We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, clean, modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Big Island, Hawai'i
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic, clean, modern”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I completely concur with all of the previous reviews - we loved the place! Communication with Adam and Angelo prior to our visit was easy and clear with quick responses. Angelo met us upon our arrival, and we were extremely thankful for his help with our luggage up the many narrow and steep stairs to our room. He sat with us in the dining room, provided a map with directions to the many sights and a couple restaurants, offered coffee/drinks, and showed us our room and how to operate the shower. Angelo was very friendly, easy to talk to, and very helpful. This was our first trip to Amsterdam, so in terms of the typical size of Dutch rooms, I can't comment on this. We were fortunate to have 3 days in the double pyramid room located at the uppermost floor, in the apex of the building. The little hallway led to the small, private terrace and to the external bathroom. It was no problem at all to have to leave our room to use this bathroom because it's private and used only by you. My only caution about the bathroom is the size of the shower for tall or wide people (not a problem for us) . Angelo and Adam really thought about the design of the rooms to make you feel as if you're staying in a friend's home rather than just renting a room. Being that the room was located on the top floor and away from the road, it was very quiet and private. The bed and bedding were comfortable, mini refrigerator with a hot pot was a plus, digital cable tv (with uncensored MTV) - all one would need. The place was meticulously clean - no dust bunnies at all, even in the corners. The B&B is located a short, simple walk from Centraal Station. Spui street was safe at all times of the day, conveniently located to many restaurants, cafes, tourist sights, and trams. Like other reviewers stated, there are only a couple rooms in this B&B, and with the excellent rating on TA, I believe this gem will not be a secret for long so I'd suggest you book early. I would highly recommend the Crown B&B to all who are willing and able to climb those Dutch stairs ;). Thanks, Angelo! -- From the girls from Hawai`i

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking the 3-4 flights of stairs to the top floor and don't mind an exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyelanddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
128
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Angelo, the host, is such a sweetheart and really goes the extra mile to make your stay memorable. This trip was a birthday/anniversary gift for my other half and Angelo went above and beyond by arranging a beautiful bouquet of flowers as well as a bottle of wine for us. We had a late arrival at 1am but he stayed up awaiting our arrival to hand us the keys and help us with bags. He also sat down with us and gave us a lot of tips on what to do/what to see in the city. And he was very welcoming to our questions about the Dutch lifestyle/culture. The pyramid room, which is the one on the top most floor was very cosy, clean, modern and it was great to have our own external bathroom as well as easy access to the balcony/deck. The breakfast was scrumptious with a full spread of bread, cheeses, ham, eggs, fruit, biscuits etc. The fact that they have a Nespresso machine makes it even better :) Everything is available 24/7 so even if you feel like having something in the middle of the night.. It's all available!!! It makes it so much better than a regular hotel where breakfast is at a fixed time and food isn't readily available. The place is very near to dam square as well as the shopping district - a 5 min walk away. I honestly had the best stay here, and it is extremely value for money. The best B&B experience. I will definitely be staying at Crownbnb again and would highly recommend it to my friends and family!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed in Amsterdam many times and stayed in some good hotels but this was by far the best. It was like having our own apartment. Lovely big double room; nothing like a hotel room, this was a bedroom. Angelo the owner was lovely, friendly, helpful and does towel origami amazingly !! Everything you need and more. You can use the kitchen and there is an amazing coffee machine. I only left this morning and I miss the coffee machine already !!
Clean, spacious, modern and really nice personal touches.
There is a smoking balcony.
You get your own keys to come and go as you please.
It is in a good area with access to all parts of Amsterdam and trams.
Just excellent. I would recommend wholeheartedly !!

Room Tip: If you are going to Amsterdam this is the area to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Enjoyed as last time! The room as well bathroom are huge; comfy bed, very neat and clean. The breakfast is exceptional in the variety of choices, a good food quality and freshness. There's no other B&B that can ever compete this cozy nice place. Worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013



Angelo welcomes you and really goes the extra mile to make sure you get the most out of your stay! When we arrived he helped us up the stairs with our bags, got us a drink, sat down and gave us free map an explained how to get to all the landmarks/main areas of Amsterdam an all the best times to go to avoid queues. He also gave us details of his favourite restaurants including those that are best value for money! The room was amazing, te jacuzzi bath was a lovely treat. The breakfast was good and very relaxed. Location was incredible, not in the thick of it but within walking distance from all the main attractions!!

There really was nothing to not like! The traditional Amsterdam stairs are not for the faint hearted but were not a huge issue I will still be staying there again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaPearce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights after our European river cruise from Budapest to Amsterdam. We were met by Angelo who helped us with our luggage up the 4 flights of stairs in the building built in 1728 . The Crown Double room was amazing; with post & beam construction, but furnished with efficient and stylish modern furniture. The large breakfast room/kitchen provided all the comforts of home and plus. We particularly appreciated the Nespresso coffee maker with a large assortment of coffees. We were able to cook eggs of a style of our choosing, accompanied with meats, cheeses and with multiple types of breads available also... probably the best B&B setup we've ever seen. There were 4 tables, one for each available room, so timing was not an issue. Angelo was always available for information, and provided us with a great lead for Thai food (See our Jasmine Restaurant review). We were provided with the keys to the establishment, so coming and going at any time was not a problem. The location is within a 3 minute walk of a streetcar line which connects the main train station to areas around all the museums and restaurants. It is within easy walking distance of many stores, museums and restaurants. The only caveat about this place is the lack of an elevator to the 4th floor, which I would suggest should be taken into consideration by people with mobility issues. The stairs are narrow, steep, and curving, but the climb, if you can do it, is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: The Crown Double room is on the same level as the breakfast room and is quite large. It faces out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we have been to Amsterdam many times and this is definitely the best place we have stayed.
the location is very close to Central station and easy to find.
the room was huge and very clean with a great ensuite bathroom.
the breakfast was excellent and Adam was very helpful.
love it love it love it !!

Room Tip: our room next to the breakfast room was huge and would recommend to stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxxie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Property: Crown Bed & Breakfast
Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012 TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crown Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing