We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #111 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2008

Had a room on the first floor facing the street and canal. A window opened to allow some fresh air in. Rooms are large and comfortable. A choice of bed pillows is offered. Bathroom was big and clean, but couldn't get the drain stopper to come up in the sink, so had to take it out altogether . Good location in the Museum Quarter, 1 block from the Rijksmuseum. Walking distance to Leidesplein, and also the Paridiso Theatre. Take a Tram from Central Station - aprx 20 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katwoman0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    833
    267
    78
    30
See reviews for
233
864
80
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is an OK Hotel for the price we paid, I think we got one of the penthouse rooms facing the canal which was an added touch, no real complaints so to speak except I it was a little out the way although not the greatest walk into the center (Dam Squ), no problems with staff as mentioned in previous reviews, pretty much a middle of the road hotel clean and probably a little smarter than some other hotels in its grade.

Amsterdam is a pretty fun city to visit and has plenty on offer from museums to nightlife, skip the breakfast and eat out plenty of places around thats if you can get up after a late night out.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chirpyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

Not good value for the price. No help with luggage, internet charges are sky high. No full minibar. Towels are very small and very thin. Soap is miniscule. Moved to Mariott down the street paid a little more but well worth it.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank paco54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayside, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2007

We found this Hotel to be in a great location, on the edge of the Museum Quarter and also very close to the city centre. Everywhere was very walkable (even for two very middle aged men)! Across the bridge and into the 'real' Amsterdam of the 'Pijp' was a great bonus!
When we arrived I had left my wallet in the public bus en route to the hotel and the staff bent over backwards for me to ensure its safe return and,even this apart, I cannot say enough for them. Everyone was so friendly.

Room was spotless ( but then I do not spend my time examining cornices for traces of dust)!. Bathroom great and everything changed and replaced daily with absolutely no fuss.
Only neg. is that the wardrobe was tiny - not great for two gay men on a wee break!!
Don't know about food as we didn't eat there.
A very nice hotel otherwise I would have given the hotel a five!

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr.adl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

We were on a work related trip in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel. The location is ideal. Rijksmuseum just next by and the tram station just around the corner. If you're not afraid to walk a bit the shopping streets are just 20 minutes away and there's lots to see on the way there. And great restaurants. I was fortunate to get a room all to myself. I stayed in the sixth floor at the corner suite. A superb room, king size bed, two rooms, a huge bath room. The breakfest was also great and the staff reasonably nice. The hotel does deserve the four stars!!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

This hotel is on the fringes of what we would consider "City Centre" Amsterdam, near the Museum Quarter - as the name suggests. As an area to stay, it is central enough to be a walk into town, but not central enough to just pop in to change before going out for the evening.

We had stayed in an NH hotel previously (Budapest) and found it clean and smart and the hotel staff very helpful.

This hotel was a different story, the building itself looked a little tired from the outside and didn't get better inside.

Room was adequate and, while there was no peeling paint, it was crying out for redecoration; it was certainly not up the level we would have expected from NH.

The lifts were very small and slow. Normally I am happy to use the stairs for a couple of floors, but the stairs were also pretty cramped, steep and institutional.

Breakfast was, at best, OK. There was a reasonable selection of food available on a buffet counter, however, if you want any of the cooked food options (e.g. fried eggs), you have to rely on a single chef, standing in the middle of the buffet counter making food on two gas rings. That in itself wasn't a problem, the issue was more the fact that the chef was rarely there and would just disappear if you didn't queue up.

Staff were helpful and helped us to get our bearings and direct us to where we could find restaurants - although their definition of restaurant also apparently included McDonalds KFC etc.

Overall, a satisfactory hotel in a good secondary location, which was probably matched by the room rate.

  • Disliked — Tired, tired, tired.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartStockbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Granby
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

My wife, children and I just returned from a European vacation to Brussels, Brugge and Amsterdam and enjoyed our stay at the NH Museum Quarter. The location was key to us because we did not want to be in the center of the city and we did want to be near the museums-- PERFECT. This is a modern hotel, the rooms are spacious, a little quirky in design and clean.
We chose NOT to take breakfast in the hotel due to the expense and our preference for a lighter, continental-style breakfast. SOLUTION--Just 10-15 minutes walk away is a grocery store called Dirk's with a bakery on the left as you walk in, and on the walk back a shop called the Coffee Company. Voila, you get your morning constitutional, an apple turnover fresh out of the oven and a latte in less than 45 minutes. Breakfast for 4=less than $20 a day.
The Anne Frank House is about a 40 minute walk along the canals. This is a must for your visit to Amsterdam if you have never been-- A harsh, tangible reminder of man's inhumanity to man.
Museums are on the next block[we preferred the walk to the right as you leave the hotel, through the park; canals are across the street; tram is a block away[not that we ever used it]. There are a tons of restaurants within a 15 minute walk of the hotel in any direction although we usually crossed over the canal right in front of the Rijksmuseum. There is a pasticceria for sweets and pastries a few blocks away in the other direction.
We took the 1/2 day tours to Delft, etc and to Edam, etc. Both were great and arranged by the hotel. There is a canal boat ride a few blocks away and a concert hall a short walk from the hotel.
Enjoy!
PS-- if you are a light sleeper do not stay in room 110.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FAMRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#121 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, NHHotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing