We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel”
Review of Room Mate Aitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Aitana
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Excellent rooms, large room with a lot of light. Very quiet atmosphere and invisible, but very useful staff.

Stayed there for 4 night in July 2014.

Location is little bit far from the Centrum area, but it is ok if you don't mind to take a 10 minutes walk daily!

Room Tip: If you have a queen room, try to get 721 ;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tsouhinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 3,303 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

A large, modern hotel, with large rooms that have good closet space. Our room was very quiet, but I would avoid being too close to the lobby bar which was fairly loud. The couple of blocks surrounding the hotel is sort of an industrial harbor area, so not particularly attractive. The hotel is actually on a man-made island in the harbor. There is a Beans & Bagels across the driveway from the hotel, which is a good place to get breakfast. We found the location to be pretty good. It is a 10 minute walk to Amsterdam Central Station - which is the main transportation hub for trains, ferries, trams, metro, and buses (we used our OV-Chipkaarten transportation passes often). It is also a 10 minute walk to the north end of Jordaan. Getting to any other part of Amsterdam will be a longer walk. It is fairly easy and cheap to get to the hotel from the airport, if you know a few things ahead of time: the airport-train station is in a shopping center attached to the airport; the fare to Amsterdam Central Station is about 4 euros; the people at the ticket window are very helpful; the train leaves every 10 or 15 minutes and takes about 15 minutes; when you get off the train, walk towards the ferries (away from main entrance) and cross the busy street; when you reach the ferries, turn left and follow the harbor's edge for 10 minutes (keep the water on your right); the sidewalk will become too narrow (less than a foot wide) for rolling suitcases, so you will have to walk in the bike lane (there will be A LOT of bicycles); you will cross a drawbridge over a canal and then take the pedestrian bridge on your right (which looks like it goes to an office building); continue past the office building and turn left: the hotel entrance will be on your left (and Beans & Bagels on your right).

Room Tip: Room 1001 is a huge Junior Suite on the corner with views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great, modern hotel less than 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Station. Decent size room, a very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. Yes, the hotel is about 20min walk away from centre of Amsterdam but I didn't mind it. As for many places in Amsterdam you can rent a pushbike right at the hotel if you like to get around. I did not eat at the restaurant or had a drink at the bar but it looked nice.
With its proximity to Central Station you have easy access to and from the Airport. If you look for a place in Amsterdam away from the crowds and noise but still in easy reach of everything I would consider the Room Mate Aitana.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRN_192382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having arrived in Amsterdam by train, I found it difficult to find directions to the hotel from anyone including a group of policemen. This though was due to it being a new hotel. But having got the required diections I found it to be around a 10 minute walk along the canal and under railway bridges and underpasses. As i got closer I saw it was built on an island alongside a marina which looked very impressive. The architecture of the hotel and its surrounding buildings (one of which was the courthouse) where all greatly impressive and gave me a great first impression of the area. But upon my arrival I found a great hotel, stylish and modern with a good clean look about it. Reception staff were very helpful and even asked me if i wanted to upgrade my room. Declining the upgrade i found myself in one excellent room with a corner window overlooking the marina, canal and across the city. Who needs a room upgrade. The meals in the hotel were first class and exceptional service and good quality.
The town centre is not too far away, around a 10 minute stroll depending on which route you take and end your evening with a drink or two on the hotels veranda.
Having only spent 3 nights here I would gladly have stayed longer. Great hotel, great staff great location.

Room Tip: If you are walking from the train station cross the wavey bridge at the back of the hotel, it saves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 50countries2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Pros:
- clean
- modern
- spacious

Cons:
- FAR!!!!!! If you like being in the middle of the action, do not stay here. Public transit isn't amazing in Amsterdam, so to walk 15 just to central station is a pain. Also, Daam Square is more like a 30 minute walk. I found the hotel to be VERY inconvenient in terms of location. The closest landmark was Anne Frank House (20 minute walk)
- Our shower only had a "hose". There was no overhead shower. I personally think that's weird.
- Our room had a leak, so we told the front desk. We got back later that afternoon and they shut off our water and told us they were changing rooms for us. After waiting what felt like forever to get the key to the new room, my husband and I were disappointed to get a smaller room. And the view still sucked.
- Wifi was TERRIBLE

Bottom Line:
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank echothatislove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merijn V, Manager at Room Mate Aitana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Echothatislove,

Thank you for your open and honest feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. I am sorry to read that your stay was not entirely up to your expectations. You point out some things that we should have done better during your stay, for which I would like to apologize.

I would very much like to get in touch with you to discuss your experience, perhaps you could contact me directly at m.veken@room-matehotels.com ?

We would love a chance to welcome you back to show you the true Room Mate Aitana experience!

Kindest regards,

Room Mate Aitana
Merijn Veken
Accomodation Manager
m.veken@room-matehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, very clean and tidy, large rooms, helpful staff, nice bar, couldn't complain. Comfiest bed ever, no exaggeration here it was the best bed I have slept on.

Only minor issue is the walk between the hotel and the centre (15 mins) can become pretty mundane after walking the same route 2-4 times a day it isn't the most scenic of routes but it's a minor flaw.

Tip: rent a bike and cycle between the two...

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Luke369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Room Mate Aitana amsterdam for 5 days in 2 rooms. Hotel is brand new with a modern design. Rooms are wide and super clean. Location is perfect, very quiet, overlooking the Marina and only 10 minutes walk from the noisy downtown. Bycicles are available for rent in the hotel. We rent 5 of them for 2 days. Cycling being, along with Van Gogh museum, the major attraction of the city. Hotel provides you with raincoats for free when weather changes (very usual). Staff is friendly, helpfull and most of them speak english, french and spanish. Good standard restaurant and a deck. We will surely be back to Room Mate in amsterdam or barcelona.

2  Thank Antoine J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,958 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#17 of 373 in Amsterdam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Aitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Aitana

Address: IJDok 6, 1013 MM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £122 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Aitana 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room Mate Aitana is a modern designer hotel built in 2013 on the new artificial island in the IJ river 500 meters from the Central Station and 19 min. walking from Dam's Square, the heart of Amsterdam. It is equipped with free Wi-Fi and a 37'' flat TV in all rooms, 7 meeting rooms, restaurant, lounge bar, breakfast buffet until 12:00, business area, fitness center and a marina with 60 moorings for recreation boats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Room Mate Aitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing