We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service”
Review of NRC Restaurant - CLOSED

NRC Restaurant
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Tried NRC as it was opposite our hotel and I'd read a good review on the plane. Had a lovely meal, restaurant was busy without being crowed and it was fun to watch the food being prepared in the open kitchen.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhodes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A cultural trip and diner before the night in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very modern and sophisticated lunch and dining room with an ideal approach of dinner possibilities. One course or more courses , everything is possible to be in time on your concert hall or theatre ,
Excellent servers! Very friendly en customer oriented.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lexwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy, modern atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Huge portion of delicious mussels with ambles of garlic and fresh parsley! Colleagues chose Creamy tomato soup, Goats cheese salad and Roast beef sandwich - no complaints:)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
217 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fine brasserrie”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Friends took me to this fine brasserie right in the heart of Amsterdam. As an avid reader of the NRC-Handelsblad, a well-known evening newspaper in The Netherlands, I was happy to be in this ground-floor brasserie just beneath the offices - all in glass - of the editors of that paper.
Spacious restaurant with outdoor seating as well.
Good-quality foods and a nice wine list, too.
I had a duck-liver paté continuing with excellent seafood ravioli. Both were really very tasty and authentically fresh. Prices - for the wine, too - reasonable.
Service was tip-top efficient and friendly, although I am sometimes exasperated in restaurants with many different serving staff for a single table. I prefer one server per table.
All in all: fine brasserie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We visited this restaurant because it had a special offer: pay for two, dine for four. We took the set menu and it proved to be a good quality three course meal for a price of 35 euro a person, drinks excluded (because of the special offer therefore 70 euro for 4 persons). Service was very friendly. The restaurant space is large and well furnished. They also do wine arrangements which some of us tried out. They were good wines but they did come at a price! Overall we were really quite content though: quality well-cooked meat, fresh salad and crispy fries. I recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanFromE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NRC Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing