We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #105 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Arlington NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

I chose this hotel because other reviewers said it was away from all the craziness. That is true. This hotel is located in an upscale neighborhood within easy walking distance of The Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum and Vondelpark. The Leidesplein is also only a 10 minute walk. Two tram lines easily connect the hotel with Centraal Station.

The hotel itself is modern and comfortable. I found my room to be large and well appointed, except for one curious thing. There was almost no storage for clothes. Not one dresser drawer to be found. I did have a canal view and enjoyed it, but if you absolutely want quiet, I suggest you get a room facing the courtyard.

Service was very good. Breakfast was better than most buffets and included eggs to order, but you had to ask the lovely woman manning the dining room. In short, this is a well run, comfortable property, away from the crowds but close enough to the hot spots too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    527
    827
    264
    74
    29
See reviews for
228
853
78
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

stayed for one night in june ,never heard of this chain ,booked with hotel via travelsupermarket.com ,price very acceptable ,not plush as in 5 star sense but a very clean ,great staff ,large room ,very good location 15 min walk to centre of amsterdam ,grat location for 1-2 ngt stays (transit hotel ) ,located on a quiet street beside a canal ,lots of transport near by ,would i stay again ,yes .alan

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

We had a romantic weekend with my boyfriend. We decided to stay there as we found a very cheap offer online. When we arrived to the hotel we relaised we booked the wrong date. Oops!!! They were amazing, they allowed us to stay for the same price and even upgraded us to canal view for free. The employees were all very nice and helpful. We rented bikes in the hotel and had a FAB weekend!!! With no doubt we will stay at NH Museum Quarter again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights and was very happy overall. We had 2 rooms in a nice quiet side as we requested and rooms very large and comfortable.
One lift was out of order for a few days but that was a minor issue. Breakfast was included and we found it very good .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fihoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Upon arrival I was welcomed by a nice receptionist - but that was quite the last positive thing to say about this hotel. I arrived in the evening after a hot day and was looking forward to a bottle of water from the minibar, but it was empty, unfortunately . The carpet was disgusting, with black stains. In the bathroom there were stains on the floor, when I arrived and they stayed there during my 2 nights stay. There was thick dust on the wooden surfaces. The furniture is worn. After the first night the cleaning lady took the bag from the waste basket and left it in the middle of my room. I asked the receptionist (a young lady) for a restaurant recommendation for an Indonesian restaurant and she told me “you can walk and look for one”. ..
The location is nice though, in a very green and picturesque area, near to “Spiegel Quarter” and the museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Concert Gebow, etc.), with lots of cafes and pubs around.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

It takes 1 hour by foot from Central Station and 30 minutes to gay area. Place is quite and "canal view" rooms are really nice: you can see the evening sky even from your bathtub.
It's located near some museums (Royal museum and Museum of Heineken) and a huge letters "I AMsterdam", but it takes time if you go clubbing and in rainy time that area looks boring.
Rooms are good, but there was a lot of dust everywhere. Gym is for free, but I didn't go there, cause receptionist told me that it's small and there is no swimming pool, sauna and even shower. By the way, there is public swimming pool in 300m from hotel.
Price is normal for the hotel if you stay with somebody. It's not really good for one person.
When you check in stuff blocked full price plus 50 euro on your bank account, and I still haven't got my 50 euro back. But I hope I will.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBitterEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Room was NOT 4 star. Carpets were filthy, with dirt and grime embedded. When you have an orange carpet and black tar like spots it's not very nice.

The Ice bucket was filthy and full of green mould.

We used lastminute and as a special deal we were meant to have a full mini bar that we could use for no charge. We weren't expecting any booze in there, maybe some water and couple cans of coke but it was empty and when we asked for something we were told no.

The air vent on the room is VERY noisy and there is nothing you can do to fix it. Imagine a old PC computer with a noisy fan.. stick it to the room of a small room and try to get to sleep. Terrible.

Since we arrived late we just used the hotel restaurant, which was a massive joke. The restaurant menu and room service menu is same. Very small selection. The chicken and cheese sandwich i had arrived with melted cheese but it was stone cold. When we went to pay, it took us 20min since the room we were staying in was still under the previous persons name!

The breakfast was so so, nothing special.

When we checked out we needed to print the online booking tickets.. which they charged us 35 cents per A4 sheet of paper. Gee thanks.

Our room was on 3rd floor if that makes any difference.

Overall i was very disappointed considering the 4 star rating and the price. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thechile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing