We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art'otel Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$398
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel De Hallen(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,623)
Filter reviews
1,623 results
Traveller rating
1,098
356
100
41
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,098
356
100
41
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationart otelelemis toiletriesart roomxl roomgreat hotelperfect locationmood lightingturn down servicetrendy hotelmodern designbreakfast was includedmini barcomfy beddam squarethe red light districtgym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,025 - 1,030 of 1,623 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location and service. Unsatisfactory rooms. They are small. Bathrooms have glass walls and cannot be lighted separately from the sleeping area. spa hard to reach. Restaurant loud. Dinner and lunch menu the same

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Martin K,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us.

We appreciate the compliment on our service and location.

We regret to hear the stay did not live up to your expectations. If you would consider visiting us again we also have rooms available without glass walled bathrooms, and alternatively the peekaboo button offers more privacy.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for an extended week-end, altogether quite satisfied. Very friendly staff at the front desk, a bit different but effective check-in routines. Nice, quiet room. Struggled a bit with the air con (either warn or very cold). Good breakfast included. Small swimming pool, but it provided hours of fun for the five year old. Adequate fitness room. Not the most cosy location in Amsterdam, but very central.

Room Tip: Facing the side street was fine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Arild B,

Thank you for providing us with this lovely review.

We are glad your child enjoyed our indoor swimming pool!

We also appreciate that found our different style check in quite effective!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were in Amsterdam for two days and simply loved Art'otel. It is a new hotel, located only one block away from the train station. As soon as we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the front office team. Unfortunately I don´t remember the name of the person who checked us in, but she was very nice, and immediately made reservations for the restaurant of our choice for dinner. Furthermore she offered us a free priority pass, to avoid lines in several Amsterdam museums. The hotel is very modern, and the room very well decorated and spacious. Service was great throughtout our entire stay, room service came quickly and staff was very friendly. Wifi was fast and location was great as well (walking distance to several museums). It was a very pleasant surprise for such a "young" hotel. Breakfast doesn´t offer many choices, the buffet is small, but everything was very good. The bar is also worth a visit, drinks were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ma_Gentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Ma_Gentile,

Thank you for your beautiful review! We are thrilled to hear that we could surprise you with our service! It was a pleasure making your weekend as memorable as possible.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well appointed hotel just opposite the Amsterdam central train station. Distinct design makes your stay a worthy experience. Comfortable rooms and plenty of space to relax in, restaurant, bar, library and lounge.

Very clean but make sure to ask for cleaning your room before you leave, it might not be done until late afternoon. Otherwise good service, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Helen O,

We thank you for staying with us and writing this most pleasant review!

We like that you found the interior of the hotel added to the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you next time in our hotel, and this time you will not have to ask for service ;)

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Art’otel Amsterdam for ten nights in April 2014. The Hotel is very vocal about about its “five star” status and therefore deserves to be evaluated in that context — and so I shall.

The hotel’s biggest “fail” was not resolving my wife’s inability to log onto the hotel’s WiFi for three whole days. In the 21st Century that is a big deal. The problem seemingly began with a larger internet outage at the hotel. After that was resolved my wife found herself unable to access the hotel’s log-in page. We repeatedly brought this to the staff’s attention and received the impression that since this wasn’t a “hotel problem” it was not an urgent matter.

I have no complaint about the attitude of the staff, who were friendly and solicitous. The problem was that for three days no one was able to get anything done. We eventually received a verbal apology from a member of the IT staff when the problem was dealt with, but that is all we got. We weren’t offered as much as a drink at the bar for our inconvenience.

There were other things that were less than satisfactory. The housekeeping was spotty and slow. Small details (e.g., refilling an empty tissue box) would be missed. Housekeeping seemed to be either inefficient or understaffed. On several occasions we left before ten in the morning and came back at four in the afternoon to find our room untouched. In fact, the day we arrived our room was not ready until well after check-in time. There seems to be very little soundproofing and several times we heard hotel employees having rather loud and extended conversations in the hall.

The room itself was OK. The lighting system is innovative and convenient, but the waste receptacles are laughingly tiny. There is virtually no drawer space thus making it necessary to live out your suitcase, especially for an extended stay. There was no bathtub.

The art theme of the hotel is pleasant and interesting, but becomes less so over the course of a longer stay. The hotel’s location is perfect for a tourist, being a short walk from Centraal Station. The staff was invariably friendly and the restaurant staff was particularly charming and solicitous.

It is not a bad hotel and has an earnest staff, but the fifth star seems like at least one star too many based on our experience. The handling of the internet access problem was simply inexcusable and on a subsequent visit I am sure we will find somewhere else to stay at lower cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank herberq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Herberg,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate complimenting us on the friendliness of our staff and the rooms.

And as with the internet we apologize for the problems you have had with it. We can guarantee you that it is working again properly.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews