We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my dad over a man weekend in Amsterdam. The Hotel is well located, just 10 minutes walking distance from the Central Station and 10/15 minutes walking distance from the city center.

It is well designed, with a modern decoration. All the employees were really nice and helpful.
The room was great, with plenty of space and clean. The rooms are also very well isolated, you don't here any noise.

What i didn't like was the breakfast, only took it the 1st day, bad value for money (18.50€), it was tasteless and lacking a good service, therefore I would recommend to take it somewhere else and save some money. (There's a Bagels and Beans restaurant opposite which is a great and cheaper alternative for breakfast or there are great spots in the Jordan area to take breakfast, and it is only 5 minutes away by bike)

The Hotel has also a bike rental service which is a little bit cheaper as some local renting bike stores, although as they have a small quantity of bikes, I would suggest to reserve the bikes at least one day before. As we didn't we had to walk to the city center to rent bikes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWiederkehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,789
    905
    177
    43
    16
See reviews for
387
1,490
92
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brugge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is impressive, very nice designed. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is located very close to the city center. The rooms are very well isolated, you don't here any noise. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraGes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a weekend break. Hotel is very nice. It's located through the back entrance of Centraal Station about a 10 minute walk to the left. It's out of the way of the busy hustle of Dam square so nice and very quiet, but not too far so you can walk there very easily if you want to go. The decor is very modern and the hotel is extremely clean. If you arrive in Amsterdam before check-in it's better to go straight to the hotel and make your arrival known so they can put you at the front of the 'queue' for available rooms as it seems that when the hotel is very busy there is a chance that your room is not ready at check-in time. When we arrived we were told that there would be a wait for our room up to an hour after the 2pm check in. The service desk representative was very good however and after frantically looking through his options managed to have a room for us within 10 minutes. He also assured us that rooms not being ready is very very rare and should not be an issue were we to stay again. The room was a good size, beds were very comfortable, and the shower gave you the option of hand-held or overhead. Our room was cleaned with sheets changed and towels replaced. The only real issue at this hotel for us was when we came to check out. We had a very early flight and so had to check out at 4am but when we got to the reception only the bell boy was present and couldn't check us out. The one person who could had gone AWOL and was nowhere to be found. After almost 15 minutes of waiting for the bell boy to search the entire floor we regrettably had to leave without checking out. Luckily we had paid for the hotel up front and hadn't used anything that would have incurred additional charges but I do wonder what would have happened had this not been the case. The train going to the airport in the early hours runs only once every hour and the back entrance to the station is closed so you have to walk around which takes a little longer. With these factors, waiting around for a missing hotel employee is not helpful. The bell boy was very apologetic and we left our details with him in case they needed to contact us afterwards.My suggestion is that maybe the hotel has more than just one person who knows how to check people out, especially considering that people will have flights to catch. I feel that this was a one-off however and despite this episode would still book this hotel again if I was to return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaw K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the weekend and loved it. My booking through booking.com hadn't gone through, unbeknown to us and the guy at the desk was very helpful. Thankfully a room was available so we stayed as planned.

The rooms are very clean, the bed extremely comfortable and soundproofing superb - I didn't hear anything from corridor or neighbouring rooms.

We didn't eat there, ?18.50 pp for breakfast is expensive and the dinner menu didn't inspire us. There's a Bagels and Beans restaurant opposite which is a great and cheaper alternative for breakfast.

The walk to and from the city centre didn't bother us but anyone with limited capacity for walking would probably value being in the centre.

I'd stay here again and recommend to others.

Helpful?
1 Thank bahhumbugessexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Room Mate around the start of June for three nights and could not fault the stay at all. A very modern and stylish hotel with stunning views over the water. We were given a 20% off voucher at check in which you can use at the upstairs bar along with complimentary tapas with your first drink. The bar downstairs is sleek and has an extensive cocktail menu as well as a DJ on the Friday night which was a nice surprise.
Only a ten minute walk to central station so conveniently located to the city. Our room had a lovely view and was very spacious and clean. Didn't have breakfast here but there is a lovely little bagel cafe just across from the hotel which was very reasonably priced and boasts stunning views over the water also.
Would stay here if ever in Amsterdam again :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms across the water have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is quite new and on the water. We enjoyed the location very much as it is quite close to downtown Amsterdam, but very quiet. Just a short walk away to the main train station. Modern and clean rooms and they were quite large. Service was great, staff were friendly. Free internet, but it was a very slow connection.

Room Tip: Although the hotel is on the canal, very few rooms have a view of the canal. Higher floors might ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had 2 wonderful days. The hotel is beautifully situated. It is very near the centre of Amsterdam, although you can enjoy more peace given its location at the Ijdok, overlooking the water. Design of the hotel and rooms is awesome. Rooms are light, very clean and offer beautiful views. All employees we encountered during our stay were very polite and service-minded.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
783 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Room Mate Hotels, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing