We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as good as I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Ranked #74 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam so we took pot luck on a hotel. As it turned out this Hampton hotel was a way out from the centre of Amsterdam, about 15 minutes by Metro. It's location for metro and train is perfect, the station is just opposite the hotel. Ajax Arena is just across from the hotel and a lot of work is being carried out to develop the area around the stadium to make it a bit like the O2 complex in Stratford London. There is an iMax cinema and the Heinekin concert venue plus an assortment of eating places, shops etc.
The hotel was newish and therefore well decorated and furnished. If you wanted a drink the reception staff also doubled as barman and the reception staff were just great, polite and friendly at all times.
Our room was nicely furnished and relatively clean. Only one gripe, over the four days it was not cleaned very well as there was dust and fluff on the floor by the door. Other than that, not a bad room.
Now for the real gripe, the cooked breakfast was cold every day which was not very pleasant. Also, one of the coffee mugs was so badly damaged (not just chipped) that we had to point this out to the staff and ask them to remove it from the area in case someone cut their mouth on it.
Trays were delivered back wet to the breakfast area from the kitchen and you had to dry them with paper napkins before you could use them.
A nice hotel, great staff but can only give it 4 out of 5 because of the breakfast and the lack of attention to the cleaning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyuk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    685
    181
    50
    31
See reviews for
381
483
74
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stay here for 3 days. Silvia in reception was very nice and polite,she like sunshine in reception.Room was clean and nice, we have small problems whit housekeeping team, we order extra tea bag and that we get just when we left our room. but i can say it was very nice stay. breakfast very tasty.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salzburg, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very good new hotel, nice rooms, perfect service and quality, good parking, perfect connecing to the city and convenient surrounding. it was a mixed business and private trip, i will go there again, when i have to go to that area. nothing to criticise

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The hotel is just a stone's throw away from the Arena Boulevard metro which connects to practically everywhere including the airport! It is also located near several restaurants, an Esprit factory outlet and the Heineken Music Hall.

The room is clean and very spacious. Very good for families as well as group of friends travelling with a lot of luggage.

The only thing I did not like about my stay was the breakfast. Daily buffet breakfast was provided inclusive of our stay and it was a bit boring. Thankfully we were only there for 3 days, otherwise I would have sworn off baked beans and scrambled eggs forever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great hotel and wonderful staff. Can definitely recommend this hotel and i enjoyed my experience. Was in very close proximity to shops and station. Breakfast are was great as well as the choice of food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdinand Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedero Valcuvia, Italy
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

First time I'm trying this hotel. It is physically connected to the Amsterdam Arena train station that is very well connected to Schipol (there is also a bus connection to Schipol with bus 300). The hotel inside is very new, room are nice and everything looks very recent. It doesn't have a restaurant though walking distance there are nice restaurants, a movie theater and the football stadium. There is a fitness room and breakfast has everything needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giorgio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
thanks so much for reviewing your stay via TripAdvisor! I am happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities and the location of the hotel. A lot of great things are going to happen in the direct surrounding; if we may welcome you again there is even more to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

OK - if you're expecting a five star Hilton hotel you won't get this but the staff are exceptionally friendly, efficient and courteous and for this is more important when away from home for long periods.

Only downside for me is the lack of variety at breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank englisst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#116 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Property: Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing