We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Ranked #76 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible service and dirty room”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The positives first: the hotel is located right opposite a metro station and it takes about 15 mins to get into town. The hotel is in a nice quiet area next to the football arena. The breakfast is ok.

However we were very disappointed with the service, we found our room dirty several times even after the cleaners had been in, when we first arrived, there were empty plastic bottles on the floor, the bathroom was dirty etc.
On the second day our shower towels were not replaced and even when speaking to the receptionist she just shrugged ans said "can I do this is a little while" she did not apologize and eventually showed up with an armful of small towels stating they were out of big towels!

I have never experienced such bad service in any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juljen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
It is great that you are using TripAdvisor for sharing your experiences! And I am very thankfull for your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies that we were not able to meet all your expectations during your stay.
It was an unfortunate incident that a replacement for your towels were not deliverd to your room yet. The towels you should receive were indeed not deliverd yet by the laundry service. That was a good opportunity to connect with you by leaving a note in your room that towels were on their way. We missed that opportunity and I am really sorry for that!

I do hope that you might consider booking us again in the future as I am assured that your previous experience was an isolated incident.

Looking forward in welcoming you back in our hotel in the nearest future!

Warm regards,
Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    742
    195
    53
    34
See reviews for
411
528
83
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice hotel if a bit pricy but then hotels generally are in Europe. The hotel is right outside the metro/train station which is a brilliant location for weary travellers. We took about a 15 minute ride from the airport for 5 euros each and there is plenty of room for luggage. After checking in and a quick rest we popped over and bought 24 hour passes and headed into Amsterdam central, will use same passes to get to cruise terminal tomorrow so a very good deal.
Hotel is close to the Ajax arena for the soccer fans, unfortunately for us we were 15 minutes to late for a look round as they had just closed the gates.
Would stay here overnight again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skybluekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good experience. Check in was fast and correct. Our room was very comfortable and large. The bedding was great. We had a problem with the bathroom door and it was repaired very quickly would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam, close to airport!

Room Tip: I think they are good all around, we had a corner room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishNana2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

wonderful american hotel in europe. Great to have an american quality hotel that had beautiful rooms, a.c, relatively large bathroom, wifi that works well, great beds and pillows, and cleanliness while traveing in europe. Great breakfast. Also, very convenient to get to the amsterdam airport with free shuttle service, but you must register for the shuttle service to airport EARLY otherwise they run out of space on the shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This is my third time staying at the hotel. My first time was a year ago and I was more impressed then.
The front desk staff quality depends on who you get. Throughout my three-week stay, I interacted with a number of them and while there were good and efficient ones, there were two which I feel required more training. On a billing issue, the employee gave excuses instead of checking first. Another did not bother to check to see if they still had pasta and just asked me to eat at the nearby restaurant.
Housekeeping seems lax as well, failing to replenish tea bags and coffee supply in the room and even the laundry bag and form.
Room was comfortable but my colleague noticed they do not vacumm under the beds.
Breakfast fare was good and the gym of good size with two treadmills, cross trainers, weight machines, dumbbells and balance balls.
With the good and bad, I would give this place an average rating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slinkay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Køge, Roskilde, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 days with your son and we all 3 enjoy it.. Nice staff and Nice breakfest.. Should you take the train Then take metro 54 to central.. Takes 15 minuts to schipool and 15 minuts to central Amsterdam.. Nice places to eat nearby and Ajax stadium also.. There is a Hugh play area 10 minuts Walk from the hotel.. Cost 7,5 euro in fee and adults free.. Bit where hot in the summer.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gladedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great reception service Really good internet wifi service Place and room i got is really great It was a group business trip in my case, and we needed a place that's nearer to our office. So we booked for Hampton's, and never regretted it. The place is a minute away from the Biljmer Arena Metro Station. Fine restaurants nearby. And it's also close to a Lidl (grocery). ATM machines are all around. And if you ever needed it, asking for taxi from the reception is also very easy. The overall location is safe, quiet, convinient. And the people in Amsterdam are really very nice and helpful. Overall, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Benedict Alvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
5.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#66 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,771 reviews
3.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#39 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Property: Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing