We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect anything great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #115 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms are ok. Location is great. Service isn't great. Adequate room tidy. Front desk just does a basic service. However if you want a drink in the bar after 11pm forget it. Lets face it when on a city break you are quite often out until 11pm and go back to the hotel for a last drink and chat. Not in this hotel. Extremely poor.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank dariog1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Our main goal is to make sure you have a wonderful time in Amsterdam. I am dossapointed to read our front desk staff service did not meet your expectations. I will make sure this will be discussed with the team.

Our bar is open on a daily basis from 11 am until 11pm. Occasionally, if requested for a group or a special event, the bar stayes open until midnight. I am sorry you were dissapointed.

We still hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel, checking out yesterday. The room we had was large, clean and comfortable all at, what I think, a very good price. The hotel was in a good location and we were able to walk everywhere but the tram was close by if we had wanted to use it. The receptionists were extremely helpful and contributed to making our short trip to Amsterdam a very enjoyable one. This is a thoroughly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Customer4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to hear we contributed to your enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. We hope to welcoming you again in the future. Mayby in spring or summer?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights for my wifes birthday. We arrived early, about 9am (Sat) and check in wasn't til 3pm but hotel still let us in to our room, which was nice. Hotel is in a very nice location, less then 20 mins walk to Dam Square, round the corner from Van Gogh Museum and 10 mins walk to Leidseplein. If you are feeling lazy, the Tram stop is just round the corner, served by the 16 or 24 which both get you to Central Station in about 10 mins. You can buy a 48hr Tram pass for 12 Euros.

The rooms are very spacious and you get a more than you'd expect for what you pay. The bathroom is large and has complimentary toiletries too. Theres an iron, ironing board, hairdryer and kettle with tea bags provided in the room. Theres also a mini bar if you want something stronger...

The staff are very friendly and are always happy to help guide you with the easiest route to places. It was my wifes birthday on Sunday and they even left 2 (complimentary) chocolate mousse/desserts in the room for us - this was not at all expected and definitely made my wife happy.

Getting to the hotel from the airport - there is a shuttle service that drops you off and can take you back to the airport. It costs 27 Euros for the return ticket and is valid for a year. This was a lot cheaper than taking a cab.

We've already told our friends and family about NH Museum Quarter and when we come back to Amsterdam we will definitely be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: This room for 3 nights was about £340 on other hotel comparison sites at the time we wanted (1-4 Feb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suthan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. it is always a pleasure to read that you have had a great time in Amsterdam. We are proud of the spacious rooms in the hotel and the convenient location. But above all, we are happy to read you enjoyed our birthday present for your wife.

Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

All in all I recommend this hotel if you're in the city for business. The rooms are clean and the size is relatively OK for the Netherlands.
The staff is very friendly, and you have free (low bandwidth) wifi (if you want top upgrade to high bandwidth it's only 6 EUR for 24h which is quite cheap)
The only downside is that its located about 10 minutes walk from the city center (or 5 minutes from the main museums).

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a superior. it's only 15EUR a night but the room is much more specious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grooveTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. Indeed, we are located a little bit outside the city center. It is about a 10 minute walk to the city center, and the tramstop is around the corner. And for the real dear devils, we have some bicycles for rent.

We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel was nice, comfortable but was dissapointed the bar shut at 11pm.and only two english teabags so if you had a cuppa each of a morning that was it till the next day ,I do take my own teabags but only two sachets of powdered milk, 2miles to dam square/central station tram stops round the corner and reasonable prices .

Room Tip: Room 535 has a good view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We always try to provide our guests with the best possible facilities and service and we are dissapointed to read you experienced some inconveniences.

Our bar is open from 11 am to 11 pm daily, indeed. And we provide the rooms with a certain amount of coffee, tea, milk and sugar. Off course, when you would like to have some more, we are more than happy to do so. We understand this will not change your experiences in our hotel, but still we hope seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just returned from a four day stay at this hotel. We were very impressed from start to finish with both the hotel location and value for money. The staff were very pleasant at check in. We had booked online and they had no problem finding the booking. We paid a 50 euro deposit on arrival for the mini bar. The rooms were spacious and we had a lovely view of the canal. The room was supplied with toiletries which included shower gel, shampoo and body milk. In addition you have a small sponge and soap to use. The room had an ironing board and iron and hairdryer. The bathroom was very nice with a bath and shower. We had breakfast each morning which we booked before arriving. The breakfast was very enjoyable I heard some guests complain about the price of 20 euro per person. The staff advised that they could have booked at reception and it would have been 15 euro per person instead. The hotel is close to many cafés and restaurants in the area. So you could eat out cheaper if you wish to. We had lunch at Bagel and Beans and would recommend the food and service. The hotel is very close to the Van Gogh museum and the Heinekin museum. The hotel is situated in a very quaint area and is easily reached by tram 16 or 24 which stop outside the hotel on the Ruydelstraat stop. We timed it and it takes about 17 minutes from Centraal Station. I would definitely stay at this hotel.It was a very enjojable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for sharing your experiences in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and off course your stay with us. And we are looking forward to welcoming you again in NH Museum Quarter. Hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I guess I have never walked around so much and thats a great thing, meaning that we were close to everything. Very convenient, clean, cozy and friendly, We were quite a few and everything was well organized by the reception team, no mistakes or misunderstandings. Although we prefer to have all the meals outside, the breakfast looked lovely.
Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Good afternoon,

First of all your absolutely welcome! What a lovely review you wrote. We are happy to hear your had such a wonderfull time in Amsterdam. Please let us know if you need any assistance with a future booking. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Park West
#64 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,997 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,116 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £89 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing