We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Explore Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Ranked #73 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location to Explore Amsterdam”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

As you exit the Bijlmer ArenAtrain station via the escalator and exit the enclosed area turn right. The hotel will be directly be in front of you. Arriving to the hotel was extremely easy with a direct train ride from Schiphol to the Bijlmer ArenA Station and only costing Five Euro/person.

If you have a very early flight as we did, there is a "big red bus" that departs from the bus depot outside the metro station promptly with a 5:29 am departure.

The staff was friendly and efficient. We arrived early and the room was ready and waiting for us. We were given rooms on the backside of the hotel; I have a feeling that with all of the outdoor seating for restaurants and bars that a room on the front of the building may be noisy, especially on the weekends.

As with most European breakfasts, it's not quite to the tastes of most Americans. If, as an American, you are new to traveling to Europe, you just need to be prepared that is not a traditional American breakfast buffet.

The room is reasonable in size by European standards, but as compared to USA hotel rooms, they're pretty small. They are well laid out with just a bit of wear and tear showing.

Overall, a nice stay and I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JWD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    732
    192
    51
    32
See reviews for
400
515
80
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Worth every penny! The Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Biljmer Arena is literally in front of you as you step off the train at Biljmer Arena station. It looks out on to a modern plaza with restaurants nearby, but also a shopping centre within walking distance. (Lidls is about 5-10 mins walk past the restaurants if you need to stock up on picnic supplies)

Room spacious, spotlessly clean, and a comfy bed with clean and crisp white linen.Choice of firm or soft pillows. Shower and toilet spotless. Soap, hair conditioner, and moisturiser in dispensers. Tea and coffee in the room. Free wifi in room. Air conditioning. Windows are double glazed, and theres not much noise from the station. (tends to shut down in the early hours of the morning any way), and their railway network is electrified (unlike the UK) so is fairly quiet, fast, efficient and spotless as well.

I booked this as it was 10 mins on the train direct from Schiphol airport, and had a regular metro (number 54) to Amsterdam centraal station/Niewmarkt. Buy a Chipkaart (similar to London's oyster card) at Schiphol, and you're good to go throughout the Netherlands.

Breakfast was fabulous, as much as you can eat. Cooked, plus continental breakfast available. Fresh bread rolls, cheese, cold meats, full english breakfast (although not fried eggs just scrambled). Coffee and juice.

Would I stay again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena/ Boulevard, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was surprised by the excellent location of this Hotel. It was quiet but had loads of eating areas and shops just around the corner. There was an excellent restaurant close to the hotel. We ate in the hotel too and this was very nice and excellent value for money. The rooms were clean and tidy. The full length window made an excellent view looking over the square. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is situated literally next to Amsterdam Bijlmer Arena train station, but not in the city centre. Nice new hotel in a very quiet location, but convenient when visiting Amsterdam. Trains and trams until late at night to take you back to this oases. It takes about 15-20 minutes.

If you are going to Ziggo Dome or HMH or Arena for an event, they are all very close. If you are booking in the Netherlands check out the NS Spoordeel shop as they sometimes have good train/hotel deals to this hotel.

Check in was swift, although the room wasn't ready at 12 noon. We left our bags and went into the city. Upon return at 11 p.m we got the key and bags all very swiftly.
The room was very spacious. Nice decor, clean, good shower room. All very modern.

Breakfast was not very well organized. When we got there at 9.15 there were no tables in the breakfast room left (people were sitting in the lounge which is adjacent). No coffee mugs, no knives, no bread rolls….everything got sorted in the end, but staff just couldn't keep up with the demand. We were a bit disappointed by the way everything was organized.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norwichgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is with great pleasure to read that you had a pleasent stay with us! Thank you for using TripAdvisor to share your experiences.
My apologies that the breakfast wasn't organized as you can expect from us. We always strive to have all guests satisfied and served in the way they deserve, and we failed doing so during your stay.

I do hope you consider booking us again in the nearest future. I am convinced you will experience that we have evaluated our logistic and taken appropriate measurements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I choose this hotel as our second choice because breakfast was included with the stay and we could not have been more happier that we choose this hotel. The first sign was when we exited the train station and our hotel was right there, second an IMAX theater right across from the hotel! Third well it is the Hampton! We plan on going back to Amsterdam and plan on going to this hotel again! The staff was friendly, gym small, but it has the equipment to get the job done.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lonertravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Look no further than the Hampton Hilton hotel. It is fantastic, particularly at less than $100 for an overnight stay. My husband and I traveled there by taxi after disembarking in Amsterdam at the end of a cruise, and take no notice when the ship blithely tells you that getting a taxi from the port is difficult. We had only a few minutes to wait for an excellent modern taxi with its English speaking driver. Consequently we were very early arriving at the hotel but our room was ready and waiting for us. The hotel and everything in it is new and modern.. Our two single (twin) beds were some of the biggest and comfiest we have ever slept in and the bed linens are better than in some hotels at twice the price. There is a huge walk in shower, free internet access, coffee/tea making facilities in the room and also available at all times in the breakfast room. The self service breakfast is phenomenal for its choice, taste and presentation. There is an on time, free shuttle service to and from School airport running every 30 minutes. The entire staff, including the shuttle driver, spoke excellent English and were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Because of flight times, once we had settled ourselves in to the hotel we had time to spare. A leisurely 15 to 20 minute walk, through a pretty residential area of Amsterdam brought us to Hoopfddorp Shopping and town Centre. This is a huge shopping area with a “town square”, an open air market, and hundreds of shops large and small in interesting streets and a covered mall. There were dozens of small restaurants serving any type of food or drink you can imagine. The area is definitely not "touristy”. We didn’t see one china windmill or plastic tulip, though there were real ones on the flower market. Most of the signs, information and writing on products were only in Dutch. However, the very friendly people spoke excellent English and would happily translate anything from menus, to articles for sale and their prices. A perfect place to experience "real" Holland.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is 3 minutes walk from Bijlmer Arena Station where you can access both train (to and from airport within 15 minutes) and metro (to and from city center within 10 minutes) The hotel offers either family room or junior suite which have 2 beds (5 feet wide) and one sofa bed per room which can cater for family of 4 comfortably. Further the hotel also offers free breakfast which is a plus. The staff are very nice and helpful. The rooms are modern and clean. I will definitely stay again if we are going to visit Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Book early as both family room or junior suite goes fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
5.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,005 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
5.8 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Property: Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing