We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #117 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I know very well Amsterdam (lived there 2 years) and knew this hotel has an amazing and very handy location.
I was however very disappointed by the room (very large but very old fashion) and the bed was AWFULL (my grand-mother's old beds are far better than these old-stype spring-mattresses.
Must say I mainly come to hotels to sleep. Bad idea in there.
Breakfast buffet is nice and classical.
I will not book there for my next trup in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 842emilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read you did not sleep well during your stay. The last two weeks we changed all the beds and tv's in the hotel. We do understand this will not change your experience in our hotel. But we certainly hope you will consider to stay with us the next time you will visit Amsterdam.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    847
    278
    85
    31
See reviews for
236
885
80
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at this hotel. It was family friendly. The location is quiet and at the same time, it is close to the musuems. A tram stop is just a block away and from there, you can go to any place in the city centre including central station. There is a lovely view over a canal and some restaurants nearby. A park next to the museums is perfect for kids.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view over the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam together with your children. And we are happy to have contributed to this experience.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely little hotel and the location of the place makes it good.

Staff were lovely and helpful in assisting with advice on transport etc.

The only negative is the lack of modernity in the rooms. TV and carpet quite old and worn out.

Other than that bathroom was clean etc.

Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahhhhhhhUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review and your nice words about our hotel and the staff. We are very happy to tell you that the last weeks we have been very busy with replacing all the tv's in the hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Sinai
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I love the place and surroundings: from three museums to bustling tourist places - all at the walking distances. I especially like the rooms (superior - just a bit more expensive) on the top with wall-wide and wall-high window, where you have panoramic view of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank VladFelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Good afternoon,

We are very happy to read you had a great stay in Amsterdam and it is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our superior room with the great view. Will you come and visit us again?

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great stay in Amsterdam, also thanks to the excellent service at the NH Museum Quarter. Location is great and within walking distance of most attractions. Transport links are one corner away. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: A room on the top floors facing the canal adds charm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingenii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for your nice words about NH Museum Quarter. We are very happy to read you had a wonderful time with us. We hope to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a bargain hotel. The carpet is tired but everything in the rooms is clean and comfortable. I paid 15Euro extra per night for a larger room overlooking canal on level 6. The room was spacious and with a nice view over the canal and opening windows - it looked like some rooms face onto apartments and not so nice a view! With the quiet location it was possible to have the windows open for fresh air with no noise! I enjoyed four nights here for work and had plenty of room to spead out. Didn't try the breakfast or bar but there were plenty of people doing so. This hotel is close to the main museums (7 minute walk) and the posh shopping. It is an easy 15 mins walk to the main area of amsterdam. I used the gym two mornings. The equipment was all functioning, with a radio in the room for some company, fresh water and fruit. No view (basement) but certainly functional and pleasant. The only down side was that the complimentary tea and coffee were not replenished in four nights - but i have to say i didn't ask.

Room Tip: Definately pay for a better 'standard' room or a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. At the same time I am unpleasantly surprised to read your tea and coffee were not replenished. Please know, this is not standard procedure in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Good size room with a tub and some with a bit of a view. I found it nice and quiet at night. Good breakfast with a desent variety. Nice location close to sights and in walking distance to most things. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank klsknu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MQ1071XL, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you had a good time in our hotel. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Natasja Heintz
Hotel Manager NH Museum Quarter
NH Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#122 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,523 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#80 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#31 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#98 of 368 in Amsterdam
832 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 368 in Amsterdam
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, NHHotels, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing