We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent Hotel at Holland”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #30 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent Hotel at Holland”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Excellent food, drinks, rooms and location. It is located 10/15min. to Center by walking. The view from the rooms are beautiful. Hotel is new (only 6 month) and cost vs benefit is excellent. The room is perfect and quality excellent.
Hotel has a very good breakfast and food for lunch and diner are also good.
If you like privacy choose apartments for city side and not for channel side (there is a building in front of)

Room Tip: Choose apartments from city side or channel side high floor (12th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicasdomaridao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear dicasdomaridao,

thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel with the rest of the world. I am very happy to read you found your stay to be excellent and worthy of 5 stars! Your favourable comments regarding restaurant I-Dock are highly appreciated, even more so knowing the restaurant only opened a few weeks ago!

Thank you for staying with us, and know that we would love to welcome you back next time you are in Amsterdam!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,831
    927
    183
    43
    18
See reviews for
396
1,528
94
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Top class hotel for the price we paid, didn't want for anything better. A nice 10 minute walk to central station and another 10 minutes to the rest of things, would defiantly stay there again, only minus point was the air con in the room gave us both dry throats (or was that the CAKE?)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Rob1373,

I have just read your review and am thrilled to read you find us to be an excellent hotel! Knowing you will be back to stay with us next time is the biggest compliment we can get.

Thank you for staying with us, and until next time in Room Mate Aitana!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just got back from a weekend in Amsterdam staying at Room Mate Atiana.
Hotel was fantastic, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Ate in the restaurant one night and the food was of a very high standard and good atmosphere.
Will definitely use this hotel and hotel chain again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmutch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Paulmutch86,

Thank you for rating your stay in our hotel with the maximum 5 stars! It is wonderful knowing you had such a great weekend with us, even more so to know you will return to us or other Room Mate hotels!

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you back!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

A quiet, clean, modern hotel 10 mins walk from the central station. It's not quite in the middle of things, but not too far out of the centre. Rooms were spacious, very clean and quiet, and not too expensive at £100 a night with amazing cross-city views! The restaurant does a really nice dinner, but both dinner and breakfast are kinda overpriced. But, you have all of Amsterdam on your doorstep, so get out there!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ollyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Aitana Hotel over the weekend just gone and had a lovely, lovely time. After I emailed them a week before our visit, they arranged for an upgrade to my friends room whose birthday it was, and they also arranged for a bottle of bubbly to be in the room when she arrived(at a charge). Staff were pleasant and helpful (although it did take quite a while to check in!) and the decor was swish and modern.

Only criticism was that we ate in the restaurant on one of the nights and the food seemed below average compared to the rest of the hotel. The food wasn't especially tasty or warm and the service wasn't amazing either - our drinks order was forgotten and parts of our order were late. The meal wasn't the highlight of our trip but didn't spoil it either.

The location was great overall, lovely views and a quiet setting with the hotel being right on the water; however, it took a good 10-15mins to get to the train station and then another 15min walk to the main square. It doesn't sound like a great deal after days of doing the same route, your feet certainly begin to feel it. We enjoyed the walk nonetheless, was really nice to get out and see different parts of the city and landmarks. If you do stay here, we took advantage of a 24 hour tram pass which is super for getting around everywhere and the stops are right outside the station, so you may want to do the same. The tram as relatively cheap too, 7 Euros for an unlimited 24 hour pass!

Fabulous value for what we paid, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Just noticed in another review that the hotel's computer system was down at the end of February. That might have been why checking in took such a long time--everything had to be entered by hand. So perhaps, this was a one time situation, but there were quite a lot of people waiting for desk service and only two staff were there to help. I saw the decor as sterile rather than stylish--my husband remarked that our accommodations reminded him of a hospital room. However, the room was spotless and the bed and pillows were fantastically comfortable. There were no kleenex to be had in the entire hotel--no place for a box in the room and none in the public restrooms. But they did have washcloths, an item in short supply in many European hotels. We had a room on the 12th floor so the view of the city was great. Only the junior suites have canal views I was told. The hotel needs to provide directions for guests who are walking from Central Station. We stumbled our way over there with very inadequate googlemap info (I didn't have a working smartphone) and it wasn't until we left the hotel going back to the station that we discovered a more direct and safer way to get there. The night we wanted to have a drink in the "lounge," we found that we really had to go to the bar to be served, a characterless and less comfortable place to sit. I don't know how long the hotel has been open. Maybe it's still working out the kinks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flatlander39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My son booked this hotel for my birthday treat, and this hotel didn't disappoint , beautiful big beds, large rooms, very comfy, the staff very friendly and helpful, I will look out for Room Mate Hotels in future. I didn't eat in the hotel so I can not expand to food quality, but next time I'll indulge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shevix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing