We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Ranked #71 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is what you would expect from a 3 star hotel which is what the Hampton is. The staff do a good job but there are a couple of issues that become apparent during one's stay. For breakfast, they put up a good spread but have a small eating area for the capacity of guests the hotel accommodates so it's a bit of a mad house if you happen to wander off for a bite around their peak periods.
The bed is good enough for a decent night's sleep as well which is always a bonus!

I was here for a few days; it's in what's considered a not so decent part of the city but as Amsterdam is 'generally' safe and if you have your wits about you; you'd be good.
The metro + train + bus station is about 2 minutes walk away from the hotel which is a bonus as you could connect with most parts of the city very conveniently. Amsterdam Central is just around 15 minutes by Metro 54; Schipol Airport is reachable within the same amount of time as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayodeji O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,800 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

This hotel is conveniently located within a few feet of the train station making it accessible to all of Amsterdam and other cities. It is only 10 minutes to Schiphol Airport. Several good restaurants are adjacent. The staff is outstanding and works very hard to please. Hot breakfast included fresh scrambled eggs. Rooms were extremely comfortable with very good ventilation systems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank 166claudial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here because I had meetings in the Bijlmer area and found it convenient, clean, friendly and well furnished. I slept well and enjoyed the breakfasts.
Would I stay here as a tourist? Not sure. It's right next to Amsterdam Bijlmer Arena station and so very convenient for both the airport (direct bus and train links) and the city centre. The main weakness is that the Bijlmer area is unattractive and ugly, although the square in front of the hotel is undergoing landscaping work so may improve. There are places to eat nearby but it's not really a pleasant area to explore so ask the front desk for recommendations or eat in the centre (or maybe get a bus to the lovely riverside restaurants and bars not far away at Ouderkerk a/d Amstel)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarostra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is perfect for all kinds of travelers!

We are at the moment staying at this hotel, for a 3 day period. Booked the hotel mainly because of the good reviews and must say i do not regret my decision. Price very reasonable a'prox 125 euro pr night, incl free wi-fi and breakfast.

Our room is not huge, but we are here for 3 days, so it really do provide for what we need, and that is a nice bed, a tv and a nice shower and here you got it all, so i won't say anything bad about that either, cuz we are more than satisfied with our room.

The hotel is 15 min from the airport by train, and i situated just a stones throw from the station where u get off, very easy, do not take a taxi, it will cost you a'prox 60 Euro and take 30 min's. Train ticket is max 4 euro pr.person and it is the smartest way to travel after some time in the air.

The breakfast is also good, there is everything you need and all the things are fresh and tasteful, nothing negative to say about that.

Going to the central of Amsterdam, just take the metro line 54 to the central st, we bought a 3 day / 72 hour ticket, cost 15 euro a'prox pr.person and is very easy, just remember to check in and check out, traveling time to the heart of Dam, around 15 min's :-)

Last but not least, their gym is nice and intimate, not to huge, but still what you need to burn some fat or energy ;-)

And the reception staff is friendly and smiling :-)

Would definitely come back, if we visit Amsterdam again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed. The rooms have all that you need and are very clean. It is not a luxury hotel, but is 2 mins from the train station, which is 10 mins from the airport. The bed is nor very comfortable, but apart from that it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A good hotel well located. Do eat at the authenic Japanese restaurant - it is TOP and less than 5 minutes from the hotel - it is opposite the cinema-not to be confused with the all you can eat Asian restaurant. the cinema has a good selection of recent movies. The metro is minutes away from the hotel. The outside markets are varied and multi-cultural.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank pamelaa523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed 4 nights here with my mum on a long weekend trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is very easy to find as it is right by the station. Our room was quite large and very pleasant. The beds are huge! The bathroom has a walk-in shower and all the usual amenities. The TV has BBC1 and BBC2! The air conditioning could have worked a bit better, but never mind.

The hotel staff, especially those on reception, where very friendly and helpful.

There are a couple of restaurants nearby. Marmaris on the corner was good serving mainly pizza and pasta but also Turkish food (you can also get a takeaway from them). The Chinese restaurant was good too. There is a Subway a little further, plus Burger King and a Lidl supermarket if needed. There isn't tonnes going on around this hotel, which was good for us, but if you need nightlife on your doorstep, you might want to stay somewhere else. I think that some guests didn't realise that the hotel is not right in the middle of Amsterdam! It only takes 15 mins to get in to the middle though. The metro runs very frequently and the trains to/from Schipol run about every 15 mins and take only 12 mins.

The breakfast was good with a large selection. It was very busy on the weekends and I think they could have done with more staff to replenish supplies and clear tables.


I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raquelrattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
5.8 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £74 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing