We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The very best city hotel ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The very best city hotel ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is so chic , amazing staff, rooms, restaurant and bar.. nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the don't penny pinch we had a late check out at 6pm they never charged us.. Could not recommend it more, would not stay anywhere else in amsterdam

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickyw1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Vickyw1234,

Thank you for your compliments! We really appreciate it :-).

Looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Best wishes and have a nice day,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    293
    80
    36
    19
See reviews for
164
698
57
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Location....right across from the train station is perfect for doing the touristy things. Canal boats, trams and buses are right across the street, but watch out for bicycles.
Welcome....Three "check in stations" with the nicest people you will find. Cheerful, helpful, thoughtful and playful too.
Rooms....This hotel recently opened and the rooms look brand new. Nicely furnished with a modern touch. Bed and pillows comfortable and a big bathroom with a large freestanding tub and a shower with a rain storm or regular shower head, big enough for two. Only drawback in the shower is a very small area to put your soap, shampoo, etc. Also note....there is no door to the bathroom...if you are modest this is not the place for you. The wall between the bedroom area and the bathroom is also a "see thru' glass that might make those modest people cringe a bit.
Breakfast...exceptional service. You order from a menu not buffet style and what we had was always nicely made and to our liking. The French Toast is a winner. Fresh squeezed orange juice too. No upcharge for breakfast, which may change in the future and could just be because they just opened.
Restaurant and Bar......Nice layout with different areas to eat and drink. The Saturday night we hit the bar turned out to be their biggest night since they opened. Disc jockey adds to the festivities. We ate dinner the last night at the hotel and is was enjoyable. All the tables were booked which was surprising but the word is getting out in the city that this is a wonderful place. The menu consists of small plates but not a lot of choices. What we had was good and prices were reasonable. Service like at breakfast is exceptional.
Fitness Center.....This is a top notch fitness center although a bit on the small side as it is open to other than guests. There is also a small pool, a sauna, tanning bed and relaxation area.
Overall. This place cannot be beat. The staff was attentive and helpful. I was concerned with the noise from the bar being heard upstairs but we could not hear it. We were on the backside of the property and the 4th floor which may have helped. The staff helped us with places to eat and how to get there. .Xavier the Concierge helped us get oriented to the city and pointed out some unique places to go.
Stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As for a room on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlcorcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear jlcorcom,

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
We’ve passed on the compliments to our colleagues, including Xavier. We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Have a nice day,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at in Europe. The staff was over the top helpful and the hotel was clean, hip and modern. When we arrived we were welcomed with welcome drinks at the bar. They had a DJ with a sax player who was amazing! The location was great, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The only complaint would be that it was a little bit loud on Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Crystal S,

Thank you for giving us the honour of being the best hotel in Europe you stayed in! That's really good to hear! Next time you visit us, please make sure to let us know if something bothering you so we can try and solve it for you.

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to the next time you're staying with us!

Have a lovely day!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Central, cool, trendy and friendly! Brand new designer hotel with excellent restaurant, bar and fitness facilities on top of the rest you expect of a great hotel. Would recommend for both business and romance weekends. No buffet for breakfast so make room for extra time

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cato L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Cato L,

Thank you so much for you lovely review!
We're looking forward to your next stay with us :-).

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Israeli-owned Art'otel chain has just opened in the heart of Amsterdam. Just get off the train at Centraal Station, walk across the square and you are ready to check in. While the art may not be your cup of tea (definitely not ours), the quality of the staff and the restaurant are world class. We found the entire staff welcoming, warm and professional and, thanks to a supremely talented Italian chef, the cuisine was inventive, superb and charmingly served. Our only "negative" was the mediocre bed linens in our otherwise well designed and comfortable room. Goose down comforters would be a start.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for your review.

We're really glad you enjoyed our quality of staff and our 5&33 venue! The fact that you found our staff to be welcoming warm and professional is a real pleasure; this is exactly what we are aiming for.

Please note that we have goose down comforters available upon request. We’re sorry we did not tell you this.
Please don’t hesitate to ask us anything next time you visit us, we are more than happy to help you!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

For me the number one priority when staying in hotel has to be the quality of sleep, followed by service. Unfortunately the Art'Otel was really disappointing in this respect. Location opposite the Centraal station is excellent.... until you notice the tramlines right outside the hotel. These go at least every 30 seconds around the building and are incredibly noisy to the point where the room shakes. I had a terrible night's sleep here and based on this alone would not choose to stay here again. I am amazed no other reviewer has mentioned it. Given I live in the middle of a city at home, believe me street noise has to be bad for me to notice.

Noisy trams aside, the hotel looks good, smells nice and the rooms are chic if rather dark and forbidding and definitely not on the big side. I have to say the light switches were the best design I've seen, actually saying what they were for eg. bath, read, mood, sleep - how many times have I fumbled trying to turn lights off and on at hotels!

Other than that, these guys are trying to do service a bit 'differently' which was excruciating and actually annoying. When we arrived we had to shake hands and introduce ourselves to first the doorman and then when she turned up the receptionist. I just want to check-in speedily and efficiently! They took ages to do anything useful eg. advise on whether we needed a taxi to a nearby restaurant (we were then taken to the wrong one by the taxi) and when I responded my stay wasn't that great said 'That's great and didn't ask why!'. The doorman who I assume is the owner/manager was wandering around my floor talking very loudly and again intrusively wanting to greet me as I came and went. Nobody told us, and there is nothing in the room to say how wifi works and it didn't need the password they told us when we finally called up. The coffee machine did not work.

Best hotel service is discrete, quick and efficient. These guys need to get the basics right before they try anything else. For the noise alone I won't go back when I next travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripgeek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear tripgeek01,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that you got disturbed because of the trams. We are a very centrally located hotel which has a lot of advantages. Some people might find it annoying, other find it lovely being in the city centre and the possibility of hearing some of the noises of the city.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the light switches and you thought the hotel looked good.

At art’otel amsterdam we do things differently. An important part of this different concept is to treat our guests with exceptional service. We’re very sorry to hear that you thought this was annoying, this is definitely not the feeling and message that we want to give to our guests.

Your comment regarding the coffee machine and the fact that there was no description about the Wi-Fi we followed up upon.
Most of our guests enjoy the rooms with the iconic city view, however please know that we have fully sound proof rooms as well facing the courtyard.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in newly opened hotel 11-13 October and have nothing but praise. The design is funky and fun, the staff are exceptional and apparently chosen for their character, yet the hotel provides all the comfort you could want. There is a great library area with the art curtain (moving images), a comfortable bar and lovely lounge - in addition a well equipped gym, sauna and pool (although of the plunge variety rather than lengths). The rooms are well designed and have all interactive tv as you would expect at a top end hotel. I love walking for hours round the city but when the rain poured being located opposite Central Station and the tram stops meant we could get anywhere by public transport. All in all a great experience and recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilySherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear FamilySherpa,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really excited to hear that you had such a good time in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#94 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing