We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a major RIPP-OFF!!”
Review of Maria Steak House

Maria Steak House
Ranked #3,089 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinian
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
285 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a major RIPP-OFF!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited this place on Wednesday 13th, August 2014. We were 9 people, and 3 of us ordered the "unlimited spare ribs", the others ordered regular stuff from the menu.
The wait and service for still okay, but the big surprise came when we ordered another plate or ribs. On the first plate, everyone had 3 big pieces of ribs. On the second plate, everyone only got 1 further. No biggie, we thought, we´ll just order again. And again. And again, if that´s how they wanna play. But not only got the wait longer and longer from plate to plate, they REFUSED to serve a 4th plate.
To top it all off, they even charged us for every complementary side-dish (salads, fries, sauces), which we specifically asked before hand if the steaks came with side dishes.

I can only tell everyone: BEWARE of this place, DO NOT waste your money here. This place left such a sour taste in our mouths, of a otherwise perfectly wonderful week in the netherlands

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Immerenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    33
    16
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Argentunian restaurant in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Hi everybody
We had the best food in Amsterdam in this restaurant
The place is very good
Service is nice people helpful funny and really we enjoyed our time there
Should everybody try this place
Thanks restaurant Maria for nice time and wounderful food :)

Helpful?
Thank meg0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Try that :)”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We are group from china
We get our food in this restaurant we thought it will be normal food without tast but we were surprised when we get it it's amazing and very delicious
Service there is very funy guy and friendly
We thought that he is just a waiter but we surprise when we know that he is the manager there
He jock with us and we feel like we are in our home

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place amazing food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I had meal at this place and it was very nice
Service in this place nice friendly people
I like this restaurant very much and I suggest to all people
Jan Poland

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clients put on display to attract other tourists”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The service at this restaurant is beyond unfriendly.
We asked if we could sit at a certain table at the back of the restaurant, the waiter said "no", it was allegedly reserved for a big group coming soon and pointed us to another table.

We ordered the steak and were asked "fries, salad, sauce?", as if these were also included in the price. Needless to say they were not. The food took 40 minutes to arrive, although it was 5 pm (restaurant opened way earlier).

As soon as the table next to the window overlooking the main street became available, the waiter came and TOLD (not asked) us to move there. He didn't seem to care we were eating our starters when he started to move our drinks to the other table. He just wanted us to be seen on display, in order to make the place seem frequented and attract other tourists.

We got the overpriced bill, paid and left.
We stayed around the restaurant to see if this was a routine they pulled on every tourist. Surely enough, the waiter cleaned our table and started moving the only other customers in the restaurant to it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria Steak House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Maria Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing