We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Journey through Hidden Amsterdam History: Trace Our Common Path”

Black Heritage Amsterdam Tours
Ranked #69 of 390 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Black Heritage Amsterdam Tour is about the 'hidden histories' of the African Diaspora from the 17th century to the present and is for everyone who is interested in learning more. We travel throughout the city canals on-board a classic canal boat as we explore the history visible in the landmarks, architecture, canal houses and art. The full tour includes a visit to a national museum, and much more. We offer regular tour every Sunday at 12:00 & private group tours Monday - Saturday.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional Journey through Hidden Amsterdam History: Trace Our Common Path”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Conclusion: Jennifer Tosch uncovers historical Amsterdam in a unique way: she involves you in an eye-opening tour that visualizes the historical growth of this city in a contemporary context.

The facts: World journeys by sailors that involved the inhumane trade and transportation of people from Africa to the Americas and the Indies since the 16th century have fueled the wealth of Amsterdam.

The question: How do we currently see the city's beauty while facing these facts?

A hint for answers: The involving boat tour of Black Heritage Amsterdam Tours enables us to contribute to a mutual understanding and opening the way for you to contribute to it.

How? Ms Tosch's inspiring talks on the way will enlighten the roads and make you long for more.

My comment: Highly recommended, it will change your perspective in an unexpected way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CS v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dutch native learning new history”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

This tour was truly amazing. I was born and raised in the Netherlands and attended Dutch schools. I visit Amsterdam often, I had no idea that the city had so many hidden historical secrets. This part of the Dutch history was not given when I was in school.

During our tour, Ms. Tosh successfully shared this controversial history with our group. Instead of her talking the entire time, she also instructed us that we could share thoughts as well. The group was mixed and everyone was engaged during the conversation. People weren't scared to share what they were thinking and feeling after hearing the historical information that Ms. Tosh shared with us.

What makes this tour even more powerful is that the information that Ms. Tosh shares, is physically visible throughout the entire city of Amsterdam.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P. R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eye-Opening!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This tour was truly a highlight of my trip! I scheduled a private walking tour via email, and Jennifer was very professional and responded promptly to my emails and addressed all my questions. From the start of the tour, Jennifer's knowledge and passion were evident. She was extremely engaging and we had a lot of questions, of which, she answered them all! From the history to the architecture, everything was truly amazing! The tour was towards the end of our stay in Amsterdam, and it was so interesting that we hadn't noticed a lot of the architectural structures before Jennifer pointed them out. I would definitely recommend this tour as it sheds much needed light on the influence of people of color in the Netherlands.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“The Important History of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Fascinating, challenging and important tour!

Jennifer took us along a similar route as most canal tours here in Amsterdam. But, unlike the other tours, which glorify Dutch history (and present) while providing trivia about Dutch architecture and water management, she presented us with historical context for current Dutch affluence as well as social structures and explicit racism in Dutch society today.

The tour was captivating and fundamentally changed my interactions with the city. Not to mention - it was a lovely afternoon:)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black History from an architectual view”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We met Jennifer Tosh on a bright sunny day at Dam Square. She has an amazing and friendly personality and a thorough knowledge of Amsterdam's history and rich economy from the slave trade, she ties it all together during the canal ride with architecture, culture and Black monuments hidden in plain sight. On her canal tour you learn a lot about the Black Experience the city design and layout. It was a great educational experience, I would recommend everyone visiting Amsterdam for the first time to take this tour first, after the tour you will know much more about where to go and what to do during your visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Heritage Amsterdam Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Black Heritage Amsterdam Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing