We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with very clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Ranked #116 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location with very clean rooms”
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We had to stay here for 5 nights, waiting for our flight back to the U.S. while the volcanic ash cloud cleared up. Amsterdam is a nice city, but doesn't always take credit cards. Good thing we had extra Euros along. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helped us as much as possible, including free internet access in the lobby. Thank goodness for that! But I have nothing good to say about Avalon Waterways or United Airlines, both of whom did not help us at all. The best option, for future travel, is carry a cell phone with an international calling card.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jantravlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    865
    290
    87
    31
See reviews for
246
911
83
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I am very disappointed with NH Museum Quarter. When we first arrived we were very impressed with the hotel. It was clean, service was standard. It was a bit pricey for what you get but we were there around easter. Location is ok, but would've prefered to be staying around dam square as it is about a 20 minute walk.
On the last day, when i was packing i noticed that money was missing from my handbag, which never left the hotel. I went down to reception to tell them and the duty manager and we were messed around for several hours. A report was produced base off the electronic room cards - that showed only the house keeping had been in hte room. This was considered to be conclusive proof that no theft had occured. We were left to our own devices to make a police complaint and the hotel has subsequently failed to respond to our follow up communication. Their levels of customer care fall well short of the expected standard - i would expect better treatment at a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Firstly we would like to convey our utmost thanks to Raymond on reception who helped as so much in helping us resolve a booking issue caused by the booking agent. Noticing how upset we were with this problem, he upgraded us as a goodwill gesture to one of their superior rooms on the top floor which had a canal view, without this view it’s difficult to say how the other standard rooms were as the decor and facilities were still quite basic. We were still very grateful for his help with this and appreciated his friendly helpful manner.

The Hotel is in a good location being close to tram number 16 and 24 towards Central Station. There is also an underground supermarket opposite the Concert Gebouw, which is handy for food and other provisions. The hotel is very clean and modern; however we would say this particular hotel is furnished like a good UK Travelodge which by the way would not deter us from returning.

We were however, surprised about the breakfast, which had been recommended as being really good in a number of previous reviews. We would disagree as we found it fairly standard with the usual low quality powdered scrambled eggs, and generally average quality bacon sausages and mushrooms. Also as part of the breakfast service they have a coffee/tea machine where you serve yourself – again something that you’d expect in a low budget hotel as opposed higher standard hotel. Again this would not deter us from returning however for travellers planning to go at least you will have abetter expectation of the breakfast.

The overall stay was very enjoyable with little disruption following the problem with our initial booking. If you’re looking for a hotel offering good value for money this is one to go for.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HousePeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

We stayed at the nh museum quarter in November 2009. We arrived late and didn't have a swipe card to get in to the hotel, however the reception staff soon let us in.

The room was excellent, of a large size and in great condition. The food (breakfast) in the hotel was also good, although we thought the restaurant staff could have been a little bit more friendly, however they were professional.

The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the city centre, however there is a tram line nearby that takes you into the city centre, therefore making the distance not a problem at all.

I would recommend this hotel and would come back here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_rez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The Hotel is lovely, new and clean with modern and cosy atmosphere and friendly staff. The rooms are big compared to other hotels in Amsterdam. We asked for a room on a high floor and we were given a beautiful and comfortable room on the 7th floor with canal view. We had a great stay. We will never forget the marvelous view we had when it was snowing. Breakfast is fantastic. The hotel is close to the Rijksmuseum and the Leidseplein with hundreds of restaurants and bars and the shopping district of Amsterdam. The tram station is 2 minutes walk from the hotel entrance.

We will definitely return.

The only negative points are the beds being very soft and that they only offer 15 minutes of free internet access. It should be free for their quests.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iakinthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

This hotel is great. On arrival the hotel staff are very welcoming and even though we arrived early- before 10am- they had an available room and so we were able to check in which we hadn't been expecting. We also had the option on the day of check out to have the room for the full day- or they've a storage room for luggage.
The breakfast here is lovely- good selection- pancakes, meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, eggs, fried breakfast and more. Only complaint is that coffee is from a machine that wasn't always working. They serve breakfast til11 week mornings and til 12 at weekends- great to have this option when you're on holidays.
The rooms are very spacious, modern and clean with plenty of wardrobe space. One small complaint about the rooms is the air conditioning/heating vent. Despite turning it off at night it seemed to make a very slight constant noise- as if on a very low level- which can be annoying when you're trying to sleep. Bathrooms are a good size, with a good shower and always plenty of hot water.
The hotel was quite busy during our stay- seems to be the hotel of choice for KLM cabin crew which is always a good sign. The bar was very quiet though- often we'd stop on our way in at night for a drink and be the only ones. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on that. Despite being busy- there was never any noise at night or early morning. Rooms seem to be well soundproofed.
The hotel is a 2 min walk from the nearest tram stop- 16 and 24- both go into Dam square and you won't be waiting more than 5 mins at any time. The transport system in this city is amazing (esp compared with Ireland!). If you are coming from central station I would recommend getting the tram to the hotel. Contact the hotel beforehand to find out the name of the exact stop. Taxis are very expensive here. When we arrived we got a taxi the 10 min journey which cost over €20. Trams 16 and 24 both depart from central station.
( On arrival at the airport go to the tourist information where you can buy tram and train tickets for the whole of your stay- for example- it cost €25.00 for a 4 day tram ticket and return train ticket from Schipol to central station).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorkOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

NH Museum Quarter is a very good hotel and we highly recommend it. we stayed there last August. Truth is we didn't have a clue about it . We decided we needed a romantic vacation (as we didn't have one for a long time) and we simply entered Last Minute Travel web site and picked the cheapest 4 stars hotel. We paid around 100 $ a night for a double room and we were very happy with it. The location was wonderful, facilities were great and we got what we needed- a romantic vacation. Thank you :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushila74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#128 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,583 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#72 of 368 in Amsterdam
970 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#103 of 368 in Amsterdam
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#83 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter

Property: NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
Address: Hobbemakade 50, 1071 XL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Museum Quarter)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the 4-star NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter are surrounded by the art and culture of beautiful Amsterdam from our central location between a picturesque canal and the famous Museum Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, NHHotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Museum Quarter Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing