We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views of Amsterdam”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #30 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous views of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here one night after having endured a twenty four hour flight from Sydney and could not have chosen better. Having met up with my daughter I wanted a special place to start our travels and this definitely fit the bill. Our room was fabulous, a corner suite with floor to ceiling glass and fabulous views over Amsterdam with a lovely balcony which although small was great to step out to. A short walk to the station and the heart of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    938
    187
    44
    18
See reviews for
400
1,552
96
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mansoura - Egypt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel in design, location, views, and stuff. Me and all my friends felt lucky for choosing this hotel with price rate from galahotels.com. Very close to central station either walking for 10minutes or taking 48bus just in front of hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

New hotel in a new area just 10 minutes walk from central station and 5 minutes from Joordan.
Staff excellent (in fact more than excellent) Rooms quite big, clean, quiet, and with free wifi. He had dinner one night and it was very good. We ordered the 4 course menu, and we couldn't finish it. We also had breakfast, and it was ok.
SMALL THINGS THAT HOTEL CAN IMPROVE:
Breakfast: we stayed 5 nights, (5 breakfast) and every day you offer the same. Just an example: Your country is a "land of cheese" and you only offer the 3 same types of cheeses every day. It costs nothing change this. If possible, separate the 2 coffee makers, because sometimes there is a little "jam" to get a coffee.
Dinner: show cooking is very interesting, but if you sit in front of the kitchen and the extractor is not high enough and all the fish smell comes over you, the is disgusting.
Wifi: sometimes it runs very slowly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiopepedecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything was perfect. Spacious room, well decorated, nice staff, very good breakfast and delicious dinner for reasonable price. The only thing I didn't lukę was the rate for the room that was rather high

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for just one night but I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was very clean, spacious en well decorated and the view over the city was beautiful. The large bed might have been the most comfortable I ever slept in in a hotel. The bathroom was also quite spacious and clean. There was no bath but the shower was amazing!
The staff overall was very friendly and attentive. The hotel itself has a very modern, but warm interior. The bar on the mezzanine is very cozy and because of its location you got a nice view on both the hotel's lobby and the marina outside.
The extensive breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and made me regret not having dinner in the hotel the night before.
This hotel definitely earned its four stars and I'd happily come back anytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is relatively new. The rooms are spotless. The room space can vary dramatically depending upon what is booked. Our suite included one full bath which included a shower, then a large open area which included a tub and two additional sinks, then a larger open area which had a spacious sitting area and a king bed. The room was huge and quiet. Our kids were in a different part of the hotel in more standard type rooms - but with nice water views. Check-in and check-out were fine. This feels a lot like a business, impersonal hotel; but overall it was fine. The location is close to the train station and the western canals - but not really close. This is fine for the first few walking forays, but after that it became clear that I had to walk 20 minutes past the same sights to get anywhere else. I stayed in Amsterdam longer than the rest of my family and considered continuing the stay at this hotel. However, a bad experience in the restaurant and the cold, rainy weather prompted me to try a more convenient location for the rest of my stay..

Room Tip: High floor, suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in a junior suite at Room Mate Aitana. It was a 10 minute walk from Central Station. We got a corner suite on the 6th floor and wow the views over the water were very lovely. The room had very modern furniture almost modular but lovely bright colours. There was a kraft coffee machine with capsules (similar to Nespresso) capsules were replenished every day. The bedroom was big with a large tv on the wall, the view from the bedroom were also out to the water. Above the bed was a modular headboard which curved to the roof. The bathroom was huge and all white. On the bench were soaps, toothbrushes, shaving kit, hand cream, shampoo etc packaged up so nicely and also replenished every day. The staff at the front desk were great but the lady who helped with bookings could have been a bit more friendly in the end I just asked at the reception. We hired bikes from reception and that worked out well and 5 mins away opposite Central Stn we boarded a boat and went over the other side which was free. We would recommend this Hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best with lots of sun and water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissmaid51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 368 in Amsterdam
819 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Property: Room Mate Aitana
Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing