We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #105 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rosmalen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Staff of this hotel is not competent. At arrival I requested some information on parking my car. The answer of the receptionist: on the other side of the road, so I asked for the price (4 euro per hour) she did not know.
After that I asked for the price of using a taxi to travel to the conference centre RAI. I got a price of 75 uptill 80 euro's which is way too high for a one mile drive to a restaurant.
Later I asked a taxi driver myself and got a price of 7,50 euro.
After that we went into our room. First room 314, later 614. In both superior rooms the matrasses of the beds are horroble. My wife and I woke up with bag pains. I complained already at arrival and the receptionist told me that she visited a week ago a couple of rooms to find a proper bed with another guest (and she could not find a proper firm matrass).
Last but not least the breakfast which is not value for money, 20 eur/person. Last year we visited this hotel as well and we were pleased in those days to stay overthere. Dear managers of NH: do something, improve quality or accept you loose customers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulHRosmalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    826
    264
    73
    29
See reviews for
228
853
78
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful, the location was good, not far from 197 bus stop (airport service 4E), and in walking distance to many interesting locations, very near museums (Van Gogh etc).
Hotel room spacious, TV with some UK TV, kettle, fridge.
Very clean. Some rooms look onto canal. Some free internet in foyer, but slow.
Breakfast expensive, so can go out. Breakfast in Hannibal about 8E, lots of places to eat locally.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side (although little more noise from road), double glazing very effective at keeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallarate
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very good hotel with nice and helpfull personnel. Very well positioned for main museums and Leidseplein at a walkable distance (15min)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoGallarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scaryspice
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had a great weekend staying at this Hotel. The location was perfect. It was within easy walking distance of very nice local bars and shops. We particularly liked cafe binnen just over the canal. It was reasonably priced, great quality and very friendly. The market at Albert Cuypstraat is nice too.
The hotel was 5 minutes walk in the other direction from the museums and all the action of leidesplein.
We flew into schiphol airport, and took a train to Amsterdam zuid railway station. We then. Took tram 5 to museumstraat and it was 5 mins walk to the hotel from there. Other reviews have commented on unfriendly staff at this hotel but that was definitely NOT our experience...everyone was nice. The room size was great and all really clean. We didn't have breakfast....we were quoted 20 euros ppn ... There are lovely patisseries just a short walk away ..over the canal..and a mcdonalds if that is your thing!! We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScaryspiceKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

from the moment we got to the hotel we got good service - from the people at the front desk to the breakfast people and the girl that cleand our room :-)
the room was on the 1st floor and facing the cannal and the Heiniken Factory - was totally cool.
the room was a good size and clean. the bathroom was also good size and clean the shower head was good and the water..... awwww ;-) .
although the room service menu was a little over priced and not that many choices, there is a delicious bakery arround the corner....
if you can get the breafast with the deal - sooooo worth it (even if you pay a little) :-)
the hotel is a walking distance from the museum center and has a couple of trams to Dam square.
all and all - we enjoyd our stay at the hotel - we recommend :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daphna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 839 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the NH Museum Quarter hotel at the beginning of 2012. I arrived on a Thalys train at the Centraal Station and simply took the tram (numbers 16 or 24, pay the driver 2.70 Euros - they accept bills and make change!) and went past the Rembrandtplein and Heineken Experience and got off just after going over a canal and then walked a block to the hotel. I departed on the Schiphol Sternet bus #197 to the airport for only 4 Euros. The bus only took 15 minutes and departed in front of the Rijksmuseum every 10 minutes from about 6 am to midnight.

The room I had (6th floor, facing the canal) was very quiet and large by European standards but had older, worn furniture, a small closet and a small CRT television with, in English; CNN, the Discovery Channel, Comedy Channel, MTV, National Geographic, BBC and Eurosports. The room had a desk with an Ethernet port, shower with tub, some toiletries (shampoo, shower gel, etc.) central heating and air conditioning, safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, mini-ref and blackout curtains that really worked.

The bed, in my opinion, was hard with mushy pillows. There was a self-service laundry, fitness center, breakfast (not included with my room so I can't comment on the quality), bar on the ground floor and Internet PC in the lobby available for 15 minutes at a time to check e-mails and print out boarding passes. There was also a luggage storage room for early arrivals or late departures.

The hotel is located in the Oud Zuid or Old South section of Amsterdam. This area has the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum as well as the Heineken Experience and the US consulate just around the corner. I found the area to be safe, even late at night and never felt uncomfortable walking back to the hotel at any hour. Amsterdam is a small city so it only takes about 20-30 minutes to walk to the Centraal Station and Dam Square.

I've stayed in other hotels in Amsterdam that were more conveniently located but with much smaller and older rooms. I enjoyed my stay at the NH Museum Quarter hotel (there are several NH hotels in Amsterdam) and would return and have recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a 6th floor room facing the canal, these rooms have floor to ceiling windows lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
15 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We booked this Hotel as it was near to the family. we stayed 8 nights and found it a very pleasing experience. The staff couldn't have been more helpful! Everyone was friendly and seem to go the 'extra mile' to help us. The room on the canal side was lovely and light and larger than average. The noise of traffic did disturb us on the first night but after that we didn't really notice it! The general cleanliness was excellent. It is a long time since we have been to such a clean hotel. The only thing that was lacking was the lack of hanging space for our clothes. However we were told on our last day that we could have had a mobile wardrobe taken up to our room. Perhaps this could be mentioned in the Hotel Details found in the room? We didn't sample the breakfast as we thought it was pricey at 19 euros. There are plenty of cafes nearby that do a full English breakfast for 8.50 euros! Summing up we would not hesitate to stay here again and congratulate everyone for making our stay a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms are larger but more traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enigma30Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#116 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing