We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #153 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edgewood, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Located within walking distance of museums and restaurants, the hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood, however the hotel itself is very noisy. Thin walls and floors transmit a lot of noise. The rooms are small, a bit rundown, with minimal amenities. We didn't even have drinking glasses in the room. I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    232
    95
    27
    12
See reviews for
99
196
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syria
Level Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Upon checking in before 14h one immediately told us that no rooms were available, the receptionist was not very helpful giving little and inaccurate information. We had booked a room and specified that we wanted a king-sized bed and a non smoking room... And we were given a twin-bedded room with an awfully strong cigarette smell! No alternative was given to us apart from opening the window... As for the bed... Had to be a twin! There were loads of cigarette butts and ashes on the tiny "balcony" of sorts. As for the check-out, we were told the luggage room was full and had to leave them in the lobby, when we came back the receptionist didn't even know our luggage were there... Very reassuring! What a terrible stay it was and not that cheap either.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khatarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review about our hotel.
Our apologies for your bad experience at our hotel. Just like you, each other guest has the right to stay in his/her hotelroom until check-out time (11.00AM). This means that we cannot start cleaning the rooms earlier then 11.00AM if guests do not have an early departure. For this reason we always offer early arrival guests to leave their bags in our storage, we gave you a map and some directions about the city and told the cleaner to clean your room immediately at 11.00AM (so you could enter your room at 12.00 instead of the normal 14.00PM check-in time).

While making your booking, you are able to select a bed PREFERENCE, these requests are always taken in consideration, but are not guaranteed, because your roomtype is named "double/twin room". We managed to gave you a room with twin beds which were next to eachother, but being a small hotel with only 12 twopersonsrooms, we donot have many possibilities.

Regarding the cigarette smell, we hope you accept our sincerest apologies, since 2008 it is by law forbidden to smoke in all Hotels, Restaurants and Cafe's. Unfortunately it still happens that people try to smoke in their hotelroom. We do our best to prevent this with very sensitive smoke alarms and warnings all over, but unfortunately there are some people who ignore all these signs and still try to smoke in their room or on the balcony as in your room.

All by all, we hope you still had a good time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Other reviewers have complained about the small rooms but we had a room on the third floor overlooking the garden. It was quite spacious and the en-suite was large. Perhaps it was because we just booked the room without breakfast. There is a lift which is a bonus. Staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing too much trouble. Excellent location within walking distance of Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Leidesplein where there are tram and bus stops, also express bus from Schipol airport.

Room Tip: If possible ask for room on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The rooms were small, even by European standards -- I am 5'11" and had to shower kneeling down because the ceiling was so low. The main floor bathroom was backed up and we could smell it up to our fourth floor room. When we came back at the end of the night and asked for a drink at their bar we discovered they had many empty boxes of whiskey but no actual alcohol in them. All in all, dismissive staff and a substandard room at an unreasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our hotel.
We feel sorry to hear that you did not have a nice experience with our hotel. Small hotelrooms are unfortunately very common in a small and dense city like Amsterdam. Especially when you compare it to room in Germany which is a huge country with very low density.

Regarding your experience at our little bar, our sincerest apologies. As a simple three star hotel, our main focus goes out to our service and our hotelrooms. We have a little bar with a few drinks as an extra service, but of course donot have a large selection of alcoholic drinks.

Despite of your doubts above, we hope you had a great time in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Easy to reach, about ten minutes tram ride from the Central Station. Nice, quiet location, but still within easy walking distance - approx. ten minutes - from the museums and the canals. We were well received in the reception, and given good information on places to see. We had ordered a double room. It was very small, a small double bed covering most of the floor, and a small desk. A large window facing the nice back yard gave lot of light in the room. The bathroom was nice and well cleaned, but was cold and had no working ventilation. This meant it was covered in a mist after a shower. Fortunately, our neighbours were quiet because there is not much isolation between the rooms. The room safe was not working, and was not fixed during our stay even though it was reported at the reception. There is free wifi, but it worked very slowly in our room on my iPad. We did not try the breakfast as there are lot of places nearby, but it looked nice.
In all: A simple hotel with a nice staff and a very good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank npkarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay in this nice and charming hotel, where the staff addressed us a very warm hospitality. I surely recommend it.
It's located in a very nice neighborhood, with a large variety of nice restaurants and easy access to all kinds of public transportation.
It's also quite near Museumplein, one of the main attractions of the city.

Helpful?
2 Thank jbotler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Clean rooms, helpful staff. This is my second stay and I'll be back next year. If you're looking for room service and a chocolate on your pillow, this is not the hotel for you. This hotel is excellent in its category.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0417Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#121 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#161 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing