We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop everything and book,NOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We planned a short trip to Amsterdam,and were fortunate to be able to stay two nights at Peters Band B....its all been said before....I would add,Come hungry! Bacon,pancakes with 21 toppings...Are ya KIDDING me???Plan your trip around this place,then do what Peter tells you to do,based on your timeframe.Dinner suggestions were spot on! Like vacationing at an indulgent relative:) Thanks Peter, The O'Neals

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GONeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

Peter offered us every assistance and we were especially pleased by his excellent guidance on nearby dining. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and his breakfasts were delicious. Of course the museums and sights of the city were spectacular. It was a truly memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Well this is certainly a place where you can believe the glowing reviews. It is in a great location on a quiet street but close to all the action. It is so cosy, very much like staying in a private home with everything you need around you. All the rooms are beautifully furnished and the shared sitting room is a great bonus, with homemade cakes that appeared daily as if by magic, complimentary drinks in the fridge and everything we needed to make ourselves a hot drink. This is before I even mention the splendid breakfast feasts - the breads, the quiche, the pancakes etc!! And we throughly enjoyed getting to know our fellow guests over a leisurely breakfast (Bob & Diane from NYC - you were such fun!!). So a final thank you to Susan for going the extra mile to make our stay perfect. I am sure we will be back some day!! Best wishes Julia & Harry Lowe.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GraceGoodfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My wife and I went on a two week trip to Germany and Amsterdam in mid-December 2010. When we got to Boogaard's we'd already been through Munich, Nuremberg and Rothenburg ob der Tauber in Germany. Getting to Boogaard's at around 10am after a night train from Munich, we were pretty tired, but ready to see some of the city. When we arrived, breakfast was happening and Peter was nice enough to hold our bags for us until our room was ready later in the afternoon. He showed us exactly how to get to Anne Frank House and when we got there we were lucky enough to only encounter only a few people in line.

After a little more sightseeing and a nap later in the day, we were able to fully enjoy Boogaard's. Peter's a wonderful host, a great storyteller, is happy to share a wealth of information about the area, and keeps fresh pastries and baked goods available for guests.

He keeps laptops available for guests and free WiFi blankets the B&B. When I needed some help printing out some tickets for a canal tour, he helped me do so from a printer he had in his residence. Meanwhile, we struck up a great conversation on personal electronics and technology, thanks to me having an iPad with me on my trip.

The breakfasts... wow. So filling and delicious. We would fill ourselves on those breakfasts and then be set until dinner, even with much walking in between breakfast and dinner. The area's quiet and cozy, close to quite a few sights, and only minutes from the train station.

In our rush to get to the train station after checking out, and the day of what turned out to be a huge snowstorm, I accidentally forgot to give our room key back to Peter. And this is after he had sent us on our way with some fresh-baked brownies he'd made. I called Peter from the train once we were back in Germany and explained the situation to him. He understood, told us Amsterdam had already received several inches of snow, and that we were lucky to have gotten out when we did. I hope Peter got the key... as our next hotel was gracious enough to help us mail it back to him.

We know where we're staying next time we're in Amsterdam. Boogaard's is an incredible place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berniecase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Boogaards, unfortunately we didn't get the opportunity to meet 'Peter' as he was away enjoying his honeymoon. However Susan ' from over the road' stepped up to the mark and proved to be a great hostess.
Boogaards certainly deserves its number one rating; location is great - very quiet but still central, comfy rooms with great firm large beds (always a sign of a good place). The breakfasts certainly were a talking point and set you up for the day .........and the home made brownies and apple cake left out each day also went down a treat with the endless supply of coffee.
After arriving late we snacked on great nacho’s at Harlems, followed by an Indonesian meal at Sampurna (great meal however I would forego the fried banana desert) and on our last night at Seasons, which was by far the best meal and good value for money - also just a stone throw away from the B&B.
Getting around was easy and we explored the city mostly on foot, walking from the B&B to the museums at the most southerly point only took around 30mins. We took in most of the tourist sites, Van Gogh museum, Ann Frank house, Canal cruise, Red light district & Flea market in Jordaan. We were disappointed with the floating flower market - not quite floating and really touristy.
Without a shadow of a doubt we would recommend the B&B to friends and families and seeing the boys faces every morning and having a little tickle after breakfast certainly helped to alleviate our doggy pangs for our pooch back at home.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stewandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was a super place to stay! Breakfasts were the best we had on our entire trip, especially the crepes. We also enjoyed the casual atmosphere around the breakfast table, getting to know the other guests and the owner and his friendly dogs. It's in a nice central location and has a queen size bed (a rarity in European hotels).

Do be sure to park outside the downtown area and take the commuter train in if you can. Parking is 45 euros per day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkGriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I'm serious. If you are going to Amsterdam and cannot get a room at Boogaard's--don't go. Wait until he has an availability. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else. The building is beautiful. The rooms are excellent--the private baths divine. The living room and kitchen facilities are the best.

Peter Boogaard, your host, and Tom, his significant other, could not be more friendly, gracious, or wonderful. Peter's breakfasts are fabulous--you will not need lunch. He's is an "A plus" chef. If all this were not enough, the establishment is centrally located, and free wi-fi is provided. Peter is also a fountain of information about Amsterdam. He will help you with dinner reservations, tell you which tram to get, and assist you with whatever you need.

I was traveling with my daughter through Europe and Boogaard's was our last stop. My daughter has medical conditions and there was nothing Peter wouldn't do to make her stay as perfect as possible. He fixed her breakfasst differently, had the housekeeping accomadate us so my daughter could rest longer. Whatever we needed, Peter made sure it happened. By the end of our first hour at Boogaard's, it felt like we were staying at the house of an old, dear friend.

And the value cannot be beat. Cannot. Don't even try. It doesn't exist any place else.

My daughter and I simply cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veronica_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,234 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Breitner House
#13 of 338 in Amsterdam
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Pieter Jacobszstraat 21, 1012 HL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £116 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Boogaard's BnB our luxurious romantic bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and queen size beds are located on first floor with access to a wet and dessert bar. Each roomy bedroom has a flat screen television, Firer place with seating area, comfortable leather chairs, writing desk complete with an iPad with free wireless internet, beautiful antique armoire and a bookcase filled with guide books and maps. Guest have access to the wet and dessert bar filled with free soft drinks plus tea and coffee service. For the first time we are offering central air-conditioning in our rooms to ensure the perfect sleep during the summer months. The rooms are decorated in a classic and comfortable style which Boogaard's has become known for, and they will have luxurious larger bathrooms, each with a large walk-in shower and a rain shower feature, marble wash basins and heated towel racks. On our roof top terrace, you can enjoy the view of the old city while relaxing in our beautiful deck chairs around our garden and you can enjoy the outside wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boogaard`s b&b
Boogaard`s Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing