We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #30 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from 2 nights in Amsterdam and wanted to write a review before I forget because this hotel was lovely! Very new and modern, great decor and a cool feel to the whole place. Only thing I would say is there wasn't enough milk in the room for teas but that is being picky! It's a bit out of the main part of town but very close to Jordaan which was our favourite part of Amsterdam. And very easy to wander there for a meal in the evenings. Had a drink in the hotel bar which was expensive but a nice surrounding so not too bad. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,916
    974
    190
    45
    18
See reviews for
427
1,590
98
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Just had 3 nights at this gorgeous cool hotel. Some negative comments about location but we enjoyed short 10 min walk into tourist centre. Although the neighbourhood opposite is stunning and the views are very special. We where lucky to get canal/water view. The room spotless and massive comfy bed. All staff super friendly. Small niggle 17 euro for breakfast is far too expensive so didn't eat in hotel. This gave us opportunity to get into beautiful non tourist neighbourhood and eat in really nice cafe's. Loved this modern hotel and will return when in Amsterdam

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hague1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just got back from a two night stay at this hotel and wished we'd stayed longer! Great location, only about 10 minutes away from Amsterdam Centraal and the city centre is easily accessible via a pleasant walk along the Prinsengracht. The decor is trendy and cool in the communal areas (the bar and restaurant overlook a marina and make a great setting for sundowner or to sit and eat breakfast in the morning.) The room was immaculately clean and modern with a fantastic bathroom, flat screen TV and a very comfortable bed. The staff were incredibly professional and friendly and couldn't haven't been more helpful to make our stay one to remember. It was all reasonably priced too, although admittedly we had got a discount from booking through a third party website. It's going be a hard one to top if we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: When we checked in we were given the option to upgrade to a room with a view for an extra 15 Euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matchewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The hotel looks good outside and is cool inside too. The customer service was polite and helpful and the beds and pillows comfortable .The TV has loads of channels to choose from (helpful for entertaining my son as he could get sports channels etc to watch the football..) The breakfast is good,eat as much as you like buffet ...eggs, sausage, bacon, cereals, yogurts, waffles, toppings etc and although it seemed a little expensive initially but on examining the cost of breakfast elsewhere it is OK really and will definitely keep you going for ages!
The restaurant is a little pricey but more surprisingly the portions are tiny ! we were shocked at the size of the beef burger my son ordered! The location of the hotel is near the station .Walk through the station under the tracks to the other side and then a pleasant walk along the canal to the bridge that links the hotel's little island to the main land. but after a day of walking around, enjoying Amsterdam if you come home briefly and are too tired to set off out again for dinner , there is nothing else near by.so we ended up either staying out or trying the hotel restaurant.
TIP - when arriving at the airport don't be tempted to get a taxi which will cost you around 65 - 100 euros as the train was really easy and only cost 8 euros for 2!
.

Room Tip: our room was on the 5th floor but everyone said the veiws from the 11th floor were the best. The twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietb880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Julietb88,

thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We love getting feedback, as it helps us understand your wishes even better. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and enjoyed our cool design and friendly staff. Restaurant I-dock has only recently opened, and I will be sure to pass your comments on the them as well.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Loved our stay at Aitana!

It is a short walk from Central Station and then a short walk into the town and the Jordaan area (which we preferred). The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, especially a Spanish girl called Adriana (I think) who was lovely, she helped us out with rental of bikes and she advised us on great places to eat. I would recommend renting bikes from the hotel as they are reasonably priced, in great condition and make getting around Amsterdam much easier!

We stayed in a queen room which was totally spotless when we arrived, and there is everything you need- including an iron and board, hair-dyer, tv, mini-bar, complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee (which were replaced everyday if used). There is also the option of room service if wanted. Our room was cleaned everyday including with fresh linen and towels.

I've read in other reviews that the cleaning staff were bothersome in the morning, however there is the option of using a 'do not disturb sign'- which we did. And we were never woken up. So I don't see this as being a problem at all.

My only criticism is the idock restaurant which is on the ground floor of the hotel, the dinner menu is completely overpriced for tiny portioned, mediocre food. So would advise to stay away.

Other than that, we honestly couldn't fault it- wonderful hotel, great location with friendly, helpful staff. We will hopefully be returning!
Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gvaughan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Gvaughan90,

A five star review and a title that says 'loved this place'! We are proud to receive such compliments and to read you had such a great time in our hotel! Your compliments regarding our staff, and Adriana in particular make me a proud manager, I will be sure to share them with the team!

Thank you for staying with us, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Room Mate Aitana!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Enjoyed a four day stay at this hotel. It turned out to be of a very high standard overall.Very new, modern and stylish throughout.
The bedrooms are large with high quality bathrooms. The beds are extremely comfortable with great pillows! Good flat screen wall mounted t.v.'s with good choice of channels including B.B.C. One,Two,Three and Four. Tea and coffee makers, iron and hair dryers provided. Read some reviews mentioning air conditioning problems,however the temperature and the controls worked perfectly in my room.
Breakfast is very good if a tad pricey! Staff are very good and professional. The hotel restaurant was just opening on the day we left so didn't have the opportunity to have dinner there.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of Central Station but a wee bit away from the main tourist area, so be prepared to walk a bit to get to most places. The benefit is that the hotel has quiet surroundings away from all the city traffic. If you suffer from vertigo please note the hotel bedroom windows are ceiling to floor so looking out you will have a steep view downwards. You can always close the curtains! I would definitely go back here if in Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunveganArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Dunveganargyll,

Thank you for giving us a 5-star review! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return, that is the biggest compliment we can receive. It is great to know that you enjoyed the comfortable bed and our breakfast as they are some of the Room Mate Pillars. Even greater to see you found or staff to be very good and professional. I will share your compliments with our team!

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope we may welcome you back to Room Mate Aitana!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Great location which is easy to locate from centraal station, a 10 minute walk. The rooms were amazing! Huge beds and the modern decor was lovely. Brilliant shower too! I agree with some other views, would be good to have some harder, thinner pillows and the option to completely turn off air con should be there. We always get a sore throat and feel a bit groggy in mornings when air is circulated between all the rooms. All in all though, the rooms get 5 stars.

I feel I do have high standards, and the service could be a lot better and would make a lot more customers want to return again and again. Firstly, our welcome at reception was ok but nothing great. The usual 'hello' conversation but it didn't really feel that genuine or friendly. I like it when people make a conversation, ask how the journey was and a more exciting welcome to start the holiday. We did ask about viewing a suite on the top floor for our last night as an upgrade, and a lady took us up to view it. She was amazing! So bright and cheery and held a decent conversation. She may have been Spanish as I think she spoke to the cleaners in Spanish, again very nicely. I wish I got her name. She showed us the suite and we were sold. When booking the upgrade at reception, we had mentioned it was for our anniversary but no conversation was made, just a very awkward wait in silence while they wrote notes on post it's and typed on the computer.
When going to the room on the upgraded room on the second to last day, we went to reception to ask what to do with our bags while we went out and what to do with keys. This led to some confusion, which you expect they would tell you rather than asking. The lady said eventually when she understood that we can leave our bags in our room and they will move them for us to the suite when we come back later on as it wasn't ready yet. Great!

When we returned, I wanted to check this had been done before getting to the 12th floor and them not being there, but of course I expected they would be. The new reception staff clearly had no idea. We had to go with a young girl to our old room to see, and guess what, they were still there so these had to be taken upstairs by us. Shame. She did help us with this but no apology.
When we got to the room, I thought it would have been nice to have a nice touch such as a drinks voucher or a personal message as we had mentioned this was a special treat for our anniversary, but there was nothing extra.
It had a nespresso machine which I was excited about but had no instructions, no spoons and only 2 decaf pods left. Not what you expect for a 4 star suite. His was filled up later on though, but not a perfect first impression. We had to look online how to use it!

The views however were amazing, as was the rest of the suite. Amazing bathroom with his and hers sinks, nice toiletries and huge bath as separate shower.

This could easily be so much more with the right customer focused people in place.
These things don't seem like much, but it's the little things you expect that make all the difference in a very competitive market.
Because of the rooms and location, I would return again for the right price, I just wouldn't be expecting much in terms of service, unless the young brunette lady was still working there!




Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fieldyandfordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Fieldyandfordy,

what a pleasure to read your extensive review of your stay with us. I very much appreciate you taking the time to point out some possible improvements, which I can assure you we will take to heart and try to learn from. The quality of our rooms is indeed very good, and of course you should expect even better service on par with your and our high standards.

I am happy to read that you had an overall enjoyable experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for an even better experience!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
846 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,580 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#47 of 368 in Amsterdam
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing