We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel!”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #34 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed here in March for my 18th birthday and what a treat this hotel was!

It's close to pretty much everything you'd want ito see whilst staying in Amsterdam.

Getting there was so easy, we got the train from Schipol Airport to Central Station for €4.50pp.
Don't do what we did and waste€5 in a taxi because the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station (just walk left)!

It is such a stunning building - right on the water. The rooms are beautiful and feel so luxurious!

-I'd definitely advise anyone who hasn't been to Amsterdam before to stay for 3 nights at least as we stayed for 2 & would have liked to see more of this great city.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Molllll,

what a pleasure reading your review of your stay in Aitana! To be called a 'fabulous hotel' makes us all proud! Thank you for sharing your experience and hopefully we can welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels?

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,678 - 1,684 of 3,407 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in a corner room on the highest floor and it had the nicest views of amsterdam you could wish for. the staff were absolutely superb. The hotel is 10 mins walk from amsterdam station but once you have stayed here you will not want to stay in the city centre - we definately recommend to stay in this calm oasis of a hotel after a day in the busy centre of amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room for the best views. corner rooms have views of the city and of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

i am not a review freak but this hotel exceeded my expectations from the moment i checked in until i left. Hotel staff is great and rooms very cleaned. We had just a small problem with the restaurant but Massimo, on site director was very helpful and professional, he helped us and solved it turning our stay in a truly great experience.
for me it is a 10+

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel with big, modern and clean rooms not that expensive compared to small hotels located right in the center of Amsterdam I totally recommend it; we just had an issue during the check-in: they didn't find one of the reservations that was already paid! fortunately I printed it at home so the receptionist took it and disappeard for about 10 minutes, when she finally returned said that they "had found it", but I think they just had available rooms so they gave us one. The people that were with another receptionist next to us had the same issue, so it maybe a systematic problem they need to pay attention to. Recommendation: take a printed copy of your reservation with you.
The breakfast has a lot of variety but is on the pricy side for an average tourist.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Some kind of administrative fudge-up was made when we booked, so staff upgraded us to a suite for the weekend (which was fantastic as it was our wedding anniversary.) We never got to see the standard rooms, so I can't comment, but the suite itself was fantastic - far too roomy for just two people. although I'm not complaining!

Lovely view of the canals (I suspect most of the rooms had this view) the room itself was very clean, bed very comfortable - the wi-fi cut out depending on where you were in the room but I suspect this probably wouldn't affect most of the normal rooms.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable - all spoke excellent English. The hotel itself is in a perfect area, in my opinion - easy walking distance to the station and the centre, but just out of the way enough to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkehsocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous new hotel. . Huge comfy bed. . Lovely bathroom and the room in general was very nice. Friendly staff and very reasonable for what we paid. Only slight grumble is it is a bit further away from the Centraal station than stated.. it is probably 'as the crow flies' rather than taking into account you have to walk right around the peir to get there. That is the ONLY very small negative. I would stay again and have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jemma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 376 in Amsterdam
946 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £118 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing