We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a chance; good call”

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 3,964 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Diner, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Himalyan cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Took a chance; good call”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Norling is on a popular street that has a couple of dozen restaurants and bars. A few places pull in big bar crowds that spill out onto the street. We were turned away at 2 restaurants on a Friday night due to being at capacity so we took a chance at Norling. It is Himalayan food so of course we wondered if they were serving up grilled musk oxen. We like Asian but have never had Tibetan. But Norling has a well thought out sampler plate which is priced well at 20 Euros and includes superb food, all of which was fresh and made on site. It included dumplings, chicken curry, their version of chili, salad, and steamed bread. It was actually fun eating the different items. Low prices on their wine. The restaurant atmosphere was very nice, lots of nice Tibetan art and a big photo of the Pottala Palace. All servers are from Tibet. Norling was a very pleasant surprise.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rickatonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    187
    33
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Good diner, fair price and friendly staff! Give it a try, when visiting Amsterdam, you won't regret it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vince_BS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Restauramt with gems on the menu”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Would visit again, prices are fair. And theres are good menu combinations. Nice atmosphere and interior, especially the chicken curry was very good

Helpful?
Thank Jeredepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This place should be higher on the list!!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

I am a local in Amsterdam and have visited quite a few restaurants in town. I think this one is really underrated. The food was extremely deliocious. Very interesting cuisine and the cook seems to know what he is doing. just try to talk to the staff. They are really friendly. They even gave us hints about how to cook. Really loved the place. Will be back for sure

Helpful?
1 Thank TuranB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raelingen Municipality, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect dinner”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Everything about this restaurant was really good! Amazing food, extremly helpful waiter and perfect atmosphere. We also got a bottle of rosewine from the house as we were about to leave. Really a perfect night!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing