We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, local to station, clean, modern, no local shops”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a stones throw from the rear exit of central station and central Amsterdam (approx. 5 min walk). The rooms are exceptionally clean and modern, the staff friendly enough however we did have a lengthy wait in order to check out due to the number of people checking in - no fast tracking for checking out. Also be aware, there are no local shops nearby so buy your supplies before arriving back to your hotel room. The hotel does have a restaurant which we never sampled however the menu was Spanish and priced as you would expect for a 4 star hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear BarbH,

Thank you for taking the time to describe your time in Room Mate Aitana! We love to get feedback. A such it gives me great pleasure to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Saying you would stay with us again is the best compliment we can get.
I appreciate your comments on the time it took you to check out; it will please you to know that we are currently investigating options to provide some form of fast track check-out!

It was our sincere pleasure to have you as our guest, and hopefully we may welcome you back to Room Mate Hotels in the future!

Kindest regards,

Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
Room Mate Aitana
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,598 - 1,604 of 3,303 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Good location for business, nice interior concep and next to the water.

But there is a saying that the error is in the detail - in this hotel it's the errors:

- In the restaurant area there is no soap for three hours in the bathroom, even telling them the issue two times they said the soap part needs to be fixed instead putting a normal soap there for some hours what is a bit akward in the sense of nobody (even the stuff) can use soap for washing their hands.
- At the gym they have a water machine, but most of the time it was empty
- At the breakfast there are no forks or coffee cups any longer, we needed to tell it twice that we need that.
- Food is brought 2 minutes before they bring you the forks or napkins (that they even forgot totally)
- We ordered a cab at the reception and insisted with credit card but the cab came and of course there was no credit card payment possible
- Line of the reception telephone was most of the time busy.
- Laundry needs to be brought down instead of someone picking it up

Telling the hotel all these minor issues we just heard back from a waitress: there is no manager behind. And that's how the hotel feels.

Rooms are nice and clean, but if you need a bit of a service this hotel might not be the right one.

If you just need a lovely place to sleep, go ahead and try it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m_principe, General Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,
we am sorrry to read about your experience at Room Mate Aitana. Your comments are very valuable to us, meanwhile action has been taken to improve the details which are extremely important to us.
Your comments about the restaurant have been sent to the I-Dock managent for review and improvement as it is a fully independent company running the operation.
We hope we to welcome you again at the hotel during your next visit in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Massimo Del Principe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights room only. It is a modern hotel about 12 /15 minutes walk from the train station / town center. The large room I stayed in was on the fourth floor facing out over the marina. The room comprised of two queen sized beds, desk, chair, storage area with iron and ironing board , reasonably priced miny bar, complimentary tea / coffee , flat screen tv with bbc 1,2 and other english speaking channels. There were large widows facing out over the marina, one of the windows could be opened for fresh air if you preferred not to use the temperature controlled air conditioning. The bathroom too was large with a walk in rainfall shower with spray attachment. The hotel also provided the usuall toiletries. The staff were pleasent and dressed smart but casual. I did not eat in the hotel but enjoyed a few drinks on the picnic benches in the marina. Drink price was no more than was charged in the center of amsterdam.
If venturing to amsterdam again I would stay here but the walk into town might bother some people as there is no nearby public transport. Due to being right in the marina this hotel might not be suitable for young kids. To find hotel, leave train station via the rear door (as if going for the ferry). Turn left and follow the waters edge until you see the hotel. You can cross the 'Wavey' bridge as you approach the hotel to save walking all the way round the marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the marina. Note there is a hefty supliment for the corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a fantastic new hotel and very easily accessible, if you follow the right directions. The hotel, and man made island it is on are both relatively new. Therefore barely anybody that we asked had any idea where it was, which left us spending two hours walking round very lost! However, if you exit the train station via the back, i.e. you are facing away from the city and face water. You simply turn left and walk for about 5 minutes and it's right I front of you. A ten minute walk from the city centre, tops. The staff on reception are extremely friendly, have excellent English and provide you with a free map, circling places of interest. As a warning as you may be unaware, they take a deposit between £60-80 if I remember correctly on a credit card, but you do get this back when you check out and it doesn't actually appear on your statement. The rooms are all very fresh and modern, with the best beds I have ever slept in! Overall a fabulous quiet hotel and would not hesitate about staying again if in Amsterdam. Also one last tip, if they offer you the upgrade I wouldn't bother, room is exactly the same with just an added bath! The view is not worth the extra pennies!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexL91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in Feb 2014. Overall, I was very impressed with my experience. The hotel lobby and bar areas are very hip and modern, with great views of the marina.

Our room was huge and contained floor to ceiling windows. The bathroom was spacious, with a delightful rain shower and plentiful toiletries.

We paid for breakfast on two of the mornings and, although it was quite expensive, it was delicious and there was a wide variety of food and drinks.

The only minor negative about the hotel is the location. A ten minute walk to the main railway station; however, when we left the hotel to go sightseeing each morning, we left for the day. It is too far to walk back and forth between the hotel and the tourist attractions.

Overall, a wonderful, modern hotel. Great for a couple of days to relax and unwind. If you don't mind walking or getting a taxi to and from this hotel, then it is perfect.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I would start by saying I'm staying in Amsterdam for business at least twice a year during last 20 years, so very well acquainted with hotels selection, guest experience, locations, rates etc....
Have stayed at the Aitana 4 nights late March for business trip - the hotel itself & room facilities are no less than perfect - beautifull modern design of public areas & room interior, great breakfast served with unique dock view, nice evening bar, friendly stuff with high service awareness, and great view from the top floors (8~9 and up) overlooking the city & dock area - certainly different & outstanding experience to the common Amsterdam hotel accomodations with lovely atmosphere, well done !! .... however, I have rated the hotel 'very good' rather than 'excellent' as there are some issues which seem to me important - a. location : the hotel is located on the IJdock, aprox. 10 minutes walking from Amsterdsam CS station, not that 10 minutes are real 'issue', but the only way to get there (rather than by foot) is by a cub - with luggage, on rainy weather and for elder people it might not be pleasant experience, especially as the way is kind of dark & deserted... when you plan to stay for few days that 'access' time & distance has to be considered (as well with cub costs if choosen), it would be nice of the hotel to consider free shuttle service at least at nights.... b. added costs : booking is usually done without breakfast which is offered as option - as mentioned, breakfast is indeed good & fresh, however nothing justifies a price of 17.50 Euro/pp which is outrageous even on Amsterdam standards.... c. hotel chain service : as guest with other 'Room mate' hotels before, I have received a special 'discount vaucher' and tryied promptly to place reservation via their internet site - the prices were indeed reduced, but it could not be done as I needed few rooms for different dates, so called their reservation center (the day after that vaucher was received !) to find out how should it be done - I was directed to the Aitana hotel reservation (the same day) and called the hotel which suggested to place the order directly, and promised to come back to me the next day with confirmation.... after 3 days of silence I called them again and was told it 'would be taken care tommorrow morning'.... additional weekend passed with no news, so I had to call them again !!! and was suddenly told 'the special prices are no long relevant' !! which wad disgrace as I was willing to confirm the order from the first apply and the entire delay was result of shameful customer rservice.... bottom line, it was settled by their reservation manager and rooms were upgraded with thanks, however such procedure is certainly not appropriate for high level hotel chain, especially with returning guests, not to mention the superb hotel experience which is affected !

Room Tip: 1. rooms on top floors have a nice view 2. rooms are very well equipped with all needed facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zevik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. As for the hotel, its very clean, helpful and courteus staff, very comfortable room.We took the Queen room, 35 sqm: very nice and, so the decor of the room. The bathroom was very clean, with a large shower. In the room we had tea&cofee.
We booked B&B, breakfast was very good.
The gym is open 24 hours.
Opposit to the hotel there is a Bagels diner, were you can have light meals and cofee.
As for location: About 10 min walk from/to central station.
Near by there is a bus stop, line 48, 2 stops from/to central station.
At central station, the bus stop location is: while standing in front of the station, your back to the station building look app. to 2 o'clock for the blue sign of platform F, this is the location of the bus-stop.
We never waited more then 5 min to the bus.
As for bus fee: a single ride - app. 2.7 eur; 24 hours card - 7.5 eur; 72 hours card - 21 eur.
The public transportation in the city is very good. But walking in the streets and along the canals - even better.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 3nd floor. water side, it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing