We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in AMS”
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great choice in AMS”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I travel to Amsterdam once a month on business and try to stop close to central station for convenience, despite it being the slightly brash end of the city. My normal choice of the renaissance has been well and truly replaced by the Art'otel. Part of the Park Plaza group but far superior than their neighbour. Never a queue at check in, all staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have good facilities, plenty of English TV channels, free fast Wifi, UK plug sockets, waterfall shower and the usual goodies, including nice Elemis products.
Breakfast is good for a European hotel, plenty of choice and an ala carte option.
Only issues would be no feather/down pillow option and rooms on low floors at the front will be noisy due to the trams.
Overall, great location, friendly staff, nice rooms and well appointed and now my favourite in AMS!

Room Tip: Ask for inner facing rooms, unless you want a view and noise..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear we are your new first choice and that you are enjoying our location and facilities so much.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    308
    86
    39
    20
See reviews for
170
724
64
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were in town for one night and celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We are frequent travelers and this hotel was outstanding. Rooms were spacious, luxuriously appointed (linens, toiletries, bathrobes, complementary snacks, coffee/tea and water), superbly located (across the street from the train station and within 5-30 mins walk to everything worth seeing in Amsterdam), and offered high quality service. The restaurant is excellent (hip and trendy) and we enjoyed the 24hr pool and fitness center (very well equipped). Even though this hotel is pricey, compared to similar hotels in its class, the value was excellent (wifi, bfast included - which can be enjoyed in your room). The front desk even surprised us with a complementary bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary - very nice :) We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Kimlavoie,

Thank you for your kind words.
It is an absolute pleasure to read that we were part of a pleasant anniversary stay.
We are looking forward to welcome you back when you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing interiour design, extremly friendly, helpful staff and perfect location.
To name only 1 example: As a surprise, I ordered a birthday cake which someone from the very friendly staff went to get in a nice bakery within 20 minutes and brought it to the room at no charge (except for the cake, of course).
It is not cheap but definitely a treat!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ferdi_Magellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 October 2014
Dear Ferdi,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, specifically the service of our staff.
Hopefully we see you soon when you are around.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

What an amazing hotel. Beautifully decorated fantastic attentive staff. Perfect base for a long weekend in Amsterdam, some of the art is a bit risqué but it is the Dam after all. The room has done fantastic unexpected touches. Cocktails in the 5&33 bar are fantastic too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Stuart M,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved your Birthday weekend so much and that we made sure this was one to remember.

Come back and visit us if ever you are in Amsterdam again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is 5 mins walk from the central station. Great rooms with all the amenities, except the pillows are lumpy and uncomfortable.
The breakfast has many choices, and the cocktail bar is great with a DJ spinning the tunes.
The teem here are great, wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Amsterdam.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TIPS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear TIPS3,

Thank you for your review. What a great compliment to hear that you'd always like to stay with us and nowhere else!

So please do, if ever you come back to Amsterdam: you're very welcome.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A great hotel because:

-it's incredibly convenient to Central Station. Close to Old Amsterdam. A walk to everything.

-it's a welcome change from the old of Europe. The designs of rooms and public areas are so contemporary and creative.

-the concierge staff and dining room supervisor (from Australia) were outstanding.

-breakfast buffet was ample and well presented. Eggs made to order.

-the card elevator and room entry system is great.

-the shower and shower head were amazing.

4 stars/not 5 because:

-a linen cart was outside our room all 5 days of our stay. This led us to believe it is a permanent fixture next to room 1014. We feel this is a bad management decision for a $400. per night room.
Too bad this is the first negative in our memory. So classless.

-hallway noise is very loud into the rooms. Guests return to their rooms until 3am. Then....

-after 5am each morning, a woman in heels walked on the floor above us. What's up with that? Was our room below the dining room?

-I'm guessing a man designed the bathroom. Lighting for make-up is non-existent.

Great design concepts. What about 'form follows function?'

Room Tip: Refuse room 1014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Meade66,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback very much in terms of knowing in which areas we need to improve.

If you come back to Amsterdam, please visit us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great rooms, central location, employees were very helpful but breakfast was very poor for a 5 star hotel. The hotel is near the central station, near the tram and walking distance to the palace and many restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank nicosa985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Nicosa985,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you thought our rooms were great and the employees were very helpful. I regret to hear that the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for that.

Come back and visit us whenever you are in Amsterdam again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#25 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,143 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,163 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Property: Art'otel Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing