We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I loved the hotel!! Amazing room and view. Comfortable stay, super friendly staff and great location. Although the bar is a little weird with it hidden away we enjoyed sitting looking out across the water. Would definitely stay again!!!!!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ru_Simmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Ru_Simmons,

Perfect! What a fantastic way to start your review, thank you for those kind words. I am thrilled to read that you had such a good stay with us, enjoying the water view, relaxing bar and our friendly staff!

It was our pleasure having you stay with us, hopefully we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,790
    905
    177
    43
    16
See reviews for
387
1,490
92
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

we stayed here for 2 night last October, we really liked it, even that it was just opened i guess but the rooms are very modern and nice, the view is great, and it is still a walking distance to everything in the lovely city. the bar is super nice with a lovely bar tender, the foyer is hip and modern and the staff are very friendly.
They can do with more staff for sure, check in and check out time was quite long as there are 2 people doing all of that.
breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Wael2011,

thank you for your kind words when you wrote your review of our hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to read that you enjoyed the special design, large rooms and great views. Your comments on staffing at reception have been taken to heart, and already we have made big improvements there. Thank you for mentioning that!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have booked a room in Aitana when it wasn't open yet. I was a bit worried that I would find a construction site upon arrival... But no, there is an impressive modern building towering over new marina. As a boater I liked the place straightaway. The location is great, just few minutes walk from Central Station and Metro, bit farther away from Old Town but still in walking distance. The lobby is impressive yet warm. The staff is absolutely great! So friendly, enthusiastic and willing to help? No question not answered, no request not dealt with. And all these with smile and kindness. The rooms are big and very airy with windows from the floor to the ceiling. Sadly mine was facing a building not an Amsterdam panorama. But, I have been promised, that next time I will get a room with a view! Beds are comfortable, bathroom with very spacey shower cubicle. Coffee and tea facilities in the room is always a bonus for me. The mini bar was ok and moderately priced. The breakfast was really good and choice of food satisfactory. There is a lobby bar with huge chairs, very comfortable and modern. There is no restaurant though (yet). Not a problem as the staff can order a food for you from nearby restaurant. I will stay there again and I hope to see the same smiling faces which I value more then a view from my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zibby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Zibby K,

What a delight to read your review! We are so happy to know that your stay with us has been to your complete satisfaction. Your compliments regarding our smiling and helpful staff are especially appreciated, and I will be sure to place your review on a special place on our noticeboard for everyone to read!
You will be happy to know that restaurant I-Dock will be in full service in a matter of weeks, inlcuding a lovely terrace at the Marina!
Please feel free to contact us for a room overlooking both the Marina and Amsterdam. I am sure as a boater you will appreciate this view!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we would love to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I would like to thanks all the staff, very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice, with a big confortable bed and very clean. The hotel is about 10 minutes by the centraal station. The breakfast is also nice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Michael F.

thank you for your kind words in reviewing our hotel! It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many things during your stay with us. I hope you hade a wonderful time in Amsterdam, and hope we may welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

A friend and I were visiting Amsterdam and we had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Its a fairly new hotel opened 2013 but almost everything is in place. The only thing we were made aware off, was that the restaurant has not yet opened, but they do serve breakfast and it was to our liking. I was most impressed by the service at the hotel as they tried at all times to assist guest and they were always plenty of people to ask anything from. The hotel location is also great as it is near the central station. I would recommend this hotel for tourists but I also saw plenty business people at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ProudlyNA,

what a pleasure to read your review of our hotel! It gives us great satisfaction to read that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. You will be pleased to read that the restaurant and bar will be opened shortly, and we expect the marina to be functioning in the course of 2014!

Thank you for your stay with us, we would love to welcome you back at Room Mate!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I travel a lot to Amsterdam and often i experienced of bad service, In Room Mate the staff is very helpful was always ready to help with a smile. Rooms are very clean, design is different but very nice. Make sure you ask for a room with a view on the high floor

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Simon A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay with us. We are very happy to read that you had such a nice stay with us! At Room Mate we strive to offer only excellent service, and reading your experience I am happy to see that you experienced it this way!
It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I arranged a surprise trip to Amsterdam for my husband's birthday. Right from my initial booking to confirming the number of rooms we needed, through to our stay and check out, I could not have asked for a better customer service.
There were 9 of us in total and we all rate the hotel and staff as top class. Paloma and Micaela simply couldn't have done enough to made our stay any better. Thank you!
The location is great. It's a little bit away from all the hussle and bussle which is perfect and a very enjoyable stroll through the shopping area with great bars and restaurnats to Dam Square etc
I look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view from higher up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Julie C,

What a delight to read your enthusiastic review of our stay with us! At Room Mate we strive for our guests to enjoy excellent service, and I am happy to read that your experience was so positive. I will share your review with our entire team, especially Paloma and Micaela who I know will read it with pride.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We would love to welcome you back with us on your next visit to Amsterdam. To receive a direct discount on your next visit, please use the action code 'Aitanafan' on our website when making a reservation.

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Room Mate Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing