We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful designed hotel on a top location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Helden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful designed hotel on a top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is on the opposite of the central station, 2 mins walk from the Dam. The design is beautiful, great service on check in etc. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms are also spacious and well designed. Great amenities too. Comfy beds. Breakfast is included, however the choice is very limited (especially when you look at the room rates you have to pay). You can order some fresh egg dishes but you have to pay for that. Staff was not really great at breakfast. A lot of miscommunications all the time and we had to ask for coffee and juice all the time ourselves. Here some improvement is needed, because in a 5 star hotel you expect a kind of service. But overall it was a good stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room on the backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pascall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Pascall K,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved staying with us.

We appreciate your feedback very much in terms of the breakfast service in order for us to know which areas need further improvement.

If ever you travel back to the area, come and visit us again for sure!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    286
    73
    35
    17
See reviews for
152
679
57
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first visit to Amsterdam - stayed 7 nights. We arrived late morning, were checked-in straight away by a lovely lady, (whose name I didn't take), who then gave us a tour of the hotel before showing us to our room, which was immaculate - and the windows opened!! Also recieved a hand-written welcome note and little gift. Details like room temperature controls and mood lighting, further enhanced the ambiance of a well thought-out, modern space.

Very warm welcome from staff at the door and reception throughout our stay. Perfect location - across from the Central Station and short walk to DAM Square. All staff were extremely courteous and offered great recommendations for walks around the city and where to eat. The Concierge was amazing and got us a last minute reservation at a very popular restaurant on a Friday night, for my husband's birthday.

The 5&33 bar has a nice vibe.

Only downside was the intermittent wifi service from the room, although it was excellent in the common areas of the hotel.
Although not directly linked to Art'Otel, the crowds of tourists outside the entrance waiting for bus trips was a bit disconcerting.

Congratulations to a great team, full of energy and enthusiasm - will gladly recommend.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher floor away from the tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Rea R ,

Thank you so much for your nice review.We are very glad to hear that you liked our staff members so much.

We regret to hear that the wifi connection in the room was not up to standards, we will make sure next time you will experience it differently.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Fantastic stay in this hotel – met by Taxi organised by hotel at Schiphol airport even after plane was delayed – swift drive to hotel - room was immaculate and fantastic view of the city. All staff very friendly and helpful and could not have done any more to make our 3 day stay most enjoyable. Breakfast was included in the room rate and this was an excellent buffet with a cooked breakfast a free option – cooked to order

We also dined in their restaurant and the food was perfect. All at very reasonable prices too.
Have stayed at other 5* hotels in Amsterdam – this one beats them all – would go back tomorrow.

They even forgot to charge for the limousine that collected us – we of course were honest and told them.

Room Tip: Get the Art Room XI - Iconic view – Room 3008 marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
HI Barry C ,

Thank you so much for your compliments.How good it is to read a review like this one!

We are very pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable.

Next time when you visit the area, we would like to welcoming you back again.


Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We would definitely recommend going to this hotel. The staff was extremely nice. Our room was very big (but they mentioned we got a big one) there is a complementary illy coffee machine in the room, the pool the lounge and the restaurant are all very nice. Location couldn't be better.

Helpful?
Thank eitam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi eitam,

Thank you so much for this great review.

Great to hear that you will recommend our hotel to others!

We are very happy to hear that your stay was one to remember.

Next time when you visit the area, we look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a nice hotel and very centrally located facing Central Station.

Been to Amsterdam many times, and thought I would give this place a shot as it was new and looked very cool, like myself :) I have to say, I did not get the five star feeling here. Its a nice enough, modern hotel, but 5 star? It certainly does not have the feeling of 5 star that you find in The Amstel Hotel for example.

The location for me, wasn't great. Sure its convenient but having masses of coach parties, stoners and stag parties immediately outside the front door did not cut it for me. Inside is quiet enough, but the door and lobby staff have that battle scarred look in their eyes like its a tough to keep the undesirables away and outside, to keep up the standards inside the door.

Rooms are fine. Modern and hi-tech. Quiet also with nice linens. The Housekeeping trolley was left permanently outside our door (2021) for the entire stay which detracted from making it feel like a high end Hotel. Opening the door, morning, noon and night to a stacked trolley of toilet rolls, cleaning products and brushes just did not make it feel great.

Personally we would not stay here again. We prefer the location of the Amstel, or even the Crowne Plaza. This Hotel is just too close to the craziness and manic amount of people for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi bax52 ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback. This is a great tool for us to review our internal processes.

We regret to hear that your expectations were not met while staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time so you can experience us differently.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were overall very happy with our choice of hotel in Amsterdam. The art'otel is about as convenient as it gets, within meters from the train station. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment you enter. Our room was comfortable, though may have been trying too much to be 'modern'. Cute little gym and pool. Would have rated a '5' but the breakfast was below average, though nice that it was included with the room. While convenient, perhaps not the most pleasant neighborhood to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Had room on the 4th floor. Seemed like standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi Joshua R ,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you liked our hotel staff so much.

We regret to hear that you think that our breakfast was not up to standards.

Next time you come to visit the area we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

newly built, modern, artistic, totally different hotel - the place to be in amsterdam! stylish design, big modern rooms, very clean and high tech - all for prices slightly above the average of the hotels in the surroundings. location - excellent, walking difference from all landmarks in Amsterdam. although located in the heart of the city, just opposite of the Central Station - its very quiet ( i don't know how they did it).
for business travelllers - its a nice alternative: rather than staying in boring expensive Sheraton in the airport, take the train ( 15 minutes) and go to Amsterdam Central Station, where just opposite the street - you can check in into this trendy place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vantooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi vantooren,

Thank you so much for your great review.

We are so excited to hear that you think we are the place to be in Amsterdam!

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing