We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another expensive hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #29 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another expensive hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

A shame that the Aitana hotel acts like a 5 star hotel and cannot offer the quality of a hotel with that category.
We asked for a room with views but rooms do not look like in the pictures. Small bathrooms, hardly without gels, shampoo and the basics, very expensive for what they offer. They don´t do the beds at night and in the morning they woke us up 3 times.
I must say the stuff is very kind and helped as with everything. But too expensive for such a normal hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,750
    878
    173
    43
    16
See reviews for
377
1,458
90
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

great hotel, location and service. Rooms are very clean. i recommend this hotel, management even ask you at breakfast about your comments; great service!
Didn't know room mate but for sure will be back next month!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed here for a business trip. Years ago I had a fulfilling experience with Room Mate Grace New York hotel. So I didn't hesitate to stay here. The price is fair with the service you get. It is very near to the city center. You can walk or its 8 euros by taxi to Dam Square. The staff first had some problems finding my reservation and I had to wait but then it was ok. The rooms are very clean and designed in a very minimalistic way. Very comfy beds. The staff was not so professional when comparing with other hotels but they are helpful. I guess the more they get proper trainings it will be much better. But they should strongly be invested on. No matter how cool the hotels and their designs are, the people we get service from is what makes the stays special. During my stay my biggest problem was I couldn’t reach the reception from my room, at all (in the rooms there was not even a sign showing the number of the reception or any emergency call). No one answered at any time. I finally went downstairs and spoke with the duty manager which if I’m not wrong his name was Alfonso (it was the evening of 15th of October). He was so helpful that he just made me stop thinking about any lack of service I was facing.So I would like to thank him for being so helpful. And as a result, this hotel is very new and I am sure in the near future this hotel will have much better service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goxytheglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. The concept and architectural touches are unbelievable. The room was very spacious. However, the hotel as well as the personnel needs more fine tuning/training. First and foremost, every single taxi driver we asked to take us to the hotel had no idea where it was. So make sure you travel with a map to be able to show taxi drivers the location of the hotel. I am not sure how but we were staying at one room but the computer was showing that we were staying in another. We found that out upon checking out. The plumbing was not working well, thus we had bursts of cold/hot water periodically while taking the shower. The front personnel was extremely nice, but not very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anoulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is opened two months now.There is a cool funky entrance manned by young enthusiastic staff.There were errors made in my bill whilst registering but it was quickly corrected when I produced my confirmations.The location is a 5minute walk from central station and v easy to find. We're happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during our trip to Amsterdam. The hotel was amazing! New, modern, clean and unique! The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel room was spotless, fantastic shower and amazing big comfy cosy bed! The only downside to this hotel is that its around a 15 minute walk to the centre of Amsterdam. A taxi from the hotel to the centre of amsterdam cost around 7 euro before midnight and was 15 euro after midnight. Also the drinks in the bar were abit pricey, but overall very very very pleased and would deffinatley visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

New hotel. Very nice. Big rooms. Very clean.
Make sure you print your booking since they will try to charge you for extra taxes already paid. At least 15 min. walk from Jordaan, Central station and 25 min. from Dam.
Would highly recommend for the price, but only if you like walking

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotelopia so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing