We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Parnassus

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Street view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Street view
Recently refurbished luxury bathroom with walk in rain shower
Recently refurbished luxury bathroom with walk in rain shower
Recently refurbished luxury bathroom with walk in rain shower
On a map
Enquire about a private trip through the canals with Paul as your captain
Enquire about a private trip through the canals with Paul as your captain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JeffSouth...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in great location”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment was very comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. We liked the quiet location with a tram stop only a minute from the apartment to the centre of Amsterdam.
There is an excellent food supermarket round the corner.
We also would recommend Café Sud, which was about a 10 minute walk away. A very small, friendly and family run restaurant with good food and a welcoming owner. Thanks Elise and Paul.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sumacnall...
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chic retreat”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Let's start with location - Perfect. Convenient to all public transport, close to VU, the RAI, skate park, Vondelpark, bike rental 2 doors down the street, groceries, bakeries, shoe repair shop, flower stand, and cafes around the corner or down the street, in a lovely residential neighborhood, just outside the city center...We loved watching people streaming to work (VU?) on bicycles in the morning on the street side and hearing/seeing a variety of birds (and at least one roof-walking cat!) from the courtyard side. Inside, tall ceilings and big windows everywhere, with curtains and shades, made inside and out, light and dark, so accessible. We felt expansive in this lovely space!
Parnassus has the charm of its 1930's(?) construction era with beautiful and functional updates and comforts. The pictures truly do not capture its spirit. Delightfully elegant, eclectic-yet-not-over-stuffed decor with efficient and well-appointed kitchen, fabulous bath, comfortable bedroom on the courtyard side (and sofabed in library, with folding doors)...and easy to use washer, dryer, dishwasher fulfilled all dreams of sophistication, ease, comfort and function. Returning to Parnassus after a day of exploring (or in my case, stimulating conference) brought smiles and relaxation.
Finally, the responsiveness and attentiveness of our host, Elise, made us feel so welcome and at home. Elise takes care to send clear instructions for arrival (including the more interesting as well as the no-fail route from the metro station!) and has an excellent collection of guides to the area - with extensive info authored/collected by Elise plus a wide variety of informational guides to Amsterdam.
In sum, you will be lucky if you can reserve this beautiful, functional, convenient apartment, with convivial yet unobtrusive host, for your stay in Amsterdam.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you Sue! Paul and I were blushing when we read your review, people must think we paid you to write such an elaborate and raving review ;-) Glad to hear you were so happy with your stay and thank you for taking the time to write all of your observations down, it is much appreciated and hopefully helpful for any other prospective guests.

Bets wishes,

Elise & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Amsterdam Apartment”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely apartment, very stylish and comfortable. Elise made everything very straightforward with good instructions and a warm welcome. She even went the extra mile to return a cuddly toy left behind!
It's a nice quiet part of the city with good quality nearby shops and restaurants, but easy access to the city, particularly the museums and Vondelpark. Highly recommend!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you Jonathan, appreciatie you taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetravela...
RAK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely comfortable apartment. Well laid out, nicely decorated, fully equipped with everything needed for your stay. Striking,modern bathroom.
Plenty of local transport and within walking distance of the centre, if you like to stroll.
Good choice of shops and variety of restaurants within minutes.
Information received was meticulously prepared and accurate, adding to our ease. Elise made sure we were settled well and were comfortable in her lovely home.
Would fully recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathroom, large comfortable bed.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Thank you Linda for your kind words, we would be happy to have you back one day. Best wishes, Elise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hl014m270...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a very comfortable stay at this apartment and enjoyed being away from the busier parts of Amsterdam. Food shopping was within easy reach, as were the local trams. We were given plenty of useful information, which made our visit easier and enabled us to pack more in to our time there! The apartment contained everything we needed - and more. Elise was very helpful and although we didn't meet up, she made us feel very welcome. We hope to stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annette56...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“exceptional apartment in an excellent location”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Clean,quiet, spacious and extremely comfortable apartment. Excellent location away from the busy city centre but very easy to access all the museums and galleries due to tram / bus stop near by. Excellent to self cater due to well equipped kitchen and excellent local shops which included a cheese shop/deli, wine shop , artisan french bakery and organic supermarket.
Would highly recommend this apartment and would use it again if we return Amsterdam .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space and comfort and balcony to relax on.
Liked least: nothing disappointed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattDocTr...
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property, very helpful hosts and great location”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family in the last week of September 2015. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The property had everything we needed, from the well equipped kitchen to the large bedroom with ample storage, the modern bathroom, large dining area, spacious lounge, and a lounge area / music room/ reading room which was used as a bedroom for our child . The only difficulty is carrying heavy suitcases up the flight of stairs to get to the apartment, however I suspect that will be the case throughout Amsterdam.

The location is great: there is a tram stop to the CBD within a short walk, the supermarket is a few minutes walking distance, and there are some very nice cafes and restaurants close by. I would love to stay at this property again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, amenities, spaciousness, location
Liked least: Carrying heavy suitcases up and down the stairs to access the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing