We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in Amsterdam”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #34 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Perfect new and modern suitable for any occassion: weekend, leasure trip or a conference with the group. Fantastic and VERY helpful staff. Big and very fresh rooms with fantastic view.
Grerat location, with 10 min of walking to the center city. Will absolutely return there.

Sofia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Sofia000000,

thank you for describing us as a 'Perfect Hotel'. I am very happy to read that you found our staff to be as helpful as you did, and I will be sure to pass your remarks on to my team!
it would be our pleasure to see you again in Aitana or in any of our Room Mate Hotels!

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,677 - 1,683 of 3,409 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very clean and beds okay. No soap dish on sink (messy with no where to put soap) nor towel bar or ring for a hand towel in bathroom. Night stand not within reach... no comfortable chairs in room... really needed something comfy for older guests in rooms and in lounges. Food in dining room was excellent - small servings at fair prices. With one exception, the staff at this hotel were all very helpful. There was one rather rude and arrogant young woman who appeared to be the boss of the waiters in the dining room. Hopefully, someone will bring this to management's attention as it was a real turn off for pleasant dining.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWithBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear TravelwithBarb,

thank you for sharing your thought on your stay in our hotel! We love to get feedback from our guests, especially if it is well thought out and presented such as you have. The 4 star review you gave us indicates that you thought your stay was good but not perfect, which is also reflected in some of the improvement points you raise! I would like to thank you for these points and would also like to inform you that we are already taking steps in improving, most notably by adding extra towel bars and hooks in our bathrooms.
Your remark about the service in restaurant I-dock will be passed on to it's management, which is separately managed from Room Mate Aitana.

Thank you again for being our guest and for the feedback provided. I hope we may welcome you back on your next visit to Amsterdam?

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Me & my boyfriend stayed here in March for my 18th birthday and what a treat this hotel was!

It's close to pretty much everything you'd want ito see whilst staying in Amsterdam.

Getting there was so easy, we got the train from Schipol Airport to Central Station for €4.50pp.
Don't do what we did and waste€5 in a taxi because the hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the train station (just walk left)!

It is such a stunning building - right on the water. The rooms are beautiful and feel so luxurious!

-I'd definitely advise anyone who hasn't been to Amsterdam before to stay for 3 nights at least as we stayed for 2 & would have liked to see more of this great city.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Molllll,

what a pleasure reading your review of your stay in Aitana! To be called a 'fabulous hotel' makes us all proud! Thank you for sharing your experience and hopefully we can welcome you back at Room Mate Hotels?

kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed in a corner room on the highest floor and it had the nicest views of amsterdam you could wish for. the staff were absolutely superb. The hotel is 10 mins walk from amsterdam station but once you have stayed here you will not want to stay in the city centre - we definately recommend to stay in this calm oasis of a hotel after a day in the busy centre of amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a higher room for the best views. corner rooms have views of the city and of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

i am not a review freak but this hotel exceeded my expectations from the moment i checked in until i left. Hotel staff is great and rooms very cleaned. We had just a small problem with the restaurant but Massimo, on site director was very helpful and professional, he helped us and solved it turning our stay in a truly great experience.
for me it is a 10+

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel with big, modern and clean rooms not that expensive compared to small hotels located right in the center of Amsterdam I totally recommend it; we just had an issue during the check-in: they didn't find one of the reservations that was already paid! fortunately I printed it at home so the receptionist took it and disappeard for about 10 minutes, when she finally returned said that they "had found it", but I think they just had available rooms so they gave us one. The people that were with another receptionist next to us had the same issue, so it maybe a systematic problem they need to pay attention to. Recommendation: take a printed copy of your reservation with you.
The breakfast has a lot of variety but is on the pricy side for an average tourist.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebeca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on a number of occasions for business and it is a unique and rewarding place to stay, if a little out of the way.
The price for rooms varies enormously from week to week. One week a standard room will cost 189 euros per night, the next over 300 for no discernible reason so choose your dates carefully if you can.
The desk staff are attentive and approachable but lack imagination on occasion. The chain lacks a loyalty scheme and seems to offer little for regular guests.
The gym is excellent and the views extraordinary... though you'll have to pay extra for it.
Breakfast is sufficient but nothing extra since they put the price up. The fruit goes fast.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
584 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#41 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De Hallen
#32 of 376 in Amsterdam
948 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £117 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing