, the bedroom, the bathroom, the reception and to top it all - the restaurant! Initially, we tried to go out for dinner. We adopted the rule of walking 5 blocks away from the hotel to find a restaurant not filled to the brim with tourists. No success. Went back to the hotel and noticed "The Lobby" restaurant. It was full but we were allowed to eat sitting on the couches. Best dinner ever. For breakfast - best. Now we can't wait to
spend more than 22 hours there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holistix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a great hotel in a fabulous, quiet location. We had a lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant which I highly recommend .
The only downside was that the hotel does not have porters. However the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank view4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is a great hotel. So central to everything in old town Amsterdam. 2 blocks from Dam Square.
The rooms are large with a great bathroom.
There is an amazing restaurant on site - breakfast there is a treat.

The deco of the hotel - think boutique with a twist.

Amsterdam is a busy, crowded(drunken) city on the weekends. Some of the rooms face the street and can be a little noisey when the clubs empty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmattK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm not entirely sure I should be sharing this secret with too many people, so I'll just let Tripadvisor followers in on it!
I have been staying at this hotel regularly for the past year as I travel with my business and there is a reason I go back month after month - it is genuinely fantastic. Small and fairly new (only a bit over a year old), very cool and funky design in the bedrooms and the main areas and just a great staff team. Add to that the location, just off the Dam Square, so you are close to everything, and the cool, breezy calmness of the place and you have a winning formula.
The restaurant has won awards (and deservedly so) and is always buzzing. They have a great wine selection too (which is often overlooked by hotels I find) But at breakfast, its relaxed and has a great selection, all freshly prepared. I like their eggs benedict! Their understanding and quality of their coffee is also exceptional.
The staff are knowledgeable and engaged and the service as a result is very friendly and efficient.
Great little square outside for drinks and dinner in the summer evenings.
I just wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam, it is well worth booking ahead though as it is doing well and very often booked up.
So ssssssshhhhhh...don't tell too many people!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, try the suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Everything about this hotel was amazing! The room was very good, the hotel's restaurant, the location, ... I would deffinetly stay there again!

I was in Amsterdan on April 2014, which by the way is an amazing season, with lots of tulips throughout the city!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#35 of 369 in Amsterdam
143 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 369 in Amsterdam
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Property: Hotel V Nesplein
Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing