We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with very helpful staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel with very helpful staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at Art'otel Amsterdam between March 20th and 25th 2014... Arrived early in the morning from Montreal therefore a few hours before check-in: hotel staff immediately took care of our luggage and gave us a map of the surroundings given that no rooms were available at the time.

Once in our room: spacious by european standards: extremely comfortable beds and pillows and very elegant bathroom. The hotel also offers a pratical gym and a pool which are both opened around the clock.

5&33 is the hotel restaurant: DELICIOUS: from the varied breakfast to tapas for lunch and stylish dinner plates no wonder it's an up and coming restaurant in the city!

All and all great experience and will definitelty return!

Room Tip: Rooms are all alike: by european standards, average size with nice amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi ATCLG,

Thank you so much for your great review. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a good time at art'otel amsterdam!

Next time, if you come to visit the area we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    286
    73
    35
    17
See reviews for
152
679
57
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from our 10th anniversary trip to London & Amsterdam. While in Amsterdam we stayed at the Art'otel for 4 nights. We were very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the location and the room. The hotel is very modern and rooms are a comfortable size...but not huge. There is not a door on the bathroom....which can be a little awkward....but we made the best of it! The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance of many of the main attractions. The complimentary breakfast was nice. The room service food was delicious...in fact we ordered something every night. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would probably choose this location again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILuvMyHuBbY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear ILuvMyHubby,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and celebrating you 10th anniversary with us!

We enjoy to read that you enjoyed this festive occasion with us.

If you find yourself in Amsterdam in the future, we would love to have you as our guests again.
Maybe for your 11th anniversary?

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location and service. Unsatisfactory rooms. They are small. Bathrooms have glass walls and cannot be lighted separately from the sleeping area. spa hard to reach. Restaurant loud. Dinner and lunch menu the same

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Martin K,

Thank you for sharing you experience with us.

We appreciate the compliment on our service and location.

We regret to hear the stay did not live up to your expectations. If you would consider visiting us again we also have rooms available without glass walled bathrooms, and alternatively the peekaboo button offers more privacy.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for an extended week-end, altogether quite satisfied. Very friendly staff at the front desk, a bit different but effective check-in routines. Nice, quiet room. Struggled a bit with the air con (either warn or very cold). Good breakfast included. Small swimming pool, but it provided hours of fun for the five year old. Adequate fitness room. Not the most cosy location in Amsterdam, but very central.

Room Tip: Facing the side street was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arild B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Arild B,

Thank you for providing us with this lovely review.

We are glad your child enjoyed our indoor swimming pool!

We also appreciate that found our different style check in quite effective!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were in Amsterdam for two days and simply loved Art'otel. It is a new hotel, located only one block away from the train station. As soon as we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the front office team. Unfortunately I don´t remember the name of the person who checked us in, but she was very nice, and immediately made reservations for the restaurant of our choice for dinner. Furthermore she offered us a free priority pass, to avoid lines in several Amsterdam museums. The hotel is very modern, and the room very well decorated and spacious. Service was great throughtout our entire stay, room service came quickly and staff was very friendly. Wifi was fast and location was great as well (walking distance to several museums). It was a very pleasant surprise for such a "young" hotel. Breakfast doesn´t offer many choices, the buffet is small, but everything was very good. The bar is also worth a visit, drinks were great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma_Gentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Ma_Gentile,

Thank you for your beautiful review! We are thrilled to hear that we could surprise you with our service! It was a pleasure making your weekend as memorable as possible.

Hope to see you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
471 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well appointed hotel just opposite the Amsterdam central train station. Distinct design makes your stay a worthy experience. Comfortable rooms and plenty of space to relax in, restaurant, bar, library and lounge.

Very clean but make sure to ask for cleaning your room before you leave, it might not be done until late afternoon. Otherwise good service, friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Helen O,

We thank you for staying with us and writing this most pleasant review!

We like that you found the interior of the hotel added to the experience.

We look forward to welcoming you next time in our hotel, and this time you will not have to ask for service ;)

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Art’otel Amsterdam for ten nights in April 2014. The Hotel is very vocal about about its “five star” status and therefore deserves to be evaluated in that context — and so I shall.

The hotel’s biggest “fail” was not resolving my wife’s inability to log onto the hotel’s WiFi for three whole days. In the 21st Century that is a big deal. The problem seemingly began with a larger internet outage at the hotel. After that was resolved my wife found herself unable to access the hotel’s log-in page. We repeatedly brought this to the staff’s attention and received the impression that since this wasn’t a “hotel problem” it was not an urgent matter.

I have no complaint about the attitude of the staff, who were friendly and solicitous. The problem was that for three days no one was able to get anything done. We eventually received a verbal apology from a member of the IT staff when the problem was dealt with, but that is all we got. We weren’t offered as much as a drink at the bar for our inconvenience.

There were other things that were less than satisfactory. The housekeeping was spotty and slow. Small details (e.g., refilling an empty tissue box) would be missed. Housekeeping seemed to be either inefficient or understaffed. On several occasions we left before ten in the morning and came back at four in the afternoon to find our room untouched. In fact, the day we arrived our room was not ready until well after check-in time. There seems to be very little soundproofing and several times we heard hotel employees having rather loud and extended conversations in the hall.

The room itself was OK. The lighting system is innovative and convenient, but the waste receptacles are laughingly tiny. There is virtually no drawer space thus making it necessary to live out your suitcase, especially for an extended stay. There was no bathtub.

The art theme of the hotel is pleasant and interesting, but becomes less so over the course of a longer stay. The hotel’s location is perfect for a tourist, being a short walk from Centraal Station. The staff was invariably friendly and the restaurant staff was particularly charming and solicitous.

It is not a bad hotel and has an earnest staff, but the fifth star seems like at least one star too many based on our experience. The handling of the internet access problem was simply inexcusable and on a subsequent visit I am sure we will find somewhere else to stay at lower cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank herberq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Herberg,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We appreciate complimenting us on the friendliness of our staff and the rooms.

And as with the internet we apologize for the problems you have had with it. We can guarantee you that it is working again properly.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing