We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Fabulous place to stay!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Quiet privacy:the left half is yours, the other  a storage/archive room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quiet privacy:the left half is yours, the other  a storage/archive room.
From the terrace a view on rear side main house & garden. Behind the pallisade is your private terrace, up the roof window/sleeping room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
20 reviews
Quiet privacy:the left half is yours, the other  a storage/archive room.
From the terrace a view on rear side main house & garden.
Behind the pallisade is your private terrace, up the roof window/sleeping room.
Your private terrace, with electric & candle light.....and the (free) bikes
Summer 2015, west ward view from the main house to the garden house.
View to the rear side of our house from the Garden House entrance
Behind the main house  nr 107 is the garden house; a quiet dead end street
Schellingwoude village; no traffic through our (dead end) street
Roll down curtains for privacy; no direct neighbours
A fixed open staircase with banister and non-skid on the steps
The interior, again from a different angle, but not a wide angle: WYSIWYG!
A well equipped kitchen and view on the entrance
A double and a single bed and  a small writing table
1 double&1single bed; the 2 p sleeping couch is in the living
Selfexplanatory; bathroom plus shower; the hygienic urinal is just not visible....
Not far from centre of town, 25 minutes by public transport.
The Noorder IJdijk, in front of main house (very quiet, no through traffic).
Schellingwoude as this part of Amsterdam-N is called has an antique church, used for events; 200 m
The eco Landmarkt for all daily groceries, delicious fresh fish, meat, bread,  300 m
Landmarket, all fresh; cafe and basic restaurant
Nearby wharf with Greenpeace ship Sirius under repair
Nieuwendam, 10 min by bike, en route (well signposted) to citycentre
Our village Schellingwoude.
Schellingwoude, view  from our street the Noorder IJdijk to the small harbour
Schellingwoude, view from the waterlock, just 100 m from Garden House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nixie123
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our time at Bed and Bike Amsterdam. It is in a beautiful quiet location, yet only half an hour to get right to the heart of the city centre by bike and ferry. Carla and Anrik were the perfect hosts, always on hand to give useful advice and swap stories at the end or start of the day.
The cottage is beautiful, very clean, stylish and well equipped.
If you are thinking of booking Bed and Bike Amsterdam, don't hesitate another minute- just do it!!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and cottage
Liked least: Nothing- we had a perfect stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
axxxtw
Oz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

A quick and short review and apology to the TripAdvisor community as well as Anrik that this review has taken so long.

Stayed at the stand alone cottage for 11 days in October. Trust me: It had everything it says it does and more. It IS in Amsterdam Noord, but it is such a peaceful, tranquil, fully "local" experience one is absorbed by it all, and I am most particular in what I require.

Internet speed was tremendous: Up to 8mbs download so streaming Netflix in HD and using my slingbox was flawless as were free calls back to the USA via Google voice and chat.

I am worried that the rates will increase and hope I'll get "grandfathered in" at the rate I earlier paid!

110% value; 4 star cottage; 4 star location; free bicycle(s). Very easy access to bus with connection to Central Station. House to Central Station total time less than 30 mins (you do have to walk a 1/4 mile, perhaps a bit more to the stop....or us the bike, lock it up, and off you go.

A most tranquil experience I hope to repeat. Thank you so much Anrik.

PS: A bit more air for the tires for my large backside please (!!!!) and a slight maintenance of the gear shifter on the back like tightening of stretched cabling to make certain the gears can be used easily would be great.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The entire set up as well as the owners
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onslow13
Greenville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

if you looking for a place in amsterdam and stil want some peace, this is the place, in the north east of amsterdam north.A cosy little garden house with every thing you need ad a good price .i realy felt at home there and the owners arnik and carla go out there way to make your stay pleasent , the bike and bed give you a different look on holland the old classic houses on the dijkes and a good connection to town bij bus or tramway . you in the center of amsterdam( central station) in 15 minutes.this place is better than any hotel ,you can cook your own meals has wi fi ,tv and you dont sit looking at four walls ,no noise from people in the middle of the night. for me it is a 5 stars with everything i needed ,i hope you will feel the same ,thanks to carla and arnik ,now your friend gerrit

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: feeling at home
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Jerome
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Nov 2013
Dear John et Francine,
Thanks a lot for your review. It revives memories to you very pleasant visit: good to see how you enjoyed to visit your daugher and spent a few "prime time days"together! Have a nice winter and you are always welcome!
Anrik
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TillieTri...
Bucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Holland and were keen to use our cycles as much as possible. Were were not disappointed, the car remaining unused for the whole week. The Garden House in Schellingwoude, Amsterdam Noord was immaculate and contained everything you needed, including a very comfortable bed. The kind owners live in an adjacent house and are discreetly available should you need any advice or help. We used the local supermarket (which looked more like a garden centre) for all supplies and meals/coffees out. Although more expensive than the UK, the quality was very good and the meals in the cafe area were extremely good value. We cycled every day either to the ferry (leaving our bikes at the the free ferry then catching it over to the city), or to a local cafe - with the most amazing Appeltaart - or north, out to a number of picturesque villages (Zunderdorp, Ransdorp and Durgendom). Much of the attractive architecture in this part of Amsterdam dates from the 1930s and provides a contrast to the more ornate styles in the city.

The one complaint was not regarding the accommodation at all but with the Flip Key arrangement, having to pay in US$, including the deposit. This incurred extra costs and our irritation.

We would really recommend this holiday, having the peaceful location, lovely countryside and amenities, within easy reach of a vibrant and fascinating city.
Of course the weather, temperatures over 30 degrees, was an added bonus

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The arrangements to pay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ed_sunter
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“clean, high standard, beautiful location, friendly owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Very convenient for centre of Amsterdam, whilst being a great chance to see the beautiful north of the city. Amazing food market just down the road, great fresh produce, great beer, fish, meat, cheese etc...with a restaurant open from midday.
Everything done tastefully to a very high standard. Great attention to detail, with everything you could need and more available, extensive local literature and tourist info.
Anrik (the owner) is so helpful and friendly, he is great if you have any questions about your stay.
We would firmly recommend the place and cannot wait for another chance to visit .

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location, friendly service, great standard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing