We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor breakfast”
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #35 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location but poor breakfast”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great rooms, central location, employees were very helpful but breakfast was very poor for a 5 star hotel. The hotel is near the central station, near the tram and walking distance to the palace and many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank nicosa985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Nicosa985,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you thought our rooms were great and the employees were very helpful. I regret to hear that the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for that.

Come back and visit us whenever you are in Amsterdam again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    313
    88
    39
    20
See reviews for
170
739
64
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
It is expensive, but what you get is quality across all areas which makes it well worth the money.
We arrived early, but after enjoying our complimentary welcome drink in the stylish bar we were told our room was ready, and what a treat it was! Very good size for European standards, complimentary snacks and espresso machine were a nice touch.
The bed was massive and very comfortable, and the room had a very effective air con. You will need to be a close couple with the bathroom not having a door and the peekaboo glass though!
We used the pool, sauna and gym, all of which were great.
The bar had some great cocktails, very potent indeed!!
As mentioned in other reviews the hot breakfast items are made to order, which makes for less waste and thus better quality & tasty!
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, just make sure you put your 'I'm dreaming' hanger on your door in the evening to avoid being disturbed by the turndown service while getting ready for dinner!
All in all I would definitely return to this innovative hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank S-Rtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear SRTraveller1,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved your stay especially in terms of the room, the complimentary snacks and espresso machine.

If ever you are back in Amsterdam, come and visit us!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The perfect home at Amsterdã. Hotel close to every thing you need: restaurants, bus stop, train stop, stores for renting a bike/scooter. Amazing room, perfect services, including a perfect italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thiago P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Thiago,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed every bit of your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back when you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is right across the train station which is very handy since you can catch a train from the airport for 5E that takes you straight there in around 12 mins.I have visited a lot of Park Plaza/Artotel all around Europe and this is without doubt the best. The staff is top notch and the service is out of this world.Our room was great, if anything a little small. Loved the Illy coffee machine and the Elemis products they leave on your pillow when they come to check the room in the afternoon!I was surprise to see how fast they were to come to our room any time we asked for something at reception. My favourite part of the whole experience was wondering through the hotel to admire the different pieces of original scattered all over the property. I also loved their breakfast probably the best i have ever had in a hotel. I honestly can't find any fault in this hotel, simply a winner!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarisiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Clarisiza,

Thank you for your review. Wow! What a great compliment to hear that the staff is top notch and the service is out of this world!! We are very proud of our concept and very happy when our guests enjoy this.

If ever you are back in Amsterdam, come and visit us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giovinazzo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

An excellent location, very good rooms and breakfast and restaurant of very high quality. The hotel is near the station and is central to go everywhere in Amsterdam. The restaurant is very good and the breakfast is served with fresh dishes cooked when served. The rooms are modern and very well equipped.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Giacomo B,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our location, restaurant and rooms so much.

If ever you are back in Amsterdam, come and visit us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for Gay Pride 2014, and it has to be the best hotel we have used in Amsterdam. Very nice, genuine and helpful staff, very modern and clean rooms. The king size bed is amazing and good linens

Breakfast – Hot is cooked to order which we felt was brilliant as it offers much less waste but also you get hot food, unlike a buffet which is often cold. If busy service can seem slow, but when you remember that its being cooked to order it is in fact very quick.

We had a small problem with housekeeping one day (we stayed 4 nights) which was promptly rectified and a very nice bottle of red was in the room afterwards (30+ euro on the bar menu).

Turn down service in the evening and Elemis products in bathroom and on your pillow at night, also a fabulous coffee machine in the room. Good size safe too.

Would recommend the Art’otel without hesitation. Great location, directly opposite Central Station, great rooms and modern, and then you have the art installations!

Room Tip: Room at the back, hotel is on main road so you could get noise - Amsterdam is a 24 hour city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Steven F,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved your stay with us while being in Amsterdam for Gay Pride 2014. What a blast!

Unfortunately not everything was to your satisfaction especially in terms of the Housekeeping service. Good to hear that you were happy with the follow up.

If ever you are back in Amsterdam, come and visit us again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We came back Aug 12 from this hotel. The breakfast was amazing the egg white omelets were the best. The restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful every morning. The front desk staff were very helpful with telling us about tours. They told us to go to Ann Frank's house before 9 - very helpful as the line up was so long after we got there. Everything was good except our room was not cleaned at all the day before we were leaving- we left at 11:00 and at 7:00 we had to complain to the front desk to get towels and get our bathroom cleaned. The house keeping work was worst that I have ever seen-- glasses were never washed. We did not get bottled water as it was advertised, we only got it for one day. The manager did apologize to us about this as we checked out.

Room Tip: We were on third floor at back by the house keeping supply room, it was a little noisy. The decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rani k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Rani K,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you thought our egg white omelets were to die for!

Unfortunately not everything was to your satisfaction especially in terms of the Housekeeping service. Please accept our apologies for that.

If ever you are back in Amsterdam, come and visit us again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#101 of 367 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 367 in Amsterdam
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#86 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing