We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd flr family home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The outside jacuzzi by night time with the build in led lights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Hnlmom4
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd flr family home away from home”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Zaanse Schans is a "suburb" of amsterdam. My DH, DS (21), 2 DD (both 19) and I arrived at Schiphol Airport and asked directions at the information booth. The train/metro station is located in the airport (comparable to ORD) and as long as you don't mind schlepping your suitcases, public transportation to the home is very doable. When we arrived at the Zaanse Schans stop I contacted the owner and he came to meet us. If you are in a wheel chair or have mobility issues, this is not the location for you. But if you are a family or a group of adults (up to 6), then this is a wonderful place to stay. It is located near a chocolate factory and, when walking to the home during the work week, there is a smell of chocolate in the air. The unit is on the 2nd floor (no lift) and the back side overlooks the water. There is one large bathroom with a shower and a separate hot tub with toilet and sink and a second half bath with toilet and sink. The kitchen is fairly easy to figure out and we cooked dinner there. The owner has two bicycles (with keys) for use by the tenants. My DS used a bike to go to the market and my 2 DD used the bikes to cross the bridge and check out the tourist activities.
The metro station is about a 5 to 10 minute walk, the schedule is posted/printed on a sign, and the trip into the city is easy to figure out. Once in the city we signed up for the hop on hop off bus which included one bus route and 2 water/canal routes.
The owner lives downstairs and let me use the laundry facilities. He provided the softener and detergent. The home is older and has the comfortable "lived-in" feel. There is a screen door for ventilation and to help keep out the mosquitoes.
There is a great little restaurant across the street that gave us a discount for staying at Zaanhof and a nearby bakery for fresh bread.
We will stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
summcat2
Jurbise, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is the place to stay in Zaanse Schans and the surrounding Amsterdam area. Great views, beautifully decorated, and close to the windmills and train station. Stay here!!! You will not be disappointed!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great views and convenient location”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

4 of us rented this property in March and despite the rainy weather we had a great break. the owners son met us and was a great host and gave us a tour of the area and showed us around the apartment. it was immaculately kept and was a great location to get into amsterdam, but far enough away to be able to get some R&R
the apartment is well equipped and has netflix and broadband which meant one of the days we just hung around the apartment admiring the view of the windmills!

highly recommended... and probably even better when its sunny!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skinansli...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Amsterdam,”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this accomadation several times now and would not stay any where else in amsterdam..I came here for my 40th Birthday with family in november a couple of years ago and soon came back for summer celebrations and any other excuse i could find to visit the Netherlands. The hosts are amazing and are so helpful and polite, tha appartment is so beautiful with a jacuzzi inside and outside thats always hot! a beautiful balcony with amazing views it really is luxurious inside and outside with fantastic restaurants and torist attractions close by but isolated enough to be private, ideal for families and groups of friends i highly reccomend this property for all.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollieMap...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for a better apartment”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed here with 5 of my friends, the apartment is extremely spacious and well equipped for all of your needs. Lovely vegan friendly bakery just over the road and only short cycle to the supermarket. Scenery is stunning and easy to get into the centre of Amsterdam by train. Owner was very helpful upon arrival and throughout our trip, we are already planning to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyexpl...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We absolutely loved this apartment. It met all of our expectations. The apartment is well equipped, comfortable and pleasant. The owners were very welcoming, hospitable and friendly. Any problem we had was dealt with promptly. The area is lovely, away from the hustle and bustle of the city but within easy reach by train. It's a lovely neighbourhood with everything you need.
We recommend a stay here if you want a comfortable base and the convenience of self catering whilst you experience the peace and charm of the Netherlands but within easy reach of Amsterdam.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing