We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive...superb accommodation with excellent service!!”
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Sophisticated "hip" hotel with every amenitity. Great staff. Excellent restaurant/lounge/part of the atmosphere! Very central. Quiet rooms. Beautiful historical building. Lucky you, if you get to go!!

Room Tip: If you wish to book, consider paying in advance to reduce your rate.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear HJK61,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
There are newer reviews for Art'otel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Wow! Design wise this hotel is different from any other I have ever stayed at, but the real wow is the staff; they are simply amazing. Receptionists, doormen, breakfast staff and waitresses all did a fantastic job. They really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The art ranges from quirky and bizarre to overly sexual, but hey, this is Amsterdam! Rooms are comfortable and quiet, but a little on the dark side. The bathrooms could definitely do with better lighting. The hotel in general is rather dark, but that really is my only complaint. This place is brand new and very modern. Great bar and areas to hang out in the evening. Perfect location!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hildeanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Hildeanv,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your time at the hotel so much.

We appreciate your feedback in terms of the look and feel of our rooms.

If you ever return to the area, we hope to see you back at the hotel!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Amazing 5 star hotel, stylish of its kind and gives relaxing feelings with its beauty and iconic internal decoration. Perfect location at Amsterdam city center, close to famous shopping malls and many restaurants and attractions. Hotels’ staff are friendly, cooperative and helpful as well as with good knowledge. Rooms located at high floors provide spectacular views. Breakfast was average with no varieties and very limited selections.

Room Tip: Perfect location at Amsterdam city center, close to famous shopping malls and many restaurants and a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adnan-Almuslem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Adnan-Almuslem,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel so much. Great to hear also that you loved our staff and art!

If ever you come back to visit the area, we hope to see you back at the hotel.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We loved this hotel. It's stylish, modern and in a great location. The rooms are excellent with large comfortable beds and all amenities. The place is very quirky and the staff are friendly and helpful. We ate one night in the hotel and thought the food and tapas concept worked very well. Everything was perfect except for the service at breakfast which was very haphazard. The breakfast itself was excellent but you had to wait ages for coffee or tea and then there wasn't enough. Not enough waiters and random service. A shame but they could easily get it sorted out with a bit of organisation. They definitely need coffee more readily available!

Room Tip: Go for the quiet rooms at the back. Great blackout!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Gill,

Thank you for your lovely words! It was our pleasure making your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback in terms of the breakfast so that we can work on improving this aspect of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again when travels brings you back to the area!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We thought we would have to adjust expectations for a more European-style hotel (smaller/older rooms, questionable bath, potentially reluctant service) and were amazed to find ourselves at a hotel superior in quality, service and style. We arrived after an overnight flight and were welcomed to an invaluable early check-in. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable (none of those two twin beds pushed together to make a queen), the bathroom full of amenities (great shower!) and technology up-to-date and fully functioning. The included breakfast was extensive and satisfying, even after 4 days of it. Unlike other places striving to project a modern, artsy vibe (which can sometimes translate to inaccessible or bizarre), the hotel feels sophisticated, sexy, cozy and like a friend with a sense of humor. Speaking of friendly and having a sense of humor, all of the staff, from the front desk (which doubles as concierge) to the restaurant staff was simply amazing. They were patient, welcoming and sincerely helpful with every request. We hope the hotel understands that it has something special in employees like Jan and Joris.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank takemeaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Takemeaway,

Thank you for your review and your lovely words. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look foward to welcoming you back when you come and visit the area again!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed for a week. It was very comfortable. The staff are excellent. Hard to say anything wrong - although the wines in the restaurant are all ordinary. The meals also vary in quality and size presumably depending on the chef who is on.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank busyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Busyprof,

Thanks you for your lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately there were also issues such as the restaurant quality. I am sorry that we let you down on this. We hope that this was not too much of influence on your experience.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely modern hotel with great room and just across the road from the train station. Staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble and the complimentary breakfast and little extras in the room are a great touch! would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor offer a lovely view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilsonberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Wilsonberry,

Thank you for you lovely words! It was our pleasure making your stay memorable. We are already looking forward welcoming you again when travels brings you back in the area!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
950 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#23 of 371 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#81 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,302 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £197 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing