We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sit on the patio”

Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein
Reserve with
Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #432 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: International, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Players Food & Drinks is a bar-restaurant on the Leidseplein in Amsterdam city center and within walking distance of the City Theatre, De La Mar Theatre, Paradiso, City Cinema, Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum. Additionally Players known as trendy nightspot on weekends. The decoration consists of wood in high gloss black and plush armchairs and stools. The terrace has large sofas and patio heater for cooler evenings.
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sit on the patio”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The view from the patio is great if you like to people watch. The food was decent, but not the best in town. Good crowd came out to watch the World Cup (not sure how busy it gets during other sporting events).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Players-KGP, Eigenaar at Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Dear Monica P,

Thank you for review at tripadvisor and we would like to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best value evening meal, and best service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We had a starter to share, excellent mains and 3 large glasses of wine each, over a very relaxed couple of hours in their comfortable bar. Service was impeccable. The food was excellent. The bill was about €50. We had a great time in Amsterdam this weekend, but Players wins my "Best Dinner" award

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maur097, Eigenaar at Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear AnotherEnglishman,

Thank you for your excellent review and taking the time to post this. We are glad that your visit to Players was to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass on the compliments to my staff and we are looking forward to see you again at PLAYERS.

Kind regards,

Arnaud
PLAYERS Food & Drinks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best meal in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ate here with a couple of friends during our visit to Amsterdam one lunch time. Nice clean place and friendly staff. They serve a few wines by the glass and we only opted for mains as it was lunch.
All four plates were served together and the food was really good. The chicken satay was excllent and well recommended as was the quinoa salad. Four empty plates says it all and I would certainly visit again when next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmashedGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Players-KGP, Eigenaar at Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Dear TheSmashedGourmet,

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive and very positive review. I will pass on your compliments to my staff and we hope to welcome you in the near future.

All the best!

Kind regards,

Arnaud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great in the sun”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We went here for drinks one morning whilst deciding what to do for the rest of the day. Sat in the sun this is a wonderful place to people watch. We also went back the following evening, but struggled to find anywhere to sit as it's a really busy spot.

We didn't get to try the food, but it looked great!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My boyfriend and I came here for dinner. We both had fillet steak and it was one of the best steaks we've ever had! Delicious! Cocktails were very tasty too. Bill came to 80 euro, but it was worth it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19950914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Players Food & Drinks Leidseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing