We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fuel for the day.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omelegg - De Pijp

Omelegg - De Pijp
Ranked #23 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Dutch, Cafe, European, Healthy, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Description: We are specialised in omelettes being the first and only omeletterie in The Netherlands.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fuel for the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

If you want food that will fuel you for an entire day of walking and site-seeing this is the place to go. The portions are huge and for good reason. Most residence in Amsterdam bike so I guess they need that energy to ride around town. My girlfriend and I ate there twice and loved everything. All of the ingredients tasted fresh and the flavors were awesome. The prices were some of the best we had seen while there as well. I had the Smokin Chick and the Viking Fisherman. Served with toast and a small salad I was good to go for hours. Getting in and seated was easy since it's not in a very touristy area but it's also just a couple blocks away from the Pijp market. I will be eating there every time I'm in amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    950
    347
    51
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Massive, very filling”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Nice brunch. The portions are big! We couldn't finish our omelettes! It kept us going till dinner!

However service was frustratingly slow. Our orders were mixed up with the people sitting next to us. I did not understand why they thought we were together. We clearly asked for a table for 2.

Helpful?
Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
295 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast spot and worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fab breakfast spot- we had the farm boy and smoked chicken omelettes which were served with delicious bread and salad. Excellent coffee and everything else we saw looked really good too. Very friendly staff and spotlessly clean. Highly recommended .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good eggs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We selected this restaurant based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The omelettes were fab. Great service too.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
83 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best omlette in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Let's start with the looks. Everything in this place is made of wood, including menus. And I don't mean "paper". The menu is actually a small wood plank with prices burned on it. The design is all about eggs, starting from colored egg shells hanging from the ceiling.
Now to the food. As the name suggests, the specialty of this place is omelettes. They give you a choice from about ten omelettes, and you can also create your own mix of ingredients. We ordered Farmer Boy and Viking-something. They were both very tasty, and the sizes of them - I barely finished mine, and my wife couldn't finish hers. Come hungry!
An incredible experience and a must-go place if you visit Amsterdam.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAleosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omelegg - De Pijp also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Omelegg - De Pijp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing